We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nearly very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“So nearly very good”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions because it is a very good city centre hotel. During the last 20 years it has gone through a number of transformations from being the Ramada Renaissance through to the Trans Asia and now part of the Cinnamon group.

The investment and upgrades put in place have continued the improvements whilst keeping the high quality staff in place. The public areas are comfortable, busy and constantly changing with weddings, business events or just simply family tea. Great for people watching.

The bars, particularly The Library, offer a comfortable place to finish the day. There is a new Tapas Bar (7degrees) overlooking the lake which is another added attraction. The pool is large, clean and a delightful temperature.

The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The cake shop downstairs is tempting but there is a good health centre just in case. The lake has been seriously cleaned up over the years and is now a pleasant sight (without smelling) with rowing boats and fisherman to add to the visual pleasure. The only eyesore is a monstrous double decked 'pleasure' boat available for weddings and corporate events moored near the pool. When in use it is noisy due to the music and it does block the view of the lake. Personally I think the hotel could do without it!

The bedrooms are comfortable and the facilities they have included are getting better with a great deal of thought having gone into every detail, including the fact that you can select the type of pillow you want each evening (I think there is a choice of 5 or 6 different types). They have also installed soft closed lids on the loo so no longer is there a crash in the middle of the night when your partner accidentally drops the seat!

Surely the time has come for international 4* and 5* hotels to offer FREE wifi rather than see it as a means of making a bit of money.

So why 'so nearly very good?' The lower floors (2nd and 3rd) used to be smoking floors and still smell of it. 4th floor and above are better. Also there is a problem with the drains on the lower floors and some of the rooms have a distinct and unpleasant smell. Again not an issue on the higher floors. The hotel has a constant cleaning and decorating programme so the standards are being maintained, but they do need to sort out the drains and the smell.

By the way, in the basement car park there is a laundry which is a godsend if you want to come back home with clean clothes. All done for you and cheaper than using the hotel room laundry service.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor facing the lake. Facing the front of the hotel gives you a view of the military cri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedupphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    673
    198
    72
    51
See reviews for
493
540
134
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
china
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

it is a very nice view and place, room is quite good.Location is easy to travel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank li h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

On a business trip to Colombo, and stayed at Lakeside for more than three weeks. It's a very pleasant stay at Lakeside, room is very clean and hotel staff were always very helpful whenever I approached them. The swimming pool is the best I've seen by far. I'll definitely stay with them next time I come to Colombo.

Room Tip: Executive floor is definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NOD171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

It is always a pleasure going back to Cinnamon Lakeside.
I could not book the Executive Floor as it was not available, but my room on the 5th floor overlooking the lake was splendid. People remembered my name. I was impressed.
I also noticed that there was no more cleaning trolleys in the corridor. I asked a supervisor (Nishanta?) who explained that they do a basket service instead of using the trolleys. That is what I call 5 star service.
There is a new Chef working at 7 degree north. the food was delicious and beautifully presented. I tried some of the paella on the brunch buffet. I was back in Spain!
keep it up and I will keep coming!

Room Tip: worth to pay a small extra for a lake view room, better on the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtraveller98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are just as glad to see that you noticed our trolleyless cleaning service. This is one of our most recent initiatives to provide a better experience to our guests by ridding the corridors of the obtrusive traditional trolleys.

We do hope you will return soon, and hope you find that each visit is better than the last!

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

we stayed here for a week and it was a good experience.
1.rooms were nice and good size
2.food at the restaurant was very good
3.view from room was awesome the swimming pool was huge
4.room was kept clean everyday
5.staff was kind and willing to help you in anyway they can.

dwnside was there were no wifi in room but you connect by wire. other than that everything was we hoped for.

thanks for everbody at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found the rooms, restaurants, pool and staff were to your expectations.

Wireless as well as wired internet in available in all our rooms. Please do speak to our lobby manager during your next stay should you have any such queries. We will be happy to assist you.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had requested a room on an upper floor facing the lake and especially a non smoking .
At check in I was allocated a lower floor,smoking room with a view of the road!!!!!

I asked for another room and was told that for an additional charge I could have another room.This was still a smoking allowed room and still facing the noisy road.

The next room offered was a suite, additional cost but with a lake view. I was shown this room and it smelled of cigarette smoke,as did the curtains.Apparently they cannot stop guests smoking in rooms.They sprayed air freshener and opened the doors.I was tired and so agreed to take the room.
I was quoted a price for the suite and signed an agreement to pay then at checkout I was asked to pay three times as much.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roadside are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The best Hotel in Colombo, nice breakfast and clean rooms...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvrimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 55 in Colombo
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing