We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Nearby Hotels
$179
$125
Cinnamon Grand
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$83
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,924)
Filter reviews
2,924 results
Traveler rating
1,797
774
216
81
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,797
774
216
81
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantroyal thailong fengdegrees northexecutive floorlake viewsri lankabeira lakepool barspecial thanksexcellent hotelpool sidefront officecity hotelhigh teacoffee shoptuk tuk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,531 - 2,536 of 2,924 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I am in Colombo quite often, and believe that the two Cinnamon Hotels in Colombo are by far the best in town. Cinnamon Lake has just refurbished its rooms, and is now on par with the Cinnamon Grand, which previously had the best rooms in town.

If choosing between the main 5-star hotels (Hilton, Hilton Residence/JAIC, Cinnamon Grand, and Cinnamon Lake), these are my views:

1) Cinnamon Lakeside is a great choice. Good rooms, a nice bar on the lake, a great pool for adults and kids, nice gym, and a good choice of restaurants (which are among best in town). Only downside is that there is not much around it, and walking to sites will be a hot and sweaty affair (but really - just take a cab or a tuk-tuk)
2) Cinnamon Grand is similarly good. Slightly better location near Galle Face, some shopping (but realise that Colombo shopping is definitely not Singapore or HK, or even a standard American mall for that matter), etc., but not as good in terms of views over the lake (but coast very close). I still give this hotel a slight edge over Lake, but only slight
3) Hilton has great restaurants, but rooms are poor/dated. As government owns property, management good, but no real investment in rooms for awhile. Not a terrible option (and restaurants good), but rooms leave a lot to be desired.
4) Hilton Residence is in a pretty average area, and rooms dated/restaurants not nearly as good, but it is good value if you have a large family/doing a longer stay. More like serviced apartments, with facilities you would expect with serviced apartment rather than a 5-star hotel. With that said, ok.

In short - you won't go wrong with Cinnamon Hotels (and no - I don't work for them!), and Hiltons fine, but both lacking in some way.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middleagedfamilydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed in Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel for over 3 weeks.
The hotel was very clean and comfortable.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room service was delicious and the bar next to the river was very nice.
The singers in the lobby and the bar were also good.
I will always visit Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel when I visit Colombo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98FaiTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Even after renovation, hotel still uses carpets in the rooms.
The hotel thinks that throwing too many bodies at guests equals to great service. Unfortunately that is definitely not the case... can get quite irritating at times.

The Chinese and the Thai restaurants serve outstanding food.... not so great service though.

The only thing that is good in this hotel is the food quality... from breakfast to lunch to the specialty restaurants.... food is outstanding everywhere.

If you looking for a good location in Colombo this is not a bad choice...

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room...be prepared to negotiate at the front desk...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drighangchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travel to Sri Lanka every 3rd month and every time I stay in Cinnamon Lake due to the location, and every time I check out i receive a notification from my credit card company that my card has been compromised! I only use C.Card in Sri Lanka in the hotel only!
Have complained many times but the manager seem either doesn't care or he is in the game!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhd324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

We are greatly concerned by the comments on your Trip Advisor post and would like to investigate immediately. We require a few details to aid us in our investigations and would appreciate it very much if you would respond to us via the email address below.
Please let us know your name, departure date and room number (if you recall).

Thank you in advance.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
nadiyah@cinnamonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

To begin with, this is one of the busiest five stars i have been to. The lobby is always crowded & the front desk staff are overworked. I guess due to the busy nature of the hotel, room service needs to be contacted a couple of times before they actually carry out your request.
On the otherhand the rooms are spacious & well decorated. The buffet breakfast is reasonable. The location is convenient.
In short i think this is an ideal place for people on an official trip but if you have planned a relaxing vacation look for other options.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Husain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and convenience of our location. We are however disappointed to hear that you did not experience the signature relaxation we are known for providing business as well as leisure travelers.

Perhaps the next time you visit Colombo we will have the pleasure of treating you to the true Cinnamon Lakeside experience.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews