We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal of Scam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great deal of Scam”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travel to Sri Lanka every 3rd month and every time I stay in Cinnamon Lake due to the location, and every time I check out i receive a notification from my credit card company that my card has been compromised! I only use C.Card in Sri Lanka in the hotel only!
Have complained many times but the manager seem either doesn't care or he is in the game!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mhd324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
We are greatly concerned by the comments on your Trip Advisor post and would like to investigate immediately. We require a few details to aid us in our investigations and would appreciate it very much if you would respond to us via the email address below.
Please let us know your name, departure date and room number (if you recall).

Thank you in advance.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
nadiyah@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    671
    197
    72
    51
See reviews for
488
540
132
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

To begin with, this is one of the busiest five stars i have been to. The lobby is always crowded & the front desk staff are overworked. I guess due to the busy nature of the hotel, room service needs to be contacted a couple of times before they actually carry out your request.
On the otherhand the rooms are spacious & well decorated. The buffet breakfast is reasonable. The location is convenient.
In short i think this is an ideal place for people on an official trip but if you have planned a relaxing vacation look for other options.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Husain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms and convenience of our location. We are however disappointed to hear that you did not experience the signature relaxation we are known for providing business as well as leisure travelers.

Perhaps the next time you visit Colombo we will have the pleasure of treating you to the true Cinnamon Lakeside experience.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at Both Cinnamon Grand and Cinnamon Lakeside and have found lakeside much better then Grand. The room was quite big and comfortable Compare to Grand, however following needs immediate improvements. 1. They don't act on guests complaints until one reminds them twice. Door locks need replacement. Rent a Car people are very careless I'm sure it's 3rd Party Contracted.

I couldn't sleep whole night because of other guests shouting and laughing like crazy and despite my complaints to the Security nothing happened.

Their lobby ambience cannot be compared with Cinnamon Grand.

Check in Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arshadwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your words of praise.
A few comments in your post concern us and we would like to have more details so that we may investigate further. We would appreciate it very much if you could elaborate by writing to us on the address below.

Thank you.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
nadiyah@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

A cordial and efficient reception made for a good first impression. Arriving mid-morning after a restless long haul flight, the well appointed room we were allocated and the quietness of this large hotel were conducive to much needed sleep. Awaking at an unsocial hour, it was gratifying to find that 'The Dining Room' was a 24 hour operation with an extensive menu available. The helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel was pleasing.

This hotel is conveniently placed for shopping and the golf course. A casino is within walking distance. With the variety of food available from two other restaurants and a two cafeterias, in the hotel complex, there really was no need to go out for meals. Sitting by the pool - situated by a lake, as the name suggests - foods up to a full meal could be ordered and enjoyed.

We certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear back from a happy guest. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel at Colombo between Feb 14-17, 2012 since I visited the city recently on work-related travel. The stay was nice, with a mix of rain and warm weather - a pleasing change from the cold weather at Delhi where I stay.
Staff at the hotel were helpful, the views of the Beira lake and the facilities at the hotel was very good. Would recommend a stay to all.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are best for the nature view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartpiscean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
We hope you return to Sri Lanka soon and that you choose to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo again.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to the Cinnnamon within 2 years. I once again stayed on the executive 7th floor which by the way is only £40 more and well worth the luxury. The room is superb, you have everything that you would expect at home plus a few added bonuses. After the 1st night i was offered a vacant lake view window side room which was breath taking. It looked over the pool and the lake and was beautiful to wake up to every morning. There were as much free alcohol as you wanted between 6pm and 730pm every evening. As well as a free bottle of champagne in your room which was replaced if you managed to drink that too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I called into the Library bar every evening to relax and catch up on my emails in peaceful surroundings. Once again excellent 1st class 5 star hotel. Will be back again in april / may and cant wait!!!!!!

Room Tip: Lakeside View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eamonncotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is very kind of you to post your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the Executive Floor privileges including the Executive Club Lounge.
Should you plan to return, we would be delighted to reserve a lake view room for you on request.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a 3 day break in Colombo which we enjoyed. The pool and general facilities are good. Based on a TA review we booked a balcony suite which is expensive but added luxury to the whole break. With the suite you get full access to the executive facilites, b,fast, happy hour, cheese & port etc and of course you can smoke on the balcony. There are lots of staff visible around the hotel talking to each other but the service is not good. It can take them half an hour to fetch a beer to the poolside. We used the hotel car which was only about twice the price of a Tuc-Tuc and much more comfortable. Recommend seeing the sun set and eating at Galle Face and Mount Lavinia.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a balcony suite, as recommended on Trip Advisor, this was good and gave us full ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarachiDAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,809 reviews
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing