We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Pleasant...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stunningly Pleasant...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel thrice this year, and will be staying there again in December (in two weeks time).

We travel in a group, mainly for business and we normally take about 4 to 5 rooms and stay for about 3 to 5 days. As I am responsible for making all the Ground arrangements, which includes hotel bookings, it brings great pleasure when the group members say, “Thanks for choosing this Hotel”. The room service is simply excellent, they have a turnaround room service every evening where they clean and tidy up your room (I’m messy person), arranging all things in the room in a neatly order and they leave behind some nice chocolates as well!. They take great pride in keeping not only the rooms clean, but the entire hotel. In short, the rooms are so comfortable; YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO LEAVE IT.

Food is great, I simply love the breakfast, and choices are aplenty with a great variety of local dishes. I have tried all the restaurants, and they all live up to their name, simply too good, lip smacking !

Excellent place for business and leisure travel, I meet up with my associates in the lobby as the ambience of the lobby is great and very welcoming, with very comfy sofa’s and attentive waiters to serve your every needs. This is one of the best hotel lounges I have stayed in COLOMBO, the noise level is very very low, hence giving you the peace all through the morning and noon. In the evening they have a pianist playing lovely music and in the late evening they a have a 3 piece band which is very entertaining. You really need not have to leave your hotel, as everything you would need is there. Unless you want to do extensive shopping, the city centre is not too far away as well, just walk out of the hotel and flag down an auto rickshaw, however, you can even shop at the Hotels lower ground level, they have a nice café and plenty of shops to look around and shop. (I was lazy, so I took my daughter there and she was happy as she found something she really likes (I was happy too as it did not cost me an arm and a leg! very reasonable).

If you are going to Colombo, don’t think twice, just book this hotel, you will sure love the experience.

I will write more after my next visit in December.

Mahen

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and the swimming pool are great, you may have to pay little extra though, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for your extremely loyal patronage of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are certainly privileged to have guests such as yourself staying with us.

We value your detailed review of the hotel as well as your positive remarks. Happy to note also that you enjoyed the food at all our restaurants and that you appreciated the ambiance. We like to ensure that every guest is assured a relaxing stay even though they are in the heart of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    641
    190
    67
    49
See reviews for
430
512
120
593
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We arrived at Cinnamon Lakeside to be greeted by the best hotel staff I have ever met, who became good friends during our short stay. Where to start... Rooms are fantastic and cosy, classy and only a short lift ride from all the action the city has to offer. Restaurants and bar located at Cinnamon Lakeside is a well sort after gathering places for many friends of mine, so become just like home away from home. Food is good and you should not miss the breakfast buffet, perfect place to start any day on your holiday. You would not believe, until you compare with the other hotels in the city, that how claim and quite Cinnamon Lakeside is...

I would highly recommend Cinnamon Lakeside to anyone going to Sri Lanka and want to find a great hotel in the city . Make it your home away from home in the heart of Colombo as I did during holiday in SL.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lakeside or on the other side of the hotel. Best views and great rooms, than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. Thank you for sharing your comments on our staff, food and rooms on Trip Advisor and for recommending the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you will return very soon.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I was at hotel for 2 day’s for my cousin Home coming Party. Upon arriving at this hotel, we found the staff to be very friendly and facilities of excellent standard. We had very pleasant stay, I like say thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Get a beach view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here one day and night, the breakfast and dinner were great, though perhaps a little thin on cooked non spicy food, didn't bother me but the kids and wife had a limited menu, except when it came to dessert. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, though only one desk to check out at kept us waiting a bit. Downsides were no balcony and a room which had obviously been smoked in which was unpleasant and that from a smoker.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Colombo. We are happy to learn that our staff were excellent, and will certainly take your comments with regard to food, check in and rooms into consideration.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us during your next trip, and will be happy to provide you with a non smoking room with a balcony on request.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Upon arriving at this hotel, we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We were adamant in having a room with a balcony, which we got, but were surprised to learn that only one floor had rooms with balconies. The hallway had a moldy smell to it. The room was decorated nicely and very modern. The biggest problem we experienced was the overwhelming stench that enveloped the room when the toilet was flushed. It was obvious there was a problem with the sewage system which gave us a negative view of this hotel. We wanted to have a treatment at the spa and found there was no booklet or any information about the spa treatments in our room. Instead we had to go to the spa and see their menu there. Upon sitting down to read their treatments in the spa sitting area, i noticed a bunch of ants all around where we were sitting. Not the little ones that you barely notice, but the larger ones that probably bite. I alerted this to the receptionist and she said it was because of the lemon and honey tea that customers may have spilled and that it would be cleaned up tomorrow (it was still the middle of the day). I was shocked to find the lack of cleanliness in this spa and was on the verge of walking out from disgust. Surely someone had a minute or two to wipe down the table and sitting area with a wet cloth to get rid of the infestation. Upon checking the rooms, they looked clean and ant-free, so I still decided to get a treatment. This hotel has the potential to be great, and i hope they make the changes to do so.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shake84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are happy to hear that you found our staff accommodating and courteous and appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.

We are one of a very few five star hotels in Colombo with balconies in rooms. We are also the only such property in Colombo to offer large landscaped terraces with our suites. Although rooms with balconies are available only on the first floor, suites with large balconies are available on every floor. Executive room guests are also invited to use the Executive Club Lounge on the 7th floor which opens out onto a spacious terrace with a view of the pool and lake.

The rest of your comments are well noted and we will promptly have in place measures to ensure that they do not recur.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were six couples stayed in this Hotel on our last leg of our tour to Srilanka and we visited Colombo, Kandy and Bantona. Our stay was wonderful. The Hotel is situated on the side of the Lake and it gives you a beautiful view. The Hotel has many different restaurants, beautiful Spa, big rooms, beautiful lobby, good airconditioning and the staff is very cooperative and you get prompt response. Overall it is excellent experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the enterence side are better ones but you donot see the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandi18240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to your next visit.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, Sri Lanka has been excellent. The rooms are large and spacious, abbience is good. The breakfast was excellent. Room and ambience is neat and clean. Connectivity is excellent. Evevning walk towards sea beach was exceelent by connecting road. Lake behind the hotel adds serenity to space and night dining on tarace is fabulous. would say, go for the rooms and food

Room Tip: Choose what you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 365Ram15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for the words of appreciation. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, food and ambiance and look forward to your return.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
3.3 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#8 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing