We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room price have gone upto 300-400% in last few years”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel room price have gone upto 300-400% in last few years”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I use this hotel regularly. I stayed in this hotel on a holiday for 3 days from 18th October 2012. The facilities have not changed over last 7 years, but single room prices are. Single room was 95/= Dollers per night without breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prishaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    70
    63
    27
    4
See reviews for
57
22
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I Stayed at this property for 1 Night on 28 th October. We were in a family group of 6 Adults and 5 Children. So we took three tripple rooms. 

The hotel needs a major renovation. It's a old property. The outer look of the hotel is also poor. But as Colombo is very expensive you cant expect much from a 2-3 star hotel. We just came to Colombo for a transit visit for 1 day so we didn't wanted to spend much so we choose this hotel otherwise there are many good hotels compared to this.
Food city Supermarket is just opposite to the hotel and location is very good in proper Colombo city. 

Lobby is small but fully WiFi in lobby and room free of charge. They took little time to get check in us. Staffs were courteous.  

As soon as we entered the rooms  It was a colonial feeling. It looked an old room asking for changes in it. Room size was ok. Not too big or not too small. Minibar, TV , Electric Kettle and 2 bottle of complimentary water was there at it's place. 

Bed Linens were average quality and stains were there on them. Bath linens were of good quality and neatly washed and scented. All toiletries were there in toilet.  

Bathroom is Horrible. You don't have enough space to move around. 2 person can't go together in the bathroom. Sanitary wares were also of low standard quality. It's difficult to take bath for single person also. 

Garden and swimming area is small but pool was very much clean and a bar was also there to enjoy your drink after swimming. 

Overall I must say this is a very average property and for transit purpose it's ok because you won't get good hotels in Srilanka at a cheaper price compared to this.  

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanchitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent one night here with Exodus Discover Sri Lanka tour. Received welcome drink upon arrival but no cool towel. Received Room #211 (king). Elevator in hotel. Room was very large. Fridge, kettle for coffee/tea, 2 free bottles of water. Hair dryer in bathroom. Pool, but we didn't take the time to use it. Full bath amenities including shaving, comb, toothbrush, soap, shampoo, lotion (no conditioner). Fully enclosed shower stall. Air con worked great. Not many outlets for plugging in your electronic devices, though. Free fast wifi throughout.

Golden Palace Chinese restaurant serves not just Chinese dishes, but many types. Portions are HUGE so if there are three of you (women), you can all share a small. Breakfast was also served in that restaurant buffet style. Dishes were a mix of Sri Lanka, Indian and Western and were delicious!

Lots of veg and other restaurants and shops near to hotel on Galle Road, as well as a Cargills and Laugfs market next door and across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here on an official trip. I found it very conveniently located with everything available in the vicinity including a few malls. Rooms are pretty spacious, clean and well equipped with tea/coffee maker, LCD TV, Fridge, personal safe & enough power points. It is about 1.5 hours drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing or pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel is situated on a rather busy Galle Road with massive traffic jams in the evenings on weekdays. There are many small shops and restaurants nearby. Externally it does not look impressive but the rooms are big and clean with coffee maker and a safe. Bathroom though small is equipped with a hair dryer. Shampoo and bathing gel are supplied. Wifi was initially weak but after our complain it was fixed. Tuk tuks here have fare meters and very convenient to go anywhere. There are buses outside the hotel that will take you to the Fort, ask hotel reception for bus nos.; it is an experience itself to mingle with the locals. We stayed a week and got to observe the different wedding customs held at the hotel. It is a popular hotel for weddings and private functions. The hotel is not near to any tourist sights. There is a swimming pool but we did not see anyone using it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the corridor, furthest from the elevator, is bigger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Getting a hotel room in Colombo during any important cricket match week will be a challenge. We tried many hotels but all of them fully booked, so we finally resorted to this hotel.

Upon reaching the hotel, while checking in, some juice is served. Cold stuff always help to brighten up the mood after a tiring journey from the airport. The room is quite standard, just that they have no mini-bar available, only things in the fridge are 2 bottles of water, which is complimentary. There is some coffee/tea making facilities in the bedside table as well. This is quite standard for a room.

The air-cond was leaking badly the first day when I was here, there was a puddle on the floor when I woke up in the morning, I told the front desk about it. By the time I got back from work, the problem been fixed, which is real prompt and efficient.

One thing is that they have mosquitoes and ants in the room. It is not a significant issue for me since the place I come from has many of those, but as a hotel chain, to have ants crawling in the basin in the washroom and mosquitoes flying around when we are working on the desk, it is unacceptable.

As it is situated right beside Galle Road, expect some traffic noise during early morning (as early as 5 am) and late at night, it is the same no matter which room you are staying.

Around the hotel there are some supermarkets, pharmacies, bakeries, 1 or 2 restaurants within walking distance, which is just nice, but not great. Usually we had to take a tuk-tuk to travel somewhere else to eat.

I think we will prefer staying somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Situated on the not very interesting end of Galle Road but it offers comfortable and clean bedrooms and quite good food. We stayed here on the last night of an exciting but exhausting two week Peregrine tour of Sri Lanka and ended up ordering a simple room service dinner. It took rather a long time to come but when it came the nan breads were the best we have ever had. Breakfast was good too. We would recommend this hotel if you have to stay in Colombo. There is a swimming pool which looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 51 in Colombo
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#39 of 51 in Colombo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 51 in Colombo
258 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 51 in Colombo
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing