We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed for one night only but found the rooms to be very clean, well appointed and the staff very friendly. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very disappointing though.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pisces_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 207 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Sapphire Hotel from 24 December 2011 till 26 December 2011. We did not have high expectations for this hotel as we had heard from close friends that it is a basic hotel with clean rooms and toilets. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room (Room 308). It was a big, clean room and the toilet was clean. (The room did not have a queen/king size bed but the porter shifted the two single beds together for us when we asked him to). Even the wi-fi worked well. The check in/check out process was convenient and staff was very friendly. Overall, this hotel had good customer service and we couldn't fault the room considering we did not pay more than USD$100 for the room per night. It actually exceeded our expectation. If we do go back to Colombo for a visit, we will stay here again. The hotel is located centrally on the main road which is really good. Opposite the hotel, there is food city and other shops (such as the royal bakery) so we used to stroll out if we wanted to buy bottled water or snacks.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed in the sapphire hotel in September 2010 while attending a conference in Colombo. First of all, reservation by email was easy, they didnot request credit card information to book the room. They also, upon my request, arranged for my pick up from the airport, which although pricy, is a good idea. I wont, however, recommend you depend on the front desk to book your taxis, because they overcharge as I discovered later throughout my stay. You can easily buy a local mobile SIM card and make all the taxi bookings yourself. If you intend to go sightsighing throughout Colombo, u can easily book a cab for the whole day to drive and wait around for you, and for a very reasonable price too.
As for the rooms, they were fairly clean and tidy, although the style was quite dated in my opinion. The front desk staff were helpful, though not particularly friendly. The room service was good: upon my request, they send my breakfast to my room very early in the morning for no extra charge. The downside is that they speak very little english, and sometimes I dont get through to them at all!!
The hotel is small with a quiet lobby, I sat there in the evening as the Wifi signal was much stronger, with almost no disturbance.
All in all,if you are looking for a moderately priced, basic room, I would say Sapphire hotel doeas the trick.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DinaDeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel looked pretty nice in general but the rooms were terrible. My room faced the door to the kitchen and my parent's room window faced the swimming pool. Thus there was no option of opening the window curtains. Maybe with a different room the experience would be better. The food was average overall.

Room Tip: Please ensure that you get a road facing room so as to be able to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three - four days in three trips to Colombo between Jun 2010 to August 2011. They charge exorbitant amount but the rooms are not that great on a comparitive basis. Plus the habit of charging more for foreigners is always there in this hotel. Need to check the prices for localaites before confirming the booking.
The value offered in terms of rooms, facilities in rooms, food served in hotel is not the ROI for your time and money. Strictly no for even a business trip overnight stay.

Room Tip: Check for special smoking wings if you are a smoker. And ask for a room where their wi-Fi will work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMJAM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The reception area is quite big and comfortable and the front desk staff is polite and helpful. We were 2 families with kids and had booked 2 king size bedrooms. Strangely enough one of the rooms allotted had the double bed being separated in between by the side table. But the hotel was prompt enough to change this room once we notified them of the problem. The rooms were clean and standard, bathrooms were small and ok.

The biggest plus point is the location of the hotel. You won’t really need a vehicle to get around. Public transport as well as autos is easily available outside the hotel. Accessibility to the market and shopping areas is also quite good. The landscaping of the hotel is nice and we loved their small garden. The swimming pool looked quite tempting but we didn't get a chance to try it. We had a good time clicking photos in the garden.

The only negative point with this hotel is the food problem for pure vegetarians. Although their restaurant at the top is quite spacious, the strong smell of non-veg food is a big deterrent for vegetarians. It was impossible for us to stay even 5minutes in the restaurant surroundings at dinner time. Thankfully due to the hotel's central location we could find vegetarian food in the market easily. It was no better at the time of breakfast. Even with a buffet breakfast, the choice of vegetarian food was very limited. The noodles had pieces of meat although the restaurant said it was made only of vegetables.

The hotel is good ambience wise and if you want a night stay only; but cannot recommend it for vegetarians. If you want peace and quiet ask for a room not facing the main roads and not above the swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are alike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NehaRBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Colombo was the last destination on our itinerary during our Srilanka trip. We were very much excited to experience the capital city of Srilanka and it didn't let us down. The hotel didn't live up to the expectation though! Not sure if its considered to be budget hotel from Colombo's standard of hospitality industry.

The location of hotel facility was kind of ok, if not bad. We had real issues with the rooms to start with. We had requested for king size bed during our bookings considering kids. We were provided rooms with 2 separate single beds. it was just not convenient but impossible to use these small beds. After much hagling we were given 2 rooms on separate floors; even then one of the room had the two single beds joined together to make it a king size bed. We couldn't sleep properly through the night for obvious reasons!

This hotel is more of a building without any common facility outside on the ground. Thus their swimming pool was located on one of the floors. It was a decent moderate size pool, more to soak away the day's tiredness. We didn't see or use any of their other guest facilities to comment upon.

The food at their restaurant was worse among all other places we visited in Srilanka. We didn't have dinner in their restuarant, rather explored restaurants outside. The morning breakfast too wasn't much of variety. It was more to fill you up for the day's energy consumption. The frontdesk at the hotel was a bit confused about their own facility. The check-out took quite some time! Overall not a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There's nothing much to choose from. If you are with kids make sure you get the king size beds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GopalAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo
4.6 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 55 in Colombo
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#26 of 55 in Colombo
169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pearl Grand Hotel
Pearl Grand Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 55 in Colombo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing