We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, basic rooms.”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, basic rooms.”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed in the sapphire hotel in September 2010 while attending a conference in Colombo. First of all, reservation by email was easy, they didnot request credit card information to book the room. They also, upon my request, arranged for my pick up from the airport, which although pricy, is a good idea. I wont, however, recommend you depend on the front desk to book your taxis, because they overcharge as I discovered later throughout my stay. You can easily buy a local mobile SIM card and make all the taxi bookings yourself. If you intend to go sightsighing throughout Colombo, u can easily book a cab for the whole day to drive and wait around for you, and for a very reasonable price too.
As for the rooms, they were fairly clean and tidy, although the style was quite dated in my opinion. The front desk staff were helpful, though not particularly friendly. The room service was good: upon my request, they send my breakfast to my room very early in the morning for no extra charge. The downside is that they speak very little english, and sometimes I dont get through to them at all!!
The hotel is small with a quiet lobby, I sat there in the evening as the Wifi signal was much stronger, with almost no disturbance.
All in all,if you are looking for a moderately priced, basic room, I would say Sapphire hotel doeas the trick.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinaDeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    61
    27
    4
See reviews for
55
22
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel looked pretty nice in general but the rooms were terrible. My room faced the door to the kitchen and my parent's room window faced the swimming pool. Thus there was no option of opening the window curtains. Maybe with a different room the experience would be better. The food was average overall.

Room Tip: Please ensure that you get a road facing room so as to be able to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for three - four days in three trips to Colombo between Jun 2010 to August 2011. They charge exorbitant amount but the rooms are not that great on a comparitive basis. Plus the habit of charging more for foreigners is always there in this hotel. Need to check the prices for localaites before confirming the booking.
The value offered in terms of rooms, facilities in rooms, food served in hotel is not the ROI for your time and money. Strictly no for even a business trip overnight stay.

Room Tip: Check for special smoking wings if you are a smoker. And ask for a room where their wi-Fi will work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAMJAM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The reception area is quite big and comfortable and the front desk staff is polite and helpful. We were 2 families with kids and had booked 2 king size bedrooms. Strangely enough one of the rooms allotted had the double bed being separated in between by the side table. But the hotel was prompt enough to change this room once we notified them of the problem. The rooms were clean and standard, bathrooms were small and ok.

The biggest plus point is the location of the hotel. You won’t really need a vehicle to get around. Public transport as well as autos is easily available outside the hotel. Accessibility to the market and shopping areas is also quite good. The landscaping of the hotel is nice and we loved their small garden. The swimming pool looked quite tempting but we didn't get a chance to try it. We had a good time clicking photos in the garden.

The only negative point with this hotel is the food problem for pure vegetarians. Although their restaurant at the top is quite spacious, the strong smell of non-veg food is a big deterrent for vegetarians. It was impossible for us to stay even 5minutes in the restaurant surroundings at dinner time. Thankfully due to the hotel's central location we could find vegetarian food in the market easily. It was no better at the time of breakfast. Even with a buffet breakfast, the choice of vegetarian food was very limited. The noodles had pieces of meat although the restaurant said it was made only of vegetables.

The hotel is good ambience wise and if you want a night stay only; but cannot recommend it for vegetarians. If you want peace and quiet ask for a room not facing the main roads and not above the swimming pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are alike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NehaRBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Colombo was the last destination on our itinerary during our Srilanka trip. We were very much excited to experience the capital city of Srilanka and it didn't let us down. The hotel didn't live up to the expectation though! Not sure if its considered to be budget hotel from Colombo's standard of hospitality industry.

The location of hotel facility was kind of ok, if not bad. We had real issues with the rooms to start with. We had requested for king size bed during our bookings considering kids. We were provided rooms with 2 separate single beds. it was just not convenient but impossible to use these small beds. After much hagling we were given 2 rooms on separate floors; even then one of the room had the two single beds joined together to make it a king size bed. We couldn't sleep properly through the night for obvious reasons!

This hotel is more of a building without any common facility outside on the ground. Thus their swimming pool was located on one of the floors. It was a decent moderate size pool, more to soak away the day's tiredness. We didn't see or use any of their other guest facilities to comment upon.

The food at their restaurant was worse among all other places we visited in Srilanka. We didn't have dinner in their restuarant, rather explored restaurants outside. The morning breakfast too wasn't much of variety. It was more to fill you up for the day's energy consumption. The frontdesk at the hotel was a bit confused about their own facility. The check-out took quite some time! Overall not a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There's nothing much to choose from. If you are with kids make sure you get the king size beds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GopalAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First impression , the Front Office Staffs were good and polite. The Suite Room was great. So spacious with steam bath facilities.Clean toilets.Good breakfast and very close to shopping centres.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Param S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is small but cozy.. Staff was very hospitable and helpful. The room was clean & spacious. Food is average. Pure Vegetarians might face a problem as the restaurant smells too much of N.Veg food. Bathroom cleanliness was the only problem i faced but was attended to once was brought to Front Desks notice.

Room Tip: Don't expect a high end service but the staff will make sure you feel like a King
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#30 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.3 mi away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#32 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#28 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#24 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Property: Sapphire Hotel
Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing