We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel at mid-range price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed here only because I was stuck at the airport and this was the cheapest option I could find through the hotel reservation booth at the airport. I knew the hotel already since I passed by once while visiting the fort area, and went to the harbor-view restaurant to have a drink. It''s such a pity that an old hotel like this one, with such a great past is now a derelict place, with rooms that were possibly last refurbished in the 70s' with cheap plywood furniture, terrible decor and awful tiles. The furniture in the room don't even match with each other, it seems they bought them randomly at a flea market.

Someone says it's still a good deal because it's a cheap place, but for 60-70$ you can definitely find better places in Colombo! There are actually cheaper places that are much better than this one.

The breakfast is ok though, and I would recommend paying a visit to their run-down restaurant on the fourth floor for a drink and to enjoy the view (but don't use the toilets there, they are disgusting!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

Saw some great reviews here but found when I arrived that the room lacked any charm...two beds put together, a sink that leaked onto the floor, a toilet that left my knees tucked up into my chin....what were they thinking?

True, the staff smiled...probably thinking...."hah...another person read that site on the internet!"

My advice would be look for another hotel...

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lamasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a very good hotel & located in an excellent place viz. just next to the dock yard; From the restaurant you can have excellent view of the sea, ship & movement of goods, while having your break-fast/Lunch or dinner.

I stayed in this hotel from 6/8 to 9/8; I find Hospitality was very good & taken care very well. I'd only problem with the food, as I was pure vegetarian, I'd little problem on choice of vegetarian food during Lunch & dinner; Otherwise this is a very good hotel for stay.

Also, this hotel far away from Airport, little away Shopping place & Rly station; If traveller can ignore on this, very good hotel for stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrprasad_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in lovely standard room. Viewed room prior to staying and it was in the updated wing of the hotel. The restaurant on the 4th floor with harbour views served an excellent Breakfast and Dinner buffet at a good price. Room only cost USD60pn. Easy walk to Fort Railway Station, and coast. Lovely friendly, helpful staff. Quick room service. Internet was available at a price. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

If you are planning to travel to colombo look nowhere else but to this hotel which offers excellent location , view ( especially from the breakfast room) and product( as compared to the price). Service is a bit of a concern. Your requests are not dealt with seriousness until many reminders are passed on. I had to change the room on first night as A/C drainage got blocked but then had no complaints from the room thereafter. My room was on the fourth floor but what made my day was the magnificient view of the harbour from Harbour room ( serving buffet breakfast). Breakfast was good with variety of options everyday. I paid 69 USD per night on BBF which I found worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajivm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The hotel is the oldest hotel in Srilanka and boasts of its glorious past.It's located in a high security area being close to the port and near the president's residence. We booked the hotel through an agent at the airport, of course in expectation of more business in from of srilanka tour, which we eventually obliged. I'd strongly recommend the agent 'Zahran' of Lanka tours at the colombo airport. We got the hotel much cheaper (USD 50) than what we would have had to pay directly. (about $65) The entrance and reception areas are good, The rooms are slightly musty with a tinge of smell. The bugffet breakfast is great.
The dining area upstairs has bar offers a good view of the harbour, but photography is not allowed.
all in all your experience would largely depends on how much you've paid for it. anything below USD 70 is VFM.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galvanizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was mislead with the name " Grand Oriental Hotel ". The only thing which is convincing is te location other than nothing is worth your penny. Reception service was pathetic. They promised free internet while booking online but once i reached there they said some technical error in free service so use other internet service which cost around US $6 per hour.

The room, the furnitures, the A/C, TV etc were at worst condition. Everything were broken. Seperate hot water for each room so if you need hot water, you need to wake up early and switch on the heater.

They say it is a 3 star hotel but it is worst than a ordinary road side motel or lodge.

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 55 in Colombo
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
272 reviews
5 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
1 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#38 of 55 in Colombo
83 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#26 of 55 in Colombo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $39 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An iconic building at the heart of Colombo, located overlooking the busy harbor; gifted with history, it is where comfort blends with affordability for the most discerning traveler. This fine piece of architecture speaks of the country's colonial times and with a spectacular view of Colombo Harbour. The splendidly decorated 80 rooms are fully air-conditioned while Anton Chekhov and Joze Rizal, are the luxury suites overlooking the Colombo harbor, offering a fantastic view for their guests. It is more than just a hotel. It is home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing