We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
Priceline
$37
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
Agoda.com
$24
View deal
Travelocity$41
Orbitz.com$41
CheapTickets$41
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
66
238
256
90
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
66
238
256
90
83
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 733 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2019

Service actually has themost impact in a rating, If its the best, other things can be easily overlooked.
My rating basically depends on who on duty in the Reception. A number of staff especially in reception are quite wparm and helpful while there are a few who tend to be "snobs" and make you feel as if you're not supposed to be here even if you are paying.

Anyway, I enjoyed the room with its old charm and the view from my room was something would love to see everyday- the open sea sprinkled with some roofs and buidings. The cleaning service was pleasant and helpful.

The location was ideal- near the Catholic church, train and bus station as well as Peta.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kontrabida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

The hotel has more than hundred years history. Must’ve been an iconic place in the past, but nowadays it’s only too outdated. I’ve stayed in hotels with long history before, this one has no charm on it.
When we arrived a security guy checked our bags (I believe it started since the sad incident that happened this year), he opens our bags and check it using his hands. It’s not really effective and can be unpleasant.
One of the things that I noticed since my arrival was the smell of the place. It smells old and humid, might not be a good choice for people with allergies or respiratory sensitivity. My room was also quite smelly and the smell quite stays in your clothes and hair.
The room was outdated but ok, the bed was two twin bed together and can be uncomfortable for couples because of the gap between them. There were ac in the room and it was working fine.
The bathroom is old and there were some mold in the shower area.
The noise from outside of the room is pretty loud. You can hear people walking, cleaning and talking even early in the morning.
Also, the location is not that great and seems not too safe.
I wouldn’t recommend to stay in this hotel for more than one or two nights.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank japarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gohcolombo, Manager at Grand Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Dear Valuable Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments during your stay with Grand Oriental Hotel.

we are extremely alarmed by your comment during your stay with us, we take these situation very seriously by indeed. I would appropriate if your could contact us with your room number that we can investigate this further more. regarding the smell.


Regarding your comment on security, as you know it is needed to check all the entries to hotel personally and we already taken your comment as positively and asked our security company to use scanners . and the noise from out side might be due to a function on previous night also we have advice the department to control all

I am sorry that you had a unsatisfactory experience with our hotel, please keep contact with us when you visit next time you will be getting a good service.

thanks
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

I must assume that it was regarded as a grand hotel in the past but it is aging and standard is sub par against the modern standard.

I should said that hotel staff are friendly and nice.

Rooms are clean enough for budget travelers.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank NYLON_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

Since this is located at the heart of the Colombo City, This place is ideal for anyone who really wants to explore the commercial Hub of Sri Lanka. Rooms are pretty good and neat. Parking maybe a problem, But luckily it wasn't for me.

Room tip: Request a room with the view of the Harbor
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Damidu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

In the past this hotel shpuld have been quite luxury with a nice view on the harbour.
Nowadays, the hotel is quite dated even though it's still attractive and fashionable.
My room was not very modern but not too bad.
The location is good to visit Colombo.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews