We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Priceline
$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Agoda.com
$28
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/21
Travelocity$41
Orbitz.com$41
CheapTickets$41
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveler rating
66
238
256
90
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
66
238
256
90
83
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 733 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2019

Mixed review for this hotel, certainly a piece of history in Colombo. Hotel has a lift, the service from staff very good. The foyer has a lot of atmosphere as do the corridors of this hotel if you talk a walk around and look. My room had a glimpse of the port, not as noisey as I thought I would be. My room was basic but comfortable. Being an old hotel it is difficult to "upgrade" to give modern amenities. Could do with some 'bleach' in the bathroom to get rid of mould. WIndows opened! The restaurant was definitely worth eating in. Food and service was excellent. I don't smoke but went out on the balcony from the restaurant has stunning views. A lot of work going on in this area for new 5* accommodation. Service staff walking up and down the corridors were noisey but only because of the flooring. Worth a night or two stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kerry20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

This hotel is an important part of Colombo's history. It is amazing. Sure it's in a bit of a time warp, but it is obvious it was a grand hotel in it's time and still offers great value for money. It is not expensive. The view from the dining room is fantastic, even better on the outside balcony adjacent to the dining room. We were there during New Year's Eve celebrations, great timing, as the staff turned out a great night with fabulous decorations, great music, dancing and memorable food. The rooms are very large with four poster beds and ensuite bathrooms. The staff are terrific, nothing is too much trouble and if you enjoy places that reek of history and grandeur then the Grand Oriental is for you.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

We stayed at the Grand Oriental Hotel for 1 night at the end of our tour. The helpful and friendly staff was appealing however the room was gloomy and outdated. The buffet breakfast was one of the more decent hotel breakfasts we came across during our 11 day tour in Sri Lanka. Overall, I would prefer a hotel room with more natural light.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleSHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in this historic hotel. It was difficult to get pass the needed maintenance and tired look. Even the lighting was dim and gloomy. Perhaps they are relying too much on its historical legacy but it needs a major facelift. The staff was nice and attentive. However, I would not recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Armesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

We had a farewell lunch for a retiring officer participated around 30 officials. The food was tasty and the atmosphere was nice. The room allocated for the function really fitted in. This hotel is recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Harsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews