We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid but unimpressive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Oriental Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Solid but unimpressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Solid but unspectacular. Rooms are basic and overpriced, but also clean. They do not look as cosy as those pictured on the website.

Fourth flour bar/restaurant has a good view of the industrial port, if you like that sort of thing. Food and drinks are pricey, however, and I ate better meals in the city.

We opted for the Grand Oriental because we arrived in Colombo very early in the morning, without having been able to properly assess our options. The stay was fine, but I would consider choosing somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leloveluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    156
    174
    75
    62
See reviews for
82
170
64
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
414 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Probably it had been a very nice hotel in the past, but we don't live in the past in year 2014.
Rooms very low standard, and it is the minus, and the service was very nice so that was the +.
Buffet okay in restaurant but you need to like this kind of food. Nice view from the outdoor veranda, special when I just see that Susan Maersk leave the port as I just sign off here

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmittag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

1.Rooms are Extrodinary compared to the pictures which will sweep you by your feet,
2.bathrooms need to be renovated but very clean
3.British Construction revived and sure does take you back in time
4.Room service in worthless
5. Food is horrible and the service men in the harbour room restaurant are rude
6.the Elevators take ages to pass a floor
7.Stairways smell of smoke and fresh sea food

Room Tip: Stay the there especially the suits and worth every penny and will give you a colonial experience gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGKumarlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for just one night, the hotel was recommended by tourist information at Colombo Fort Station.(I don't know why)
Arriving at the hotel we were impressed, it is a stunning building from the outside. Unfortunately the hotel does not live up to its grand exterior. Our room was basic, not even a kettle, the bedding was clean but in need of replacement. We had an evening meal in the restaurant overlooking the harbour, it was not good. Tepid buffet style, we left more than we ate.
Entertainment was a guy on the organ playing 70's/80's songs, lots of Elvis and even the birdy song. The large table of German tourists next to us seemed to enjoy it but the words shoot me now came into my head. Checked out the next morn at 5am.
Its a shame because with some investment this could be a fabulous hotel. The staff did what they could with what they had but sadly not enough to make this an enjoyable stay.
Very expensive for a room of this standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galaxygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Pros:
Located right next to the ocean and the large cricket parks.
If you are a romantic, you will love the charm of the old time feel. I could literally feel the ghosts of past travelers walking down the hall in their Sunday best.
Regrettably I don't think there have been any updates to this hotel since the 19 toh century.

Cons:
Very dated.
There hasn't been a dollar put I to this place in 100 yrs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Service and place was awful. When I tried to get help connecting WiFi I kept getting transferred to someone else and then was told that no, they won't come help me. Same thing trying to place a phone call. The room was musty smelling and unpleasant. I heard everyone walking down the hallways and construction out the window. Really, they need to rethink this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerInAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I arrived midday after a grueling 36 hour travel day. The receptionist was friendly and accommodating. I was able to check in even though it was only 12 noon. My room was huge, bed larger than a king, the headboard beautifully carved with mosquito netting, and a very large bathroom. I thought it was a grand old lady. Very clean and comfortable.

Yes, the hotel has seen better days, but staying here makes one feel like they are back in British colonial days. Not for everyone, but I enjoyed it. The restaurant was loverly overlooking the harbor. Very pretty at night with all the lights. Food was good and reasonably priced.

For an overnight stay, the Grand Oriental was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
#19 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#25 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#18 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galadari Hotel
Galadari Hotel
#28 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#6 of 131 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Property: Grand Oriental Hotel
Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing