We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Oriental Hotel
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for a short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel between 4th-8th march 2013. I can definitely say that they have improved over my last stay which was in 2011. Although they had no records of my previous stay with them!

My colleague faced some issue with the AC so please check if your room has a good AC which works!

Food was nice, the view from the restaurant of the harbour is really great.

I would say my experience was average for the money paid, but you can count on getting a good nights sleep in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    159
    180
    76
    63
See reviews for
85
173
68
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

stayed at this hotel so we were closer to the airport from where we were working but wish we had driven the 5hrs direct from site to airport as would have saved us the experience of this hotel.

we checked in at midday which seemed to be a great inconvenience to the staff on reception and were shown to our rooms.....

possibly the worst hotel room i have ever stayed in !

to start with the air con was all but useless and very old, the fan above my bed was going to fall on me any second so that got left switched off,
the bathroom was small with a even smaller shower cubicle which had a 18inch step up into it !!!!!
and just for fun i could only get scolding HOT water out of it as my room seemed to have no cold water !

the room looke dlike it had not been decorated for several DECADES !

only nice thing i can say is the view over the harbour is nice and food was reasonable buit nothing to stay in for we didint have time to eat out.

will not be goin back again.

Room Tip: dont !!! much better available around the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am a fan of faded colonial glamour as it gives a hotel character, however, the foyer of this hotel is one of the few parts that could be called grand. The room, though clean, was shabby with a very old and noisy air con unit and the bathroom was clearly in need of repair. Given the relative cost of the country and other hotels this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank betelguese123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel has old world charm and service to match. Rooms were comfortable and clean and breakfast had a good variety.
Whilst walking into the hotel one night I saw a large rat run in but this is probably not the fault of the hotel. On a bad note, I was locked out of my room one night and the reception desk sent a room boy up with me to open the door. On our way up he attempted to grope me and once he opened the door he lodged his foot into it and made obscene gestures to me and tried to push his way into the room to assault me! Luckily I was able to escape and lock the door, otherwise I can't imagine what he would have done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsmere_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

i was with a group. we had dinner and asked the hotel to rent us 2 rooms in order to take a shower before leaving to the airport. they charged us 100$ for 3 hours for the oldest rooms in the hotel, i think! dirty, old, rusty, with cold water and no cleaning! the rooms are old, ugly and do not make the money! please go somewhere else!

Room Tip: room 409, 410 are horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielaberbece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Buffet Dinner at the Harbor room with a spectacular view of the Colombo harbor was breathtaking. The variety in buffet menu & the Music for dancing was romantic for any age group.
The service was excellent & anyone planning a visit to Sri Lanka should not miss it. Prices were extremely affordable & great value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is located right on the port front which makes it an ideal viewing point of the Colombo Port.Sitting with a drink watching the sun go down at the 2nd floor restaurant was wonderful.

The colonial style is charming and the hotel has a great history. Their lift is also so unique. Our room was very comfortable and large.

The service is somewaht slow but drinks and food could be rated as value for money.I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#20 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#21 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 134 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Property: Grand Oriental Hotel
Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing