We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colombo National Museum

Colombo National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Colombo City Tour
Ranked #19 of 144 things to do in Colombo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum of Asian civilizations is one of the oldest in Sri Lanka.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I only had 2 hours there and saw about one tenth of the exhibits. We could have walked around all day and recommend putting aside at least half a day. The building itself is breath taking and there are clean "western" toilets to use. Also a small cafe if you are after a light snack or a cool drink.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    323
    249
    77
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing artifacts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Don't miss this museum, gives you an understanding of the history of Sri Lanka.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travelpartner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
522 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Colonial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I can remember this place from my childhood which is now 60 or more years ago. The building itself is worth a look and like everything else in Sri Lanka, very cheap to get into.

Helpful?
Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Not very impressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were expecting a rich display of Sri Lankan culture. The collection is not very large and text explanations could be better. The museum was a bit disappointing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Museum well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This museum is housed in a grand old colonial building. It is not air conditioned, but this didn't matter because it is simply a wonderful explore and tells the story of Sri Lanka.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colombo National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Colombo National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing