We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galadari Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Spent 7 days during conference (MCIP, jointly organized by the SL Army and US Pacific Command) . My suite in 8th floor provided excellent view of Colombo harbor and Galle face. Suite and food were truly exceptional. Hotel staff did an excellent job in coordinating the conference and providing services to the participants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    311
    188
    85
    68
See reviews for
159
149
54
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

On Jan 28 2014 I stayed at galadari colombo, this is my 4th stay during 2013 - 2014, the service is perfect, rooms are spacious and it is right in the down town facing beautiful sea which provides very beautiful early morning view
The breakfast is really great one can find almost eurpean/american/arab/Mediterranean/south indian varieties of food I really love to stay whenever I go for biz to srilanka

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corporati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Impressive building in prime location . The decor in the reception lobby and foyer is quite good and gives the impression of class and opulence . Nice specious rooms , Rooms on the side of the wing of room no 906 have good view . Courteous staff . Plenty choice in Restaurants and Bar facilities . On Food front , plenty of choice and good tasty food. Well stocked mini bar in the room . Proximity to the beach is handy for a relaxing morning walk .,
Good place to stay

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the same side as Room no 906 . Good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had a work in trade center building and this hotel is located next to it. The stay was comfortable, rooms were clean and the location is very convenient for business travelers as it is close to the Trade center. It is not too far from the some of the attractions and shopping.

It is also close to the beach area, a nice walk in the evenings, and nice view from the pool area and room as well. The area is very secure and safe to walk around. Its been a while since I visited this place,

Building is old with huge hotel lobby, it has Indian restaurant too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian_traveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just some feedback on New Year's Eve which we attended. Disappointed to find that the so-called "Grand Ballroom" had only a small makeshift floor where the edges of the panels laid on the floor were not even level with our shoes catching on the uneven gaps. In Sri Lanka traditionally New Year's Eve dances go all night and generally finish around dawn. So we were very disappointed when the senior band in attendance Mirage didn't return to play when Replay (the second band) finished just after 3 am. They decided they had enough and shut down the dance even though there were people like us who wanted more and were waiting to dance for another couple of hours at least given the Sri Lankan tradition. Mirage was the more professional band on the night but they certainly didn't do as much work as Replay who played for much longer. Even the leader of Replay said "I hope Mirage is coming back" but they decided to go home at 3 am ! Incredible and we left very disappointed. At Rs 15,000 each was certainly not good value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Chennai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Located very close to the beach, this is one of the best place to choose. Pure business hotel with warmth of service. You can feel the service with a traditional ambience. Good food and clean rooms. Will visit again with family.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frankclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I should start my review by acknowledging the GM of the hotel for the hospitality offered to us - a family reunion after 27 years. Nothing was an issue. Thanks Sampath.
Hotel is central to everything - a number of large hotels in the vicinity, commercial center of Fort just around the corner and the beach across the Galle face green (just across the road). Good music lounge/night club in the hotel - Margarita Blue with the resident band one of the best in the country.
Some sections of the hotel are slightly dated - however this is one of the older properties in Colombo and renovations are in progress. Upper floors are renovated and fabulous view of the ocean stretching out to Mt Lavinia beach on one side of the building.
Breakfast was a spread - great service and choice of food. Can get a bit crowded in the restaurant however I am attributing this to the 31st night clientele that stayed in the hotel. All in all - great stay and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are only on one side of the building - well worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
#19 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#13 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Property: Galadari Hotel
Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing