We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad old but still very nice, consider the price”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
372 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A tad old but still very nice, consider the price”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had a good experience staying there doing the new year's eve, total of 4 nights. My room was on 12th floor, absolutely no noise, the view of Galle face was a real treat! I admit the hotel is old and needs refurbishing badly, but overall, everything is clean and works. On the 12th floor we have the choice of taking our breakfast at their lounge there, overlooking the ocean, instead of going down to the lobby.

Bed is comfortable, bathroom facility is sufficient. Although the water pressure for the flushing toilet is weak. Wi fi in room is not free, unfortunately. However, if you are like me, purchase a sim card at the airport at the mere cost of Rs1,300, you have 1.5 G of data to travel with you, no need for any wi fi.

The hotel is an easy walk to Old Dutch hospital complex, and a relaxing walk on Galle Face, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience there, couldn't complain for room rate under US$150.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra to upgrade to executive deluxe, the view itself is worth the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    320
    192
    86
    71
See reviews for
163
155
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice, well located hotel in Colombo. You get a nice view on the beach. The staff is really nice and helpful. Although the rooms are aging a little with the carpets and bathroom that aren't so shiny and up to date, they are spacious and clean. The buffet was good with a lot of varieties, but they are crazy with the A/C, we almost got sick in there!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Totally disappointed with night time desserts and coffee promotion. Full of smokers inside lobby bar and everywhere. Chairs dated old & dirty. Needed extensive upholstery clean. Serving coffee in Carlsberg beer glass was disgusting! Desserts were well below average and entire public areas of the hotel including lobby crying out for a facelift, rundown and 80's deco. Extremely depressing ambiance. This hotel should be rated below 3 starts!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not sure what earned this place it's five star rating. We spent a night here after a late night flight into Colombo and thank god that's what it was limited to. The carpets in the room were stained and the room and bath itself was very dated and could do with a good sprucing up. Annoyingly when u get in that late you really want to sleep well. We had to draw the thick curtains because Christmas lights were dangling outside the window which the hotel refused to turn off. Breakfast was a good spread. Adequate for an overnight trip but will not go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice hotel, good rooms. Though rooms seem to be ageing a bit but do not lack on the functionalities and appears as if it would be best in class in the early 90s. Food was awesome and the breakfast and dinner buffet spread were endless. Quite big, it is typical city hotel with good views and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I had high tea at Galadari with a group of friends recently. The cost was 1450/= per person. The food was pathetic. The pastries had very little filling and were cold. I couldn't finish any as none of them tasted nice. The only good dish was the Thai noodles and roast chicken. The two sushi and sashimi dishes were ok. The meal was not at all worth the money. Will not be going there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited 18 months ago and since then there seems to be some good improvement.

The room was clean and very spacious, however the bathroom is getting dated. A plate of fresh fruit placed in room, and a baby cot brought up after calling 3 times.

Dinner buffet was excellent with varied choices including a good selection of seafood. The restaurant staff were not rude, but not pleasant.

Wake up call was reliable and punctual, and check out was smooth.

Main issue is still no free wifi. I can't believe a hotel nowadays still charges for wifi. In my case, it didn't work, so after I called reception, I was transferred to a call centre to get it to work. Took almost 25 minutes until I got wifi which i had to pay for.

Location is good, near the beach and the trade centre, with some choices for dinner.

The pool was clean but the water was too cold to swim at 4pm.

Going in the right direction, get free wifi and staff should be more friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank audi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#17 of 51 in Colombo
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Property: Galadari Hotel
Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing