We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good! but.....!”
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My self and 4 of my friends(All are doctors) stayed in this hotel for two days. Food and Hospitality was good. Rooms are OK. Today even small hotels are providing the complementary WiFi but here it is chargeable. This is only negative mark for this hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srinivasa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 857 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel in desperate need of a revamp. The rooms were musty and the bedclothes did not smell fresh. Only had one night fortunately and did not get the wake-up call requested and then had to get cross to get someone to organise a taxi to the airport! Probably only qualifies as 5 star based on its historic grandeur.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

All aspects of this once great hotel need a definite revamp. From the restaurants to the ballroom to the rooms need complete facelift.

Cafe 64 is just awful. Whats a cafe without fresh juice and serving artificially flavoured fruit cordials?

Its competing heavily against a number of 5 Star properties all around it and unless refurbished like the Kingsbury did this hotel is doomed for a natural death.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

can get the cigarate smell in the hallway...wifi facilities should be available in the rooms on the smart phones....everytime we had to reactivate our room keys and that was a pain...gym should open say 5am....staff were really nice and friendly though......would expect something better for 5 star rating....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

hotel look old, i did not find room that impressive. i stayed there for 3 days are all the time i saw the lobby was packed. but from my experience, i would suggest you get far better options in Colombo city. food was impressive, heavily packed buffer dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsonanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Room is average. Service is poor. The management should seriously think of sending the staff for customer service training. No one is greeting unless you are the one who greet first. The staff in executive floor doesn't even look at you to acknowledge your presence, always pretending to write or read something on her paper. The breakfast service is always chaotic.

The rate is quite high but you will not get the service that you need. You should think of going to another five star property if you want to have a peaceful trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am not sure where to start with this hotel. First...i supposedly had a good rate...at 220,000 (about 150 usd) and that is simply too much for what I got (room and a breakfast). The room is very tired...mattress worn out....and the breakfast was minimal. There was alot of food out...but it wasn't good and i think most of it came from the night before. Service in general is only average but some things really irk you....they just COME IN your room around 0800 to clean your room.....so put the bar across the lock unless you want them to just walk in. They do not wait for answer and come absurdly early. The laundry service is reasonably priced but they don't deliver when expected and you have to call. If you don't and it is on weekend..they call YOU at 0800. Again absurd. Security is okay but the hotel can be noisy...lots of noise in hallway. Door to room is old and not well secured. The fitness center is small but okay and the pool is alright. Overall just average...but it is definitely not a 5 star in my definition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalreviewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 54 in Colombo
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 54 in Colombo
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 54 in Colombo
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Colombo
Ramada Colombo
#22 of 54 in Colombo
540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $97 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing