We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved since last time I visited”

The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka
Ranked #40 of 562 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Much Improved since last time I visited”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Visited with friends on a Saturday this time, for lunch (7pax total).

Service was much improved, the staff were friendly and energetic as usual, and were much more knowledgeable on products, the food arrived relatively promptly and in general everything went well.

Food quality was yet again top notch, and portions good enough. The deals at lunchtime are more appealing in terms of price, and the dishes do not appear to have been cut down - the portion sizes appear the same as those sold at the regular prices. Our requests for extra sauce (the white one they serve with the fish) were dealt with quickly as well.

I think these guys have got it right now. Much recommended to pay a visit to.

@Shafrazanees, tried to send you a message with my contact details after my previous experience but the site kept throwing up an error.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafrazanees, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see swim by soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    162
    77
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best place for Sea food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The restaurant was not crowded. Got a very good welcome from the staff. Ambiance was good.
The food was great from the appetizer onwards. The flamed mixed sea food platter was excellent. Portion sizes are good. Food is a bit high priced but tastes very good. Meal was served within 20 to 30 minutes. Drinks were quite good, although there isn’t much of a choice. The same goes for the dessert not much of a choice but what was available was great.
Try this place for tasty food but a little expensive. All dishes we ordered tasted great. Enjoyed the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acmemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafrazanees, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see swim by soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you want to try seafood, It's the place”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great taste of seafood. Enjoyed the food. For an attraction the kitchen welcome when we come and leave. Personally I love the beverage, Specially "Gummy bear". Services are bit low standard because took a long time to serve a hot water when we request.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sashika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafrazanees, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see swim by soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cosy seafood restaurant with no wine licence”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Colombo has now got its own Manhattan Fish Market restaurant. A place which has gained popularity. A first impression indicated a merger between an up-style restaurant and a McDonalds. The menu is based upon poultry and much seafood, with aggressive use of flambé. Every waiter walked around with their own gas burner, and seemed happy to light off strong flames on the appropriate dishes.

With so much good seafood it would have been natural for us to order a bottle of wine, - but this place does not carry a liquor licence. Not even a glass of beer was available. The ice tea was super sweet, and far away from what this reporter likes. The dishes of shrimps, calamares and baked fish were neatly presented, with use of a mayonnaise based sauce which again got its turn of the gas flames. Slightly pricy, and too much McDonalds was out impression as we left after an hour. A short meal, and not a place for a business discussion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shafrazanees, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Hope to see swim by soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food.. Horrible service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went with 10 family members. They.completely forgot two dished we ordered. By the time we got the 2 dishes everyone had finished eating. Then we ordered 3 larger bottle water and they gave only 4 glass for all the 10 to share. Manager was very apologetic about the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PuriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Manhattan Fish Market Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing