We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tsing Tao

Tsing Tao
Ranked #74 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Silk, Gunpowder, Printing and the Compass are among the great Chinese Inventions that have altered the course of history. But of all China’s contributions to modern civilization, the most popular is Chinese food, enjoyed in restaurants and homes in every nook and corner of the globe. The reason for the enduring worldwide popularity of Chinese food begins with the cornucopia of unique ingredients, plus subtle or emphatic sauces and seasonings that are partnered.Transforming this variety of ingredients into memorable works of culinary art is just what our Team of Chinese Chefs lead by Master Chef HUASHENG MO are best at. At TSING TAO every dish must meet three major criteria appearance, fragrance and flavor. The other considerations are texture, the health giving properties of the food and it’s auspicious connotations. This purpose in mind all our seafood, meat and vegetables, are purchased daily to ensure freshness and taste. Transformation and interplay of these basics when combined with different seasonings, allows for the endless variety at TSING TAO.Visit us once at TSING TAO and you are sure to be ADDICTED !!!
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food. Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner on the 22July and the ambience was great and it was nicely lit up and nice music. We were greeted promptly by our waitress JoMa or Jo who was a Filipino and was very efficient in taking our order and doing a silver service once the food arrived.
The food was heavenly and the portion size more than enough for all of my family.
Will definetely come here again for sure. Loved the whole dining experience been a hotelier myself i highly recommend this place. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank Athukumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at Tsing Tao, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from all of us @ TSING TAO !

Many thanks for your visit. Much appreciate your valuable comments. We digest your review with utmost pride and joy specially since you are a hotelier as mentioned in your comments. Thank you for the encouraging words and we work harder to maintain high standards in all aspects.

Look very much forward to be at your service and welcoming you and family again.

Warmest regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    58
    23
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Tsing Tao is one of the best authentic fine dining Chinese restaurants in Sri Lanka.
Great food and service. The best part is that they make you feel really important at their restaurant. Very good service.
There is live music at night which sets the mood and ambiance.
Beautiful interior.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at Tsing Tao, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from TSING TAO !

Many thanks for your visit. Much appreciate and value your comments.

Look very much forward to be at your service and welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

After hearing so much hype about the location and the food I finally got around to checking Tsing Tao out. Made a last minute reservation on a Monday for dinner, and I was told the restaurant is fully booked with a function happening on the first floor, where the view over the grounds is.
However we only saw a couple of other groups walk in during our meal there and majority of the tables were empty. We did have an early dinner and leave before 9 so maybe alot of diners decided to have a late monday that day.
The service was efficient, the food was a little disappointing considering all the raving reviews. I've had better Chinese food, specially from their affiliated restaurants. The only thing outstanding about this place is the price. A mixed rice, pork, cuttlefish and vege dish and drinks for 5 will set you back 10k.
The drinks were quite good, specially the long island. Had nothing to complain about but expected to be wowed by the taste and presentation of food, which was somewhat of a let down.
a little tip for the management: might want to check how well the cutlery is cleaned before kept on the tables.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at Tsing Tao, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings !

Thank you for visiting us. We value your comments. We have passed on the details to our Chefs etc for further action.

We would always let our Guests sit where they would like to as a normal practice. However, this may not be possible on days where occasionally an area is taken for a private function. Our apologies in this regard. The mezzanine floor with a view of the old race course has another entry from that floor as well hence the reason you may have not seen the majority of private function guests going up.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This one of the few Chinese restaurants in Sri Lanka with good ambiance.
Food is good but little expensive compared to other Chinese restaurants.
Service is excellent. Which actually makes you visit the place again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danushka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at Tsing Tao, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Tsing Tao !

Thank you for visiting us and also for the review. It was always the dream of the owner to have a 5 star class Chinese Restaurant in Colombo. As a result, Tsing Tao is a dream come true. We value your comments.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warmest regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chinese fine dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice place for authentic Chinese food. Great menu on food and drinks. Excellent service and fabulous food. Presented in the best manner. Live music makes dinning super and enjoyable. ... you should go there to experience it.

Helpful?
1 Thank aryaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOONTAO, General Manager at Tsing Tao, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the visit and review. Much appreciate the compliments. We are delighted to note same.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsing Tao also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Tsing Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing