We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Nest
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$179
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$128
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$124
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
$51
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lafala Hotel(Colombo)
$40
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
128
34
2
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
34
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuk tuk driverhome away from homesri lankalovely homestayindoor gardenwonderful hostsguest housecalm placethree wheeleran excellent place to staybig bathroomcomfortable staywonderful staystayed here for two nightskotteguesthousetaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 167 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just a wonderful warm home. Airy and minimalist. Tastefully furnished. Comfy rooms. Great food. And lovely hosts who just go out of their way in making you feel at home and cared for. They helped me out every step of the way with sincerity. It cannot get any better than this when you travel solo in a new place. I cannot sing enough praises for Anumi & Vipul, the owners of Palm Nest- a homey nest tucked minutes away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo. I had such a lovely, great experience with them that I left Palm Nest knowing that I will fly back there with them as friends. Thank you so so much. I will be back to see you, Anumi & Vipul. For others reading this, go stay there- alone or with your flock. I promise you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacaravaneishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomadesilva123, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Wow.. we were absolutely speechless after reading your review of Palm Nest. How wonderful to know that we have given you an amazing stay at Palm Nest and thank you so much for your wonderful comments with regard to our ambiance and service. We look forward to have you with us again really soon... Take care and safe travels... With love from Anomi & Vipul...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Colombo is the last sation in sri lanka of our 8-days trip,and palm nest is really imperssive for us. It is a nice homestay-guesthous ,clean, comfortable,and most of all ,the owner Anomi,she is SO nice to us,just treated us as her chinese daughters.We arrived at the hotel at night,and Anomi welcome us with nice traditonal ceylon black tea, she aslo guided us to the worderful view of the lake what really make us so excited.We have a good rest in this hotel ,just as stay at home ,the next ,we fight to KL,we miss her very much! Hope next time when we back to Srilank ,i can take my son to have a long stay here! HIghly recommened!!!

Room Tip: all the three rooms are great ,clean, and comfortable!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YANGJIN Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi.. Thanks you very much for your wonderful review... We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers as well. We look forward to meeting you again with your family very soon... Warm Regards...Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had 12 days of accommodation at Palm Nest and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Colombo. The room was very comfortable, clean and inviting. Each of the rooms are having it's own attached bathroom facilities with hot water.The common areas and the backyard are freely accessible for the visitors giving the feeling of a "home away from home" feeling. I absolutely enjoyed the garden benches under the nice shade of a beautiful tree in the backyard, which was my favorite reading place when I was not out and about. I was pleasantly surprised to find Palm Nest was mostly free from Mosquitoes which immediately enhanced my travel experience. The amenities were excellent. Anomi is a great cook, her delicious breakfast was the highlight of my stay at Pam Nest. Both Anomi and Vipul as hosts, very welcoming and
helped me with places to visit and see around Colombo. They also arranged transport during my stay at affordable price with reliable drivers. Palm Nest is conveniently situated close
to the city but in a quiet and exclusive neighborhood. I really enjoyed my stay at Palm nest. Thank you Anomi and Vipul

Room Tip: Loved the annex apartment style room at the back with it's own separate entrance. Comes in handy if you are planning of having few really late night outs :-)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thusitha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Thusitha.,

Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in Colombo and for taking your time for your wonderful review on tripadvisor and for appreciating our services and hospitality. We are looking forward to have you again with us in the future... Warm regards..Anomi & Vipul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

During the first days of our current trip we stayed at Palm Nest hotel. It is a nice homestay-guesthouse just outside Colombo, in a wonderful house.

The owners are friendly, help you find your way around the city, and they are wonderful hosts. The rooms are spacious and clean.

The only downside of the hotel is that the walls within the bathroom don't go up to the ceiling, so your bahtroom-visit can be a shared joy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHarveyOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi,, Thank you very much for choosing Palm Nest for your accommodation in colombo and for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor..We have gone through the shortcoming you highlighted and taken the necessary precautions. Will see you again in Sri Lanka in the near future... Warm Regards... Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Anomi & Vipul gave us a very memorable stay at Palm Nest. Anomi served delicious breakfast for a very reasonable price of 5 dollars which was cooked very hygienically so we didn't have to worry about any tummy bugs
Travelling was not a problem since Anomi & Vipul arranged tuk tuk from their door step. She advice the driver about the charges so that we don't get ripped off
The room, bathroom, floor area and linen were very clean
The room and the living areas in the house were naturally cooling and we had a relaxing sleep
The rooms are spacious
The location is convenient for all travel sites, restaurants and shops
All areas are bugs free
The house is in a quite, peaceful, clean and secured residential street
The Host's service is excellent
There is small beautifully landscaped garden to sit and relax
It is worth for money considering the service, location cleanliness and the hygiene
Definitely My next stay in Colombo would be Palm Nest again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Ana..

Thank you so much for taking time to write a wonderful review about your stay at Palm Nest and what a pleasure it is to note that your experience has been fantastic and memorable and has made you want to return to us on your next visit to Sri Lanka.. Your review will definitely helpful for other travellers as well. See you again soon... Warm regards - Anomi & Vipul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews