We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm nest”
Review of Palm Nest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Nest
Ranked #10 of 150 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I want to thank Anomi and her Husband for their kindness. We spend unfortunately just one night in their beautiful and lovely House. It was just the perfect place to relax after a night in air and before our trip in Sri Lanka and it was just the perfect Hosts ! They gave us very precious informations about their country. We had a very good time with them, and it was a pleasure to speak, to laugh with them. We had a delicious dinner too.... We 'll come back in Sri Lanka, we 'll come back by them. I really hope so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hi Laura, We would have loved it if you stayed longer and did miss you when you left. You were so interesting to talk to. Also we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers as well. Thanks for your nice review. See you again soon. Warm Regards - Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Palm Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the moment you arrive, the friendly hosts of this place go out make you feel welcome. You get great food, conversation and even advice on things to do in your trip in Sri Lanka and how to do them. The building itself is a unique open and modern design. Rooms are comfortable. The location is quiet and set in the hills a bit so there is often a nice breeze to break the Colombo heat. All in all its a great place to spend a few days in Colombo.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hi Cris, Thanks for your positive feedback and recommending our place to other travellers as well.
It was so nice to meet you.. Stay safe on your travels. Hope to see you again. Best Regards - Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have to say that, it was a delightful surprise for us to come across palm nest during our trip to Sri Lanka. Given that this was our first time we opted for home stay, Anomi & Vipuls hospitality exceeded our expectations so much so that even weeks after we are back home, we can't help but miss the warmth of our hosts.

Loved the vibe & the place
Choose palm nest for a welcoming Sri Lankan experience.


Love
Risha & Mama

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themujermaravilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Risha - We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommending our place to other travellers we well. Thank you for your Yoga lessons which I am trying to learn little by little whenever possible. Also big thank you for the nice review. Please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

By far the best stay in Sri Lanka. Located in a Quiet peaceful neighborhood. 15mins ride to Lanka Hospital (if your planning to go for medical there). Received a warm welcome by the most pleasant hosts Anomi and Vipul. Both made our stay very pleasant. Clean comfortable and well maintained house with nice rooms. Still miss the tastes of the food served by Anomi. And will definitely visit again ((-:

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nihii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Nihi & Risha, Its nice to hear good comments about my Place & food. Thank you so much. We also enjoyed your company very much. You are always warmly welcome back. Please keep in touch - Best Regards - Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

this place is highly recommendable if your like to experience a peaceful hideaway from busy colombo.situated in a leafy suburb just a few kilometers from the city the most lovely hosts vipul and anomi will welcome you in their beautiful private home in Kotte. The rooms are beautiful, airy and clean.vipul and anomi are always there for your assistance-a priceless experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Liz.., Thanks for your positive feedback. We enjoyed your company very much. Please keep in touch... Best Regards... Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

this was the most wonderful place i'd ever stayed through out my many travels to Srilanka......
from the time of arrival the welcome to all events during the stay was just fantastic......i really admired the beauty of the place...environment....location to all...its just awesome.....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eym T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

It was lovely having you stay with us.. Please do come again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at Palm Nest for two days. The room was quiet big and with indoor garden space which architectonically designed. I was so pleased to stay in that room.
Fresh air, clean beds, big bathroom was worth for the money.
Nice garden give you more time to spend your evening with a hot Ceylon tea after a exhausted day of travel.
House owners are very kind and give you all the helps and kind hospitality during your stay. Reasonable price and I will recommend any one to stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thara-kodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anomi_desilva, Owner at Palm Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Tara, Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It was lovely having you stay with us. Please do come again. Regards - Anomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
3.8 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#27 of 54 in Colombo
262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 150 in Colombo
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#4 of 150 in Colombo
395 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#3 of 150 in Colombo
100 reviews
5.7 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#4 of 150 in Colombo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Nest

Address: No. 237/9B, Vijaya Mawatha | Rajamaha Vihara Road, Pita Kotte, Colombo 01100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $27 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Nest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an approved BnB and Homestay accommodation provider by the Tourism Development Authority of Sri Lanka under "Superior" category. Licence No. HSU/2013/0023 & Registration No. SLTDA/SQA/HSU/0363Owned and managed by a couple who worked as banking professionals.This is a modern newly built house, 8 km away from Central Colombo located in Administrative capital in Sri Lanka, which gives a a calm and quiet environment and a lot of attractions of exotic birds and the occasional Monkeys who cross overClose distance to Banks, Hospitals, Supermarkets, Restaurants (Thai, Chinese, Indian, KFC, Pizza Hut, Dominos, Mc Donald) and coffee shops, ODEL (Premium fashion store) and other shopping complexes, Ancient temples and churches and also the Parliament Complex and Ferry rides in the Diyawanna Lake.This guest house offers 03 specious, very clean Double Rooms with attached bath. All rooms are featuring Tiled Floor, hot and cold water, Double Beds, Ceiling Fans, Dressing Table, Wardrobe, writing table, chairs, Mosquito Nets, Chairs. Also a large common sitting area and a specious TV Lounge that can be used by all guests. Towels and bed linen is provided and changed on regular basis. Room Rate includes the regular room cleaning and bills.We ensure that all your needs are undertaken and provide you a friendly, caring and secure atmosphere, to make your stay a nice and memorable one. Free advices and guidance on your tour.. Arranging tours according to your budget on your request.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing