We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spread The Word”
Review of Cup Cafe - CLOSED

Cup Cafe
Price range: $1 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cup Cafe, a chic coffee boutique in town. Awarded Certificate of Excellent for Two consecutive years, will add a spark to your mood as you savour a rich cup of coffee. Our coffee, made from quality Arabica beans, is brewed to delight your palate and tantalize your taste buds. Our courteous and friendly staff is the reason that we are known as the cafe that serves coffee with love.
Sharjah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spread The Word”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cup Cafe is a must if you are shopping at Odel. It is across the road in an understated store, but it was a pleasant surprise. It can be hard to find good coffee while traveling. Coffee and food was great, we told them the coffee could be a bit hotter and the second time we went there they had taken that on board. it was a great place to chill and know that the coffee and the food was not going to disappoint. Attentive and courteous service, well done to you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
243 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Death by Chocolate Cake”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved the death by chocolate cake. By far the best I have had in colombo. The Chinese roll was ok and so was the coffee. The shortbread was dissapointing. It was too hard and didn't taste like shortbread. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Will definitely go and try the sandwiches which looked tempting. Must add that prices were reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOWW!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Coffee was great but the Death by Chocolate cake was seriously to die for!! OMG!
Nice place, friendly staff. I read here on tripadvisor they have good internet, however, when we were there the connection was extremely slow. But oh well, we went for the coffee and cake not for the internet :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TMPeters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee in the country”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I went to Cup Cafe in search of a decent cup of coffee and a quiet place to sit and read. It certainly did not disappoint! The manager on duty was very friendly and made many suggestions. The cafe is neat and tidy with plenty of room to sit and read. Patrons were in and out quickly but I never felt rushed. I tried the tandoori chicken sandwich (which was very good) and an iced coffee which was hands down, the best I've ever had in any country.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good coffee and sandwiches, great lava cake!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had lunch at Cup Cafe a few days ago. Their Americanos and lattes are some of the best in Colombo at the moment. (Getting good coffee in Colombo is still a rarity!)

Their food menu is reasonably limited, but we were looking for just a light lunch. Their toasted cheese and tomato sandwiches were tasty but I would have preferred a bit more cheese. Their lava cake was chocolaty, warm and fabulous, and I would go back just for that!!

The food arrived quickly and the wait staff were helpful and friendly.

The blue and silver decor of the cafe is somewhat suburban. The booths were comfortable and cozy and the toilets were clean. There"s also a large garden seating area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cup Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing