We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
Ranked #6 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The last years I travelled 2 or 3 times a year to Sri Lanka. I stayed at this hotel for my last night in Colombo before I left Sri Lanka in April 2013.
A hidden calm place with only a few rooms not far to all the places of interest and shopping.
If you are looking for a modern designed clean room/bathroom, nice terrace with swimming pool and an excellent service so you have to go there!
Usually they prepare a European Breakfast - I ordered a Sri Lankan - it was no problem at all though it was Buddhist's New Years day.
I enjoyed everything, was really satisfied and will definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This really is a little gem in Colombo. The hotel is a short tuk-tuk ride from the centre and very convenient for everything. We only stayed one night as we were flying home the next day, but the room was comfortable and clean with a large bathroom. The staff were really helpful and gave us some good tips on where to go in Colombo to get a feel for the city and a great place for dinner. The outside terraces are lovely and perfect for catching a few last minute rays before heading to the airport. The breakfast was also excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandsworthit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was booked for my last day in Colombo before my late night departure flight.

Very friendly welcome by the staff and manager.

Was booked for their Discovery room but was upgraded to the Classic Room (also on first level). While checking out the well-appointed room (see photos), realised the sliding fill-sized glass panels at the side don't lock properly. I was fiddling with it when the manager and the chef suddenly appeared from outside wondering what I was doing. I believe they wanted to discuss dinner with me (you can either choose from the set menu or get the chef to customise something for you). They verified that the lock has issues and immediately offered their 2nd level Classic Room to me. So onto Level 2 we went.

Wow, what a difference, be it size, design, furnishing, or ambience! Definitely bigger and more cosy and comfy! (See photos) The bathroom is hidden behind one of the full-sized wardrobe doors. Everything seems to be included: aircon, ceiling fan, LCD TV, side table, free wifi...

There's a small pool on the 2nd level and a bigger pool on the first floor.

Dinner was nicely done and ready at my requested time.

Had a comfortable sleep before waking up for my flight out.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nuria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeilaoVillas, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones junto a la piscina son las mejores
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lofitinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeilaoVillas, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank luciomontanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeilaoVillas, Public Relations Manager at Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
2.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.5 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 151 in Colombo
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas

Address: 47/1, Jawatte Road | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $70 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fusion of minimalist design with vibrant and exotic features, this modern day boutique hotel offers you a blank canvas to paint your own, unique experience. Located in the very heart of Colombo, this 6-bedroom hotel provides an escape to a tranquil and peaceful environment that invites you to indulge in all that is refreshing and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colombo Hotel by Ceilao Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing