We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

The property is nicely refurbished, luxury in the heart of Colombo.... Nice rooms, friendly staff, good swimming pool, branded toiletries The sky terrace is a nice spot. Great view of the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana8207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Diana8207,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel is situated beach side and has newly renovated rooms that are a delight. Rooms overlook two different views. One view is of the city and the beach while the other is of the beach and of the port. Some of the corner suites have both these views and I do recommend that you stay in the suite. Generally the rooms size must be close to about 350 square feet but the suite is much bigger and should be around 550 square feet.
The food at the hotel is excellent. The breakfast is diverse with a egg station, a fantastic sausage and bacon station, Indian breakfast items like idli, medhu wada, dosa, and they also serve the traditional Sri Lankan breakfast. Overall a fantastic spread. The only problem is that they should have at least two egg stations instead of one. The reason is that you cannot give your order and go and sit down waiting for them to get it. You have to stand in the line here to get it and the line gets pretty lengthy at time.
The ground floor reception, the pool, the skybar, the bathrooms, everything in this hotel including the buffet is really good. What this hotel lacks is service! They have absolutely NO CONCEPT of good service. Three hotels are coming up just next to the Kingsbury- The Grand Hyatt, The Shangrila,and the ITC Grand Maratha. I think there are also plans for another Hilton to come up there. Already existing are the Hilton and the Taj Samudra among the good hotels near the Kingsbury. With this level of competition, the Kingsbury cannot afford this level of service. They need a CEO for the hotel who has taken care of a five star hotel of excellent repute as far as service goes.
Overall, even with everything being so good, because of the terrible service, I am giving it a two out of five.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here and can afford it, I recommend a suite. But be prepared for very bad servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jatintar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear jatintar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I have noted your comment on the poor service, however, it is subjective as your have not specified what actually did go wrong with the service. You have gone into all detail about the hotel facilities (and thank you for your nice comments).

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Me and my wife have been a regular at Skylounge at the Kingsbury Colombo . The location and the atmosphere are really outstanding hats off to the management of Kingsbury to have come up with this wonderful idea. We have been visiting this place for the past 6 months on and off the staff is very friendly and the service is excellent.

The recent change in the band has totally dampened the atmosphere the music is very jarring and very monotonous the previous concept you all had of lounge music with a DJ was excellent.. As a regular and a well wisher of sky lounge i advice them to better do something about this lots of my friends too have conveyed their views on this so i just wanted to highlight at this forum.

You have a amazing place guys lets not spoil it with some bad music. .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gayani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at the kingsbury from 24th Aug to the 28 Aug. I was traveliing with a group
of 10 guys. The holiday planned was just for relaxing and fun and that is what we had.
We arrived very early in the morning at 8, however the Hotel was kind enough
to give us couple of rooms which were ready as an early check in, and managed
to give all rooms by 9.30. The front desk staff is very co-operative. The bell desk
and the guys on the doors are also very friendly. I would give a 5 star to the front desk,
lobbly and the staff at the gates.

This hotel is a great place to relax, very comfortable rooms, excellet bathrooms, with right
amount of pressure in the water, with all standard ammenites in the room / bathroom.

The pool is good and big enough for a nice swim. However the infinity look is
gone due to the rocks being kept across the road. The pool bar is nice.

Breakfast buffet is great with lots of items on it, so everybody has something or the other
to eat.

The only negative part of the hotel is the service. Though is staff is friendly, but the
timings for execution of a request is very poor, especially room service. Even a request
for extra bottles of water took atleast 20 mins.

We did not eat food in any of the Hotel Restaurants so I cannot commet on it.
The hotel is just 2 mins walk from the Dutch hospital, where you can eat at various joints.

They also have a Sky Bar, and I loved to sit there in the evening for drinks with music.
A must visit place if you are at the Kingsbury.

The hotel has facility for a free drop at the Casino, which is good.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on 5th Floor or above, on the side overlooking the pool and the sea for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zaheer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Zaheer87,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise. I apologize for the room service delay, I have taken it up with my Director of Food & Beverage.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I've planned to stay at this hotel on my visit to Sri Lanka,because this has been re-branded and reviews looks great, made the call around 10.48 am on 28/08 local time to book a suite, the girl in the reservation desk quoted $300 per night, because I've done some research found the price on bookings.com and hotel website cheaper than the reservation desk quote, so I've told it to the agent and she said then I can do the booking online, she sounds rude and didn't even had the courtesy to say "sorry we cant offer that rate" I was so disappointed how the reservation desk handled my query, I've called back and made a complaint to the manager at reservations desk, the gentleman apologized for the incident, my questions was the the hotel's own website publishing discounted rates for rooms and reservation staff isn't aware of what's happening at their own backyard, poor communication rude staff member spoiled my planned stay at the Kingsbury even the manager reservation offered me the hotel web site rates

Room Tip: my booking was cancelled so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Teddyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear teddyperth,

Thank you for your review even though you cancelled your booking at The Kingsbury Hotel. I am not certain about the issue as it appears a bit vague to me as the reservation was not made to begin with, rather an inquiry.

Nevertheless, I do apologize if you found the agent to be rude in her answer.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel. Excellent views and great location. The staff are very well trained in customer service and were attentive at all times but not over bearing. The breakfast buffet has pretty much anything you could think of and is good quality. The roof top bar has excellent views and needs at least one visit. The only disappointment was my daughter - who was in a different room on a higher floor - was kept awake by the music. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Alan C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Corporate events are a regular feature in Colombo. Ideal locations are a few. Not just the final impact, the process leading upto it requires a lot of attention. And the support from the hotel is important in this

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusitha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Tusitha k,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to "the place for events," much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,092 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $156 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing