We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was in bussiness trip on ocober 2013 .. Every thing was fabulous ,
Reception,,the room ,Hotel restaurent,Location,Looby,Staff,Room service, And if i will have another visit to colombo , sure i will chose it again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuwaiteiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Kuwaiteiah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    585
    205
    87
    83
See reviews for
345
483
81
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We state at the the Kingsbury for one night and we were impressed. The hotel is right on the beach and offers a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of the Colombo streets.

The staff were very attentive and the rooms were large and comfortable, with all the usual trappings of a 5 star hotel. We had a view of the beach and sunset, which was nice. The hotel had a good selection of food choices, ranging from in-house restaurants to buffets, with prices sitting a little above the standard for the area. You are also close to the "Old Dutch Hospital" precinct, which has more restaurants including the well know "Ministry of Crab".

The only downside is that there isn't too much else to see in the area and the beach isn't really accessible for swimming or even walking. So expect to grab a tuk tuk or car if you want to explore the city.

The rooftop bar is a great place for a cocktail to watch the sunset, although the cocktail and wine lists are quite limited.

If you are looking for a great hotel with great service and views, this could well be your spot.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the water and avoid the high floors on the weekend, as there is a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Jason H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us an excellent rating and praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I went this place to my Cousin brother wedding ceremony, Food is excellent, the staff is well trained, the Hotel was facing to Galle face & middle of Colombo city, swimming pool & restaurant facing to the Indian ocean, but this day some construction going on in Colombo Huber then little difficult enjoy the view of the ocean

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Anushke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice comments about the food and the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Modern hotel, quite elegant but at the sae time you wont find the warmth. Rooms are ok, i would recommend room on a high floor facing the sea. Dutch hospital area is just outside the hotel, which is a happening place with good sea food dining options with live music, also some shops in that area. Overall good hotel in a nice location

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Nasim1975,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I like the room's style an the stuff are fantastic. However the managers who work at the Sky Lounge could be rude and I honestly don't get the point of not been allowed to wear shorts and sandals in the open roof bar when it's hot even at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Omar A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I have noted your comment about the dress code at the open air Sky Lounge, valid point. This dress code has since been changed to allow shorts/sandals.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

They apply (almost) international prices but quality, unfortunately, does not follow. Speaking about rooms, what they call a suite is just a big room with a sofa and two armchairs. Forget about separated living room....
Do not get fooled by pictures from their website: from the pool, you have a fantastic view onto a big pile of grey rocks that totally blocks any view you might want to have of the sea, from the "sea view corner suite" as they call it you have unabashed views over concrete platforms overlooking an industrial area. Let's not speak about decoration made out of cheap furniture.
Add to that the fact today they are hosting two big weddings, most of the restaurants are off limit, the noise level in the lobby is unbelievable, with only two elevators at hand, you have no solution other than taking the stairs. All in all, It is a sheer nightmare. Ah, I forgot to mention that all around work is in progress in surrounding building developments so, if you are keen onto drilling, hammering, etc noises, you might enjoy the pool area.
Reception desk is crowded at all times (not by staff!) and any basic enquiry takes ages.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Andyougo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am rather surprised to see your comments on the view from the corner suite, it has the best ocean views. Yes there is on-going land reclamation on a section of the ocean but it does not obstruct the views of the ocean. It's a busy hotel with functions which is a good thing for business, I am sorry that you did not like crowds in the lobby.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Yes...its feel like you are living in a palace...it is one of the finest hotels and according to me is a complete value for money...The location is perfect and nothing better than a room facing the ocean..The Sky Bar on roof top is superb...I celebrated my anniversary at sky bar and it left a ever lasting memory...

Good Experience
1. Property is like a palace..Rooms are very spacious and good.Go for sea facing room..
2. Sky Bar on roof top...must visit..

Bad Experience
1. Veg food is not at all good..

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj-Ranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Anuj-Ranka,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay at The Kingsbury Hotel, much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us such high praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should your travels do bring you back to Colombo.

Kind regards,

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing