We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant start to a Sri Lankan holiday”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a pleasant 2 night stay at the kingsbury. It is well located right on the water, a short walk to the Galle Face Walk. The buffet breakfast included in the tariff offered a variety of Western and Sri Lankan breakfast items. The staff were attentive and except for entering and leaving my room, I did not open a door for myself; a staff member was always on hand to take on that burden. The pool area is relaxing, especially while watching the sunset. As mentioned in an earlier review, the area next to the hotel, near the pool, is under construction but that is a minor detraction from an otherwise relaxing area. My only suggestion for improvement would be more supervision of swimmers in the pool by hotel staff. Not all parents monitor their children in the pool nor may they be capable of rendering assistance should their child experience difficulty in the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piecost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, General Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Kingsbury!

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at The Kingsbury. We are truly happy that you have been satisfied in terms of your experience, our service, food and that you have enjoyed yourself whilst with us.

We have noted your concerns with regard to the pool, and agree that it is a vital part of your stay. We assure you that on your next visit with us, we will certainly make the same available for your enjoyment and relaxation.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Kingsbury.

Warm regards,

Sunil Dissanayake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel and unfortunately it did not turn out very well.

The upgrade which was the reason we booked this hotel was not offered, checkin was very slow, staff were not at all friendly, and when I spoke to a manager about this she did not seem particularly interested.

This hotel says it is five stars however in my opinion more like barely 3. The elevators are also very crowded with non-residents as there is a rooftop bar that not only crowds the elevators and has people who seem to have a lot to drink wandering around but also has loud music that will keep you up until at least midnight every night (it is very loud with a band and a dj).

The roof top lounge is beautiful however on the day I was there the staff were very slow (even with 12 servers working it took 25 minutes just to get a menu) and then due to an error the checkin made they told me I would have to pay cash and not sign to my room and treated me almost as a thief. When I complained to the manager he did not even care.

Do not stay here this hotel is really very poor for service and rooms are tiny.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the pool and the extremely loud rooftop bar which plays music very late every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel its self is beautiful the rooms a very small we had to get a Premium Room to have enough space for us with the two little ones. Buffet breakfast was great pool is beautiful however it does look out onto a construction site across the road and next door to the hotel. The biggest problem we had here was the communication problem with the staff the do not seem to understand English very well which became very annoying. We also found the Chinese restaurant down stairs to be very overpriced and did not enjoy the food we sent back a chicken dish because it was stone cold from the fridge and instead of cooking us a fresh dish they just reheated the same chicken .

Room Tip: Do not go smaller than a Premium Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We just loved every minute of this gorgeous hotel / beds, breakfasts & gorgeous afternoon for v reasonable prices :)) in a lovely area & just beside Dutch hospital area full of lovely places to eat - the staff were super friendly & helpful & the hotel had a good buzz about it :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangorfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived on an overnight flight from London to check into our pre-booked suite. I was asked to take the room key of a Mr Francois Chitewel (even though my name is Mrs Joanna Francis), and assured it was a simple spelling mistake. Well, we felt sorry for Mr Chitewel as his room looked out onto a concrete roof, had a door that wouldn't close and badly chipped furniture. On complaining it took 4 members of staff to work out I wasn't Mr Chitewel and to find us our suite. On entering the room (which did have a nice coastal view) the first thing we could hear was thumping loud music. On questionning (which took 4 calls to speak to someone who could help us) we were told it was a party that would finish by midnight - given we had just got off a long haul flight we were not at all satisfied with that. So onto our 3rd room, a suite on a lower floor, and finally 2 hours after getting to the hotel we were finally checked in. We also got a unrequested 5am wake up call! Great! Utterly classless hotel with a quantity over quality approach to staffing. A horrible introduction to a country we fell in love with over the next 2 weeks. AVOID.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JLFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We took our family and friends to the Kingsbury for high tea on a Sunday after our wedding reception. I was fairly disappointed in the quality of the buffet - we spent more time standing in line than eating and the options were quite dry - the food didn't seem fresh. I was expecting a lot since I was last there for my cousin's wedding and the food was good. I think given the style of high tea - not a set menu, the hotel cuts cost by serving mediocre food given that people just eat and eat. I was only happy with the iced coffee and the ice cream flavours which were amazing.

I have been to high tea at the Galle Face hotel and The Galadari both of which were much better for the price I was paying.

Kingsbury has an AMAZING view from their high tea room so I would expect that the food should match the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SZavahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Although the quality of rooms, food and location of this hotel are great, they need to do slightly better on the room service front, given the value charged to the guests. Apart from that minor issue, the stay was otherwise pleasant

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $139 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing