We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Seems a nice hotel at check-in, and looks great online. Fact is that the rooms are average, not very big at all. Two lifts for the size of this hotel means a waiting ages sometimes. Pool is ok but not enough deck chairs for the number of guests. Limited space

Service is just ok, nothing great. At check-in we requested a room with a view and were given one over the pool, great. What the clerk neglected to tell us was, that night there was a pool party with disco until midnight.

Asked for taxi to a local restaurant and they gave us a hotel car. When we asked the driver, Edward, 'how much' (there was no meter), he replied "3", I asked 300 Sri Lanka Rupees, he chuckled, and I had to then insist to get a price from a hotel driver!? I had he stop the car and out we got.

The next morning I recounted both situations to the duty manager and she said she would look into it. When we arrived pack to the hotel there was a bottle of wine in the room with no note or message. I assume it is an apology, but perhaps will be added to the bill?? Great lack of communication.

Will not ever stay here again. There are many other quality hotels close by and more opening soon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyle-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    594
    211
    89
    84
See reviews for
355
492
86
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colombo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

It was nice evening event with dinner. Hotel was nicely decorated for the Christmas this year. Staff are very friendly and warmly welcomed. Food variations are not much attractive, but given menu was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Good selection and variety of food items to chose from .. for the price range of about $30 it is a good place for a lunch meeting with office mates and friends .. atmosphere is nice as you can sea the sea and the peer that is built outside Colombo harbor..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My room was big, clean and had a great bathroom. It is brand new (however a light switch in the toilet was jammed so the bathroom was a bit dull).
TV, minibar, coffee & tea. A lounge on the 9th floor or the ground floor restaurant area.
I saw the pool (large and with a view of the sea) but did not get into it.
The dining area was great as was the buffet breakfast. It is set on the northern tip of Galle next to the presidential offices.

Room Tip: My room was on the 7th floor and the view was great. Silent despite the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in december 2013. The hotel staff are great, cant do enough for you, a little bit slow in service sometimes. chefs were fantastic, great food in the ground floor resturant, so much variety at the buffet. the skybar hosts some great views for a chill out drink.
The rooms are a decent size, at first we were located on the 2nd floor which turns out to be the smoking floor. the room had the lingering smell of stale smoke. we changed and the next room was very decent, clean and view over looking the pool.
which brings me to the hotels downfall. The infiniti pool over looks the ocean however between that n the pool it seems someone thought it was a good idea to build a road and reclaim land infront of that. with the constand noise from the trucks dumping the rocks and the fact you now overlook a waste site its not so aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casual_carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had our wedding on December @ this hotel. The location is very nice. Food was great. But the service is very poor for a 5 star hotel. One steward accidentally split a welcome drink on one of my guest ruined her saree. The staff didn't even apologized. Even we had to carry our luggage from changing room to our other room.

Room Tip: 1. If your staying please make sure you check the mini bar in front of hotel staff. 2. Pay by car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darshana3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is newly renovated in a very classical modern style..
all rooms has a free WiFi. the breakfast is good with lunch and dinner buffet.
The swimming pool is nice but lacks privacy from people crossing the road.
The lobby is quite tight,

Room Tip: Get a sea view room to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taldebsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing