We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super rooms, great views”
Review of The Kingsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kingsbury
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super rooms, great views”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I think this hotel has the best views of the Indian ocean in Colombo. The beds are comfortable, corner suites are just greatttt !! The rooms are well furnished, tea coffee making machines a welcome treat !

Restaurant service is a bit slow - but food tasty.

The hotel is still being make - so please do keep an open mind...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We'd also like to invite you to indulge in a delectable array of cuisines at our Sunday Brunches at the 'Harbour Court' and 'The Ocean'.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    602
    212
    91
    85
See reviews for
362
495
86
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Made a trip to Harbour Court Restaurant for the buffet lunch on a gorgeous day in Colombo. It was my first visit to the newly renovated hotel. It's evident that construction is not finished with work being carried out near the swimming pool, and also only a few floors are in actual operation for hotel accommodation. I quite liked the major renovations to the hotel. It now makes better use of the expansive views of the Indian Ocean, incorporating more floor to ceiling glass windows, and the decor provides a clean, spacious, modern and uplifting feel to the hotel.

When you enter the hotel you face the reception or check-in. To locate the Harbour Court Restaurant you take a right and walk down the lobby area and then take a left. You will see the restaurant at the end of the hall with the entrance to the right (as opposed to directly in front of you), which I thought was a little odd. But, no biggie.

We hadn't booked, but we found that we could be easily accommodated. As we hadn't booked we didn't manage to score a window seat overlooking the ocean (tip - book ahead if you want that special table), but I was happy enough with where we were seated. I loved the natural light coming into the restaurant from the floor to ceiling windows and the glimpses of blue water. Very relaxing. The restaurant was a third full when we arrived and increased to around half the restaurant's capacity while we were there (note - the restaurant can seat up to 160). I noticed quite a few business people taking lunch and it seemed they were doing business or walking around passing business cards. It didn't bother me, but its good to know what to expect.

The buffet has the usual soup station, cold food stations, pasta station, hot food and grill stations, and dessert station. I sampled a bit of everything and was impressed with the quality of the food in general. There was a good variety of choices and the srilankan style salads and cooked curries were delicious. I really enjoyed the brinjal salad, bitter gourd salad, mutton curry and bean curry. When you visit you should definitely try the chilli crab. A lot of people were enjoying it. I thought it was nice, but I felt it could have been cooked a little more to get a more smokey (maybe even slightly burnt) flavor. The grill station was a bit of a novelty with a selection of marinated raw meats (lamb, chicken, skewered kebabs etc) and seafood (seerfish, tuna, cuttle fish etc). The idea is to take a small plate and pick what you would like grilled and pass it to the chef. You can saunter around and pick other hot foods while it is being cooked, and return to pick it up. There was also a good selection of more mainstream dishes and I found the quality to be good as well. Dessert had a scrumptious selection of sweet treats ranging from an assortment of cakes, tarts, jelly, hot dessert, icecream, crepe station, and other treats. Coffee and tea is included with the lunch buffet, which comes to about Rs 2,200 per person (including taxes and charges)

Service is amazing. I have to share our experience because it was surprisingly attentive and friendly (but without being stalkerish or intrusive). The main thing is we felt genuinely welcome by the staff. They were friendly, efficient, well-spoken and at times you didn't notice them quietly attending to your plates, cutlery, water and napkin. There were a couple of instances where some of us had swapped seats and one of the waiters (I think his name might have been Ruwan) picked up on it and seamlessly attended to swapping the cutlery and drinks accordingly. Most places I've visited for lunch in Colombo rarely pick up on things like this. In addition, we found chef Jayasinghe delightful. He was really good with people, and noticed if you couldn't find something around the buffet area or asked if you'd like something freshly cooked if it was on offer. He was readily offering chilli crab and getting it brought to your table. I also had a lovely conversation with the grill chef (his name was either Hansika or Hanishka) about the grill station and the kitchen operation at Harbour Court. Young, friendly and open.

The only suggestion I would have is in relation to the placement of the buffet arrangement areas. It is all kind of lined up against a wall so it only enables guests to single-file access the food. This can lead to congestion when the restaurant is busy. Maybe some creative ideas can improve the way the buffet is set up so this can be smoother and to improve the flow of traffic.

I would recommend a visit to Harbour Court Restaurant. I certainly will be back (fingers crossed the service remains at a high standard).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a wonderful review on our hotel.

We greatly appreciate your feedback.

We would also like to invite you our Sunday Oyster Brunch at the Harbour Court or The Ocean Brunch at 'The Ocean' our seafood restaurant.

Come by and indulge in a delectable spread for just 2,650 /-.

That's not all if you want an amazing deal on your food and beverage at our lobby bar 'The Kings' you could come between 5-8pm for Royal Flush and get upto 50% off your total bill.

Feel free to get in touch with us for these amazing deals and promotions on 0112421221

We most certainly would like to have you back at our hotel.

Thanks again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

we just had a Lunch in Kingsbury Hotel, the hotel is awesome, its like a resort in Colombo. compering with other Colombo 5* Hotels, the Kingsbury Hotel is very nice place to be. its very clean and pretty place. the food are excellent! really nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilakshika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Nilakshika,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you very much for a wonderful review.

We would like to invite you for the most lavish brunch in town, our Sunday Oyster Brunch between 11.30am - 3pm or our Seafood Brunch at 'The Ocean'.

You could also dine at our Chinese restaurant for a delectable culinary journey with Cantonese & Schezuan cuisines at Ye Chuan.

We would be delighted to have you back at The Kingsbury.

Thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Checked into the Kingsbury after a disappointing stay at the Grand Cinnamon hotel Columbo

This hotel was the former Ceylon Continental and is now under a complete restoration bringing it to a true 5 star hotel

Only three or four top floors are open at the moment with the spa and pool shortly being completed.

The service, food and overall high levels of customer service were all exceptional

Don't over look this hotel it's ideal for business and when the leisure facilities are completed it will also make a superb tourist hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Monty,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

We greatly appreciate those encouraging words about our hotel.

We would most certainly like to have you back.

Do contact us for any requests or suggestions on 0112421221.

Thanks again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel .The coffee shop was busy ,almost every single table was occupied .I guess everyone patronizing the place was checking this place out.

Hats off to the Kingsbury team for transforming the hotel to what it is today, Well done guys !
The food was just great with lots of action stations . The service was pretty good . I ma sure they will now give the other hotels a good run for their money . I didnt like the red coloured chairs at the Bar lounge .
My Very Best Wishes Guys .
Bazeer Uvais

Room Tip: Fantastic location, perhaps the best in Colombo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr.Bazeer,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us.

We would also like to invite you to indulge a lavish Sunday Oyster Brunch at the Harbour Court or the Seafood Brunch at The Ocean.

And If you haven't tried out our lobby bar 'The Kings' feel welcome to do so, and partake in an amazing deal called 'Royal Flush' where we will add on a 10% discount for each lady to a maximum of 50% off on the bill every evening between 5pm - 8pm.

Our goal at The Kingsbury is to ensure your requests will be taken care of and your needs anticipated with a discreet, professional style of service from the moment you arrive.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Absolutely love the hotel and its new facelift, service is great, very friendly and welcoming. The food at the Harbour Court was amazing, especially the diverse spread and the guys that run the bar are brilliant. Can do nothing but recommend The Kingsbury......worth every penny...All the best guys !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for a great review on our hotel and its restaurants.

We will be delighted to welcome you back when you return to the island.

Our hotel is committed to making sure your stay is as smooth and relaxed as possible, from when you arrive to when you depart.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel looks fab from the outside creating very high expectations. However the small lobby area and the restaurants make the place look very overcrowded. The circular pillar salt aquarium looks fab and well fitting into the theme of a sea side hotel.
The lunch buffet sadly is average. The large variety of salads and dessert hardly makes up for the extremely poor selection of the main course. I guess it is a good idea to have action stations and a chef to prepare food to your liking but however this is insanity for a lunch buffet , especially when there is a large crowd . After all you dont come to spend the whole day at the lunch buffet. The chefs are pleasent and helpfull but this does not make up for not getting the dish you ordered. There was a large crowd and the chef told me he will send me my order to the table but it NEVER came.

Overall staff are hrlpfull and try there best but need a lot more practise to sound genuine. I would probably not visit a second time for the lunch buffet as its not value for money. After all did not pay so mucn to eat salad and dessert!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburylk, Public Relations Manager at The Kingsbury, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nigel,

Greetings from The Kingsbury !

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.9 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
2,020 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingsbury

Property: The Kingsbury
Address: 48 Janadhipathi Mawatha | Colombo 1, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kingsbury 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsbury Colombo, located in the heart of Colombo city by the banks of the great Indian Ocean, is s really an ode to the golden age of grace and elegance. There are 229 rooms and suites in this regal edifice and all of them face the sea. The Kingsbury Colombo is also business and leisure central with shopping, entertainment, dining, Colombo Stock Exchange, foreign & local banks, World Trade Centre, historical sites as well as recreational parks being just a across the road. The Kingsbury is also just five minutes from the Colombo Central Bus Stand and the Colombo Fort Railway Station. The Kingsbury experience will be a personalized, respectful one where patrons will be treated like royalty in keeping with the promise of bringing back 'good-old fashioned' hospitality. The Kingsbury's Restaurants include The Ocean - seafood restaurant, Harbour Court - international cuisine restaurant, Yue Chuan - Chinese restaurant, The Kings - lobby bar, The Pool Café, The Gourmet Station - patisserie and the epicenter of Colombo night life - Sky Lounge. A fully-equipped gym, spa and 24-hour Business Centre and the Executive Lounge with personalized butlers and concierge services add to the pleasures and comforts of The Kingsbury, Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing