We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clock Inn Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clock Inn Colombo
Ranked #5 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We slept here last night before our late arrival back to Europe. Hotel have a great location, very kind staff, nice and clean rooms and it was for great price. Hotel staff can arrange taxi shuttle to airport for 25USD. We can highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: 101 is in quiet part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your stay at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holidaying Sri Lanka and hope to see you back again soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    153
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
17
106
104
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
aussie in leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

fantastic! i would stay again. great value for money. we stayed in a private double wt ensuite. good location on galle rd easy walk to good food places - barefoot cafe, the green cabin along wt a few local places the food cabin was a good one for breakfast.
the room was clean good shower! tv wt english channels and good aircon. recpetion were nice and not too in your face they got us some bottled water one night for not too much over the odds!
did have a problem wt the taxi finding the hotel as galle rd has a one way system and the numbers on the buildings dont seem to mean anything! the driver tried to rip us off asking for more then the agreed price because he had to drive around so much but we refused as we had given him the adress an d phone number. the hotel said when we checked in the driver must been stupid not to be able to find it aftee calling them several times!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! Nothing makes us happier than making our guests feel happy and as comfortable as possible. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo and we hope to see you back again someday! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

we stayed at the clock inn for our last night in Sri Lanka and we were really impressed with the value for money! Comfy beds, air con, quiet area, lovely facilities, very secure and right opposite my favourite shop Barefoot!!
Excellent overall experience! highly recommended!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 101, en suite double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliegater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! We are sincerely glad that you enjoyed your stay at Clock Inn Colombo. I hope that you had a great time in Sri Lanka and hope to see you back again soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the clock in for one night right after our arrival.make sure you drive to Colombo 3! it took us a long time to find it hence no tuk tuk driver had a clue where it was. The rooms and the bathroom are very clean. We stayed at a 4 person dorm and it was very pleasant. the stuff is very unfriendly tough, but if that doesn't bother you you will be fine. Make sure you only get on tuk tuk s where the meter is on!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We value your feedback and will look into our weaknesses of our services. I am sorry that you had to experience that and we will work harder so that you or any of our future guests do not have to go through that. Our motive is make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to see you back again soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent our final night at the Clock Inn, and found it to be a clean and modern hostel. The bedding and towels were crisp, and the air conditioning was very welcome! Lockers and keys are provided, with plenty of room for our large backpacks.

Good hot showers with good pressure (unusual in Sri Lanka!) and the bathrooms are cleaned every day.

The staff were helpful and arranged a taxi to the airport the next day.

Room Tip: If you're staying in a dorm, let them know whether you prefer to stay in a top or bottom bunk, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apatsyapatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your feedback is much appreciated, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed two nights there,
staff was v friendly ,,,,v helpful,specially hassan, the owner
rooms n washrooms r v clean,newly built, reasonable prices and its located in the city center ,,,will highly recommend it to others and will surely gonna visit again,
but the only thing i didnt like is that they dont have lifts ,,,,,,,if you have some luggage than u have to take it to the room ur self,,,,,,,,mine was on 2nd floor and i took my 27kg bag from g floor to 2nd floor,else,,,ev things perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank affan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clock Inn was a good surprise.We had a trouble looking for the place because there wasn't a clear sign that shows the inn.However,being placed at the corner of the building at the turn of a junction into a lane,made it noticeable.The management should do something with the landmarks and the signboard.This place is cool,with clean rooms and toilets.Staff was good and friendly.Even the taxi driver who waited for us for 20 minutes early before dawn didn't complain when we got into the taxi.The location of this place is superb.It's very near to Barefoot and Majestic City,a shopping mall,and various local food outlets.Also near to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGWate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We will consider your suggestions and work on improving our signage. We value our feedback regarding this. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to see you back again soon! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.6 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 134 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clock Inn Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clock Inn Colombo

Property: Clock Inn Colombo
Address: 457 Galle Road | Colombo 03, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clock Inn Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Galle Road Colombo 03 (Colpetty); it's a mere stroll a way from the Indian Ocean. Beds & Dorms - consists of 4 to 6 Beds per Dorm Room, Shared Bathrooms with Hot Showers, Air Condition, Private Lockers, Individual Reading Lights, Linens included, Free WiFi. Private Rooms - consist of a King Size Double Bed, Attached Bathroom with Hot Shower, Air Condition, Cable TV, Safe, Free Water, Free WiFi. Lobby & Lounge - Work Station with Free internet, Free Pantry access, Free Cable TV and other Entertainment facilities available, Free WiFi. On Request - Airport Pick & Drop, Transportation to other locations can also be arranged. Breakfast & Other Meals, Laundry Service, Private Tours in and around the City. The Inn is evidently famous for being in the City Centre, and a 1 minute walk away from the scenic road - Marine Drive. Bus Stop - across the street, Train Station- 5 Minute walk away. Major Restaurants, Shopping, and Entertainment spots are not more than a 2 minute walk away from the Inn. I.E. Majestic City (shopping, movie theatres, food court), Cricket Cafe (pub & cafe), Barefoot (restaurant, shopping), Paradise Road (shopping), Green Cabin (pastry shop), & Gallery Cafe (restaurant). Indian Visa Office is a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clock Inn Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing