We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombo”
Review of Pearl Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pearl Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Lummen, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Colombo”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel located in the city center of Colombo with a great pool on the roof and view over the city. Delicious food (half board) and very friendly staff. Request a room at the back of the hotel and on a high level to avoid too much noise from the street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    153
    52
    4
    12
See reviews for
47
88
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is a very good standard with a pleasant restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff. There is a rooftop swimming pool which needs more comfortable pool furniture and more shade.
The major downside for this hotel is that it appears to be Muslim and therefore does not sell alcohol.
Suggest eating at New Banana Leaf across the road (also unlicensed) - cheap thali style for lunch. For dinner go to Amarvathi - licensed, pleasant food and excellent service - 250 rupees return by tuktuk.
Close to shopping malls and supermarkets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Roof-top pool, good restaurant, nice breakfast, comfortable bed. Stayed here for a night towards the end of a trip around Sri Lanka and found it more than adequate. Good central location and excellent service on all fronts. Also tried the spa - just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: Room on the top floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0nathan_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A great location, clean rooms and great staff. Nice roof top pool with stunning Colombo views. Stylish and simple room décor, with all mod-cons including wifi.IT department were on hand literally in 4 minutes to sort out a connection problem. All the way service with a smile. Only quirk was the zip in my bed's top sheet?! I would recommend this to anyone who wants ease of walking access to places like Barefoot (2 minutes), Cricket Café and Paradise Gallery Café (4 mins). Super. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for better city views. For a business traveller it does not really matter, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColomboLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed here in December, 2013.
Its a good economical hotel with basic necessities and normal room size.
If you dont want to spend enough money on a room and hotel.
This is for you.
60 USD for a night. is Reasonable in Colombo.
But nothing very great if you want a luxurious stay or you want to stay with your wife.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We travelled recently to Sri Lanka in a group of about 30 people through a travel agency. Our welcome into Sri Lanka was at this hotel. As our itinerary was tight, we stayed here only 1 night. Our group of 30+1 people reached the hotel early in the morning around 6 a.m. and though check-in/out times are actually different, they were able to give rooms for all of us within 1 hour. As I was triple-sharing with my parents, we were given the family room which was quite spacious, airy and clean; the balcony view of this 3rd floor room was also not bad though it faced the road in front of the hotel. We could see the sea at a distance. Bathroom / toilet were kept clean with no leaking taps, hot/cold water running properly, etc. I was also able to use the internet facility provided in the ground floor lobby with quite good speed. Unfortunately did not get time to use their top-floor swimming pool facility. Breakfast menu too was elaborate and with good variety. Only bit of concern was that our group consisted largely of pure vegetarians and the food was arranged in such a way that in some vessels under 1 single lid vegetarian and non-vegetarian food items were placed side-by-side. The road in front of this hotel is not very wide and since we were in a big group, we were travelling in a bus. So, driving and turning on this road was a bit troublesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyoti_Bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We arrived at midnight last night weary from travelling & the guy on reception was very welcoming and friendly and immediately dealt with our booking & gave us a room on the 10th floor which is the top accommodation floor (swimming pool, Gym etc on top) with a lovely view of the city & sea.
Had a comfortable night's sleep and a very good buffet breakfast this morning. All in all no complaints & we're here for 7days.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#21 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Edge Suites & Hotel, Colombo
0.1 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#17 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Grand Hotel

Property: Pearl Grand Hotel
Address: No. 9, Edward Lane, | Colombo 03, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated in the city centre near Majestic shopping mall, and close proximity for all leading casino,malls etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing