We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, It's a lighthouse” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse

The Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Colombo City Tour by Tuk Tuk
Ranked #28 of 144 things to do in Colombo
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
323 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Well, It's a lighthouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Tucked away in a fairly inaccessible part of the town thanks to security restrictions covering a lot of the area there is a pleasant view over the shoreline. Worth a visit if passing but nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    67
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bhava architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Airy - well ventilated and excellent value for money - Also the new motorway to the south provided a good start to our little trip to the south coast of Sri Lanka -

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeromeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

After trying to follow the map we had over Colombo, we finally found the lighthouse. What we didn't know is that it was basically surrounded by buildings and streets that are off limits for tourists. The lighthouse itself is nice enough, nothing really special (especially compared to the one in Galle).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexGalfvensjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Light House one in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I like it is structure and old look.
you must see if you are in colombo. in fact this place is closed to all 5 star hotels near Colombo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tourismsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well what can I say- its a fantastic hotel- everything is right and nothing is wrong.. the only thing that would have made life alot easier is to be closer to The City of Galle.. but apart from that- perfect hotel ..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing