We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Dirty”
Review of Skyways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skyways Inn
Ranked #98 of 154 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here as a last resort and was disappointed with most aspects of the stay. The room was filthy, hairs on the floor, stains on the sheets - which I showed to them and asked for clean sheets - and they still took some persuading to replace them. Staff okay ish - but didn't make us feel welcome - instead it was like we were inconveniencing them by wanting to stay there. Bathroom dirty, ants in sink, and hadn't been cleaned. Wardrobe had someone else's stuff in it. Felt that it was a real shame, as with some work it could be a fantastic place - the building is nice, just not looked after, and the location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie45784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Colombo at Skyways Inn for just the one night and were given a double room, ensuite bathroom with AC and a fan for $30USD a night. We were put in a room in a newer part off the hotel that is being renovated still and is located downstairs with its door leading out to the main road. The room itself was immaculate and looked very modern, the only downside really was that because of beggars out on the road, the main door to our section was often padlocked which is understandable but kind of annoying. It was more so dangerous when this was done at night time as we were literally locked in, so if there was a fire we would have absolutely no way out.
The hotel itself has a lot of character and there is a communal area a couple of floors up in the main part of the building where you can get access to wifi (very slow) and watch TV (all the channels are fuzzy) and is very comfortable to chill out in and meet people.

The hotel is in a decent location but quite far from The Pettah and Fort area. There is however a bus that runs from right by the hotel and for only 12r per person it will take you all the way to the Fort area. It is possible to walk though and it is only a few km's or you can get a tuk tuk which will cost around 300r.

There are also a couple of cheap places to eat just around the corner that serve good food although if you go to late you may be left with fried rice for dinner.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here but were glad we didnt have more than one night, more so because there isnt much to do in Colombo. For the $30 we paid we were hoping for at least a cable TV in the room so we could watch the football but this was just because we came to expect these facilities for far cheaper rooms when we were in India.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is not a luxury place to stay. Just ok for the money value. Very money oriented maintainer. I don't no whether he is the manager or not. No hospitality. Targetting foreign guests. Not good for locals. Room are not so clean. Un occupied rooms are used by them in the night. Bad experience we had. Location closer to LRH.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathurageethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The owner is a retired police person and he did not check our booking through Agoda until we showed up with the receipt. Then he manages 1 room for us. Even though we book one superior room, he gave us a standard room and said that it is a superior room. But later on we saw better rooms with the same price as ours. The room's decoration is really bad and the bathroom door have no lock.

The only reason you can stay there because of its location. Its center of the town and we had to catch an early morning train from fort railway station. The tuk tuk charged only 200 LKR from the hotel to the station. And in that location there is no other hotel which is as cheap as this one.

The owner and his wife's behavior is nice though. And they offered us tea in the early morning.

So, if you are in situation like ours only then we recommend this hotel otherwise not.

Room Tip: Eat out, take a bed sheet and mosquito repellent machine with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Skyways Inn for over a week and I can recommend it to anyone without any second thoughts. If there's only one grouse I had with this budget accommodation then it has got to be the noise from the traffic along the street it's located on. But other than that I had a most pleasant stay at the Skyways Inn and next time I'm in Colombo I will no doubt be staying there.

I read one of the other reviews here and I never experienced any 'False advertising' from Skyways. What they say is what they give. And mind you, for that price getting a room as clean and safe as the ones they provide is a tough job. There is a kitchenette to use, laundry is undertaken by the caretaker for a very nominal fee and the rooms and public spaces are kept neat and tidy.

The owner and her father go out of their way to look after guests and I am very grateful to them. I can further vouch for Skyways as a colleague of mine is staying there right now and they are very satisfied that they've decided to stay there for the entire month that work keeps them in Colombo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia_Panetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is OK for a night or two but wouldn't want to stay any longer rooms are adequate but could do with being cleaner, the bathroom wasn't very clean there was a few hairs that i saw that weren't mine and not all the lights in the room were working. The manager was really friendly and helpful. The rooms have fans and ac which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulaTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Dodgy looking stains all over the sheets - had to get our sleeping bags out!! There was indeed a tv in the room but the only thing on was static. Good luck trying to get hot water... We couldn't even get ANY water from the sink or shower the next day before we left! Was happy that there was a fridge until we opened it and the stench hit us. We ignored the not so great reviews on agoda due to last minute change of plans, please don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigpru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Maniumpathy
Maniumpathy
#18 of 54 in Colombo
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#30 of 54 in Colombo
100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Lavinia Relaxon Hotel
Mount Lavinia Relaxon Hotel
#46 of 154 in Colombo
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cool Colombo7
Cool Colombo7
#62 of 153 in Colombo
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockwell Colombo
Rockwell Colombo
#14 of 154 in Colombo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyways Inn

Address: 28, Borella Cross Road, Colombo 8, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $26 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Skyways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing