We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Scarlet Room

Scarlet Room
Ranked #235 of 562 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dinner at the scarlet room was excellent, the starters, the cocktails and the mains were very good and the service was good. servers informed us of the items which were not available before we decided on the meal, which was helpful.

however, the desserts need improvements. most are quite frozen and is not upto mark.

overall the experience was good and i would recommend it to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HareshaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome service. Splendid desserts.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and 2 of my friends went to cloud cafe as well as scarlet lounge. As it was raining we opted to get the already ordered food to brought to the scarlet longe which was accommodated without any hesitation. Service was impeccable. The interior was beautiful and the chosen photographs were very nice. Food was excellent. We loved the blueberry cheese cake. Only thing which I was a bit put down was when we ordered a chicken nasigoreng. But we found some prawns as well as the chillie paste was done with prawns I guess. I am allergic to shell fish that we did inform that the restaurant should have been specific with the menu naming or suggested they could have put some warnings in the menu saying that some dishes consists of sea food etc so that the consumer would be aware of it to ask stewards on available options. But yet, they offered to change meal. Mainly our steward came to us twice and asked whether I was ok, Which was consoling and appreciable. The price was like any other hotels we have visited so its good.Overall it was a wonderful experience dining there!!! Will be frequenting it many times in future!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiru9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented food, great service!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Conveniently located with a nice ambiance and beautifully presented food which tasted quite good. Food is a bit pricey though.

From the 3 items we ordered, the blueberry cheesecake was excellent & looked quite dashing, with a slightly warm, very fresh piece of blueberry cheesecake with berry compote, fresh fruit pieces and a white chocolate triangle and chocolate swan resting on top of whipped cream on the side.

However feel the prices are a bit steep, specially in the dessert section. True that a lot of effort was taken in making the food look amazing, which really made us overlook the price at that point. But would be great if they could bring down the price a notch or two or else people might not feel like going for a second round on the same item though it looks amazing.

Also must thank the entire staff for being very friendly, attentive and for paying attention to detail in all items we ordered, which made it a wonderful dinner out. Will definitely visit again to try out something different.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinzN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Food Quality is really lacking”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service is swift and pleasant.

Everything else is sadly lacking and overpriced. I will never return.

Please ask the management to try their own food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“great food great service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at the Scarlet Room. The staff was very attentive and the food was exceptionally tasty and affordable too. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManeshkaDolewatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abeer T, Owner at Scarlet Room, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and comments regarding the food and attentiveness of staff. We have no doubt that you will be recommending us to all your friends and family. We value your comments and certainly hoping to see you again at Scarlet Room - Colombo Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarlet Room also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Scarlet Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing