We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of 5th Lane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5th Lane House
Ranked #41 of 150 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Really nice and beautifull decorated rooms not far from "downtown" colombo. Overall the rooms were clean, the breakfast was also good. The staff was very helpfull and nice. They organised a driver, as the train was booked out, to Nuwara Elija within a couple of hours to a very reasonable price. We really enjoyed talking to the manager discussing sri lankan history and politics.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliettaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for 5th Lane House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the misfortune, my friend & I, to arrive to 5th lane house on a bad day it seemed for the owner, or manager. He was screaming & shouting, at us and at the bell boy there, very aggressive & rude. We were inquiring about the prices for the Mango room, and the Deluxe room, which he refused to show us in the most impolite manner, we were shocked, we left promising to leave a review on this page. And here it is. We stayed at recently open hotel by Colombo 6, and had a lovely stay. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam14M, Owner at 5th Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Sorry you didn't get a chance to book your stay with us. With the complaints on the manager we have had a serious issues especially with walk ins, I believe you commented before as well.
Hope you had a good stay in Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely little quiet hotel (more like a Bungalow) in the middle of busy Colombo.
Walking distance or just a small bus ride to major areas in Colombo.
Internet is really good and very fast. Good breakfast.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
So its a very good place for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjeprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Large rooms, very nicely furnished in a very central part of Colombo. A very short taxi ride (<10min) to attractions such as the National Museum, Barefoot, Victoria Park etc.
The staff were very helpful and attentive. The breakfast though was quite average, but would still give this place 5 stars for the location and the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sepia_t0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was a lovely little place. We stayed there on our first two nights in Sri Lanka and the staff couldn't do enough to help us! We all really felt welcomed and would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dont go by the photographs, this is more of an old bungalow which has been renovated.
While the place does not feel like a hotel it could actually be a decent place.
The rooms are small but cosy, the food was not bad and the internet was high speed. Also the location very central in downtown Colombo.
But the negatives were hot water not coming on frequently in the bath room, a lot of door knobs not closing properly.
We would have lived with it, but were a bit put off by the service levels.
We were a couple with a young child and were given a room with two single beds joined together. When we requested for a change, the guy at the counter was very rude (said "you should have come yesterday if you wanted better rooms" and "we have such good reviews on the internet, we do not care even if you write something bad".
Also, there was only one guy who was doing all the cooking, carrying bags etc etc.
Thankfully we stayed there only for one night.
I would go with 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1976indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a neat place. It has only 4 rooms allowing it to be quiet and quaint. We arrived at night and we though we were being pulled into this strange ally but once we were inside the house we could see it was a tastefully decorated and run establishment. We stayed her two nights. As mentioned before it is a 10 minute yuk yuk to all major attractions and there are even some good eating places in walking distance.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor and it was the only one up there. Very lovely. We had a balcony, tu...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#10 of 54 in Colombo
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitehouse Residencies
Whitehouse Residencies
#31 of 150 in Colombo
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Canes Boutique Hotel
The Canes Boutique Hotel
#24 of 150 in Colombo
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivy Lane Colombo
Ivy Lane Colombo
#17 of 150 in Colombo
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colpetty House
Colpetty House
#61 of 150 in Colombo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5th Lane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Lane House

Address: 51 1a 5th Lane, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $143 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 5th Lane House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heart of Colombo. Best Location to explore the city!With only 4 rooms, and a personalised service for all your needs! We got everything you need!Minutes Walking distance to McDonalds, Super Market, Durdans Hospital, Beverly Street Shopping, Bellagio Casino, Cafes, Chinese Restaurants, Steak Houses, Russian Restaurant, Swiss Restaurant, Bars Cafe, Fashion Bug, Manhattan Fish Market, Paradise Road Gallery & Cafe, Barefoot Gallery, Dinemore Restaurant, Bus Stops, Money Exchanger, 24 Hour Travel Agency. Cricket Club Cafe. Jewellery Stores and Clothing Stores.Less than a 1KM walk to Colombo Museum, Race Course Grounds, British Council, Canadian High Commission, USAID, Lionel Wendt Theatre, Russian Embassy, University of Colombo, Malaysia Embassy, Leo Burnett, Romania Embassy, German Embassy. St Anthony's Church.Within 2KM, Gangaramaya Temple, Beira Lake, Colombo Town Hall, Public Library, Sri Lanka Tennis, Moors Cricket Club, Colombo Cricket Club, Kollupitiya Train Station, Bars, Casinos and Lots to Do! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing