We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, excellent location”
Review of The Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ocean Front
Ranked #15 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benitachell, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, excellent location”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The service was exceptional and they were always happy to organise taxis. The hotel is clean and well maintained. It is situated on the sea front but be warned the railway runs right in front of the hotel. Trains are quite frequent during the day but they seemed to stop running at night, starting again at about 7 am. We did enjoy watching the sun set on the small terrace with a glass of wine though. Apart from the trains, the only other con to this hotel is that the stairs to the rooms are quite steep and narrow, particularly to the top floor (no lift). We would stay here again as the location is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnW34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    71
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
83
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

When we arrived, we looked at the neighbors building and thought there was a mistake; all the area seems to be under construction! But as soon as we got through the (really secured) door, we discovered a clean, comfortable and chic place with smiling, helpful staff.

What? A "freshly-squeezed-orange-juice" welcome drink? A delightful moist&cold towel?!? We felt as if we were true VIPs!

Rooms are clean (it's the first overall observation you'll get) and quite nice. The concrete floor gives that impression as well. Comfortable bed, hot shower (yes, like NOW hot, not "you-have-to-give-it-20-minutes-so-it-becomes-some-kind-of-warmish"hot...), 200 hundreds rupees away from the Colombo-Fort railway station... I strongly suggest you to consider it.




But there's more.

If you would have a single reason to ring the door bell of The Ocean Front Hotel, it definitely have to be for the EXCELLENT cuisine of Chef Sarath. Sri Lankan breakfasts are amazing and, after a full month around Sri Lanka, we are confident enough to judge this place "Home Of The Best Rice & Curries In The Whole Country"!!! It seriously a gustatory experience that you won't forget.

Please put some pressure on the Chef to force him to publish a cook book!



Bring some ear-plugs as the train can be a bit disturbing for the light sleepers and verify if the management changed the 3 room doors on the top floor; they are beautiful but they have big frosted glass; although you can't see trough, if someone open the corridor's light during the night, it feels like it's in your own room (that being written, the staff members told me the very next morning they were looking for a solution). This place will eventually become a "top-choice" as reviews will keep on telling great thing about it.

The best way to end a long trip, before long flight back home!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrePerron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinLaos, Owner at The Ocean Front, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. It meant a lot to our whole staff and especially our chefs to be appreciated for the hard work they put in to try to understanding the taste and preferences of our individual guests. We will earnestly look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great little place. After arriving late from the Airport (about 2am), staff greeted us despite the time, and settled us with everything we needed, which continued for the rest of the 2 day stay. We walked or used a tuk tuk from the hotel for most main sites around Colombo, and its location on the water was bliss given the chaos of inner city Colombo. Rooms were spacious, very clean and probably the best of our 2 week stay in Sri Lanka - wifi available. Was waited upon hand on foot, and enjoyed good Sri Lankan curries for dinner and great fruit and pancakes for breakfasts. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Ocean Front hotel was an easy and comfortable place to stay in Colombo. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The owner makes an effort to be involved and to check that his guests are satisfied.
The hotel is new and spotlessly clean.
Rooms are suffiently spacious with new and modern fittings. Bathroom is lovely with a great rain shower. Breakfast was very generous with a great selection of local and western choices. Only negative is the hotel is not well known by the local drivers and therefore can be difficult to find especially on arrival. Saying that it is near the Renuka hotel should help you get there. The hotel is not luxurious but is a comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay for a couple of nights stay in Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is located on the water front just off the Galle road in Colombo. the place is very tidy and has small but excellent quality rooms. the hotel sent an airport pickup which cost USD 25.

my room had a good view of the sea. There is a road and train line between the hotel and sea front. though the sound can be drowned out by closing all windows.

the staff is extremely friendly and the manager helped me plan my trip in the morning.

it is not a cheap place to stay, though was a comfortable start to my trip in Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We checked in after 8 pm. Our first impression was not good as Sellamuttu Ave on which the hotel was situated was dark and dusty. We eventually located it at the end of the avenue by Marine Drive. We had to press the doorbell to be let in. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered the hotel. It was well furnished, clean and has a nice ambiance to it.
We were led to our room at the top floor and had to walk up 2 flights of stairs. The friendly hotel staff helped with our luggage. There is no lift so going up the steep stairs may be a bit tricky for some. Our room is big, air-conditioned and equipped with a ceiling fan. Unlike other hotel rooms this room has a super high ceiling. If you draw up the curtains you will be able to see the ocean but it was pitch black outside at the time we checked in. We had no difficulty sleeping in the room despite the rumble and whistling of the local train going by the beach now and then. Waking up in the morning to the sound of the waves crashing against the shore is a wonderful feeling. You do not feel the rush of the traffic that one gets along Galle Road.
Though Sellamuttu Avenue looks deserted and quiet at night, there were several security guards stationed along the lane. At no time does one feel unsafe. We could walk to Liberty Plaza, an old shopping centre in 10 minutes, the Crescat Boulevard in 10 min or the Majestic City in 20 min. In fact we were able to walk to the Fort area in about 40 min, passing the US embassy, Tourist Board and the Parliament House. Taking a tuk-tuk to the Colombo museum cost less than 100 rupees. You could also take the local train from Kollupitiya station to Mt Lavina station.
On the way back to the airport, the hotel could arrange for a taxi to bring there. We booked a taxi from the taxi stand that is just outside Sellamuttu Ave, along Galle Road, opposite Renuka City Hotel.
Overall we love this hotel and we would stay here next time we are back in Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel and had a lovely relaxing time. The room and hotel were kept very clean and tidy. It has a homey feel like you are staying at a friends house with a gorgeous ocean front view. Though the room we stayed in did not have a direct ocean view you can see the ocean from the bed. We also thought that the food and service was amazing! We didn't want to eat anywhere else. The hotel has a good wifi connection which served us well as my wife had some important work to do during our stay. We gladly recommend The Ocean Front to anyone needing a nice hotel in Colombo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babajanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.9 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#25 of 51 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Front

Property: The Ocean Front
Address: No 14 Sellamuttu Avenue | (on Marine Drive, Kollupitiya), Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Front 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Front Colombo is a unique property with 6 individually created deluxe bedrooms with its own character. The property has been designed so all rooms and common areas have amazing Ocean views. It Is located in Kolpity, Colombo 3 (also known as Kollupitiya) in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal place for the regular business traveler, or for those who want to discover the city. It is our aim to provide an personalized service that few could match, and to make every endeavor to make the property feel like your home in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing