We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place however expensive”
Review of Lakpahana

Lakpahana
Ranked #16 of 69 Shopping in Colombo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lakpahana is no ordinary craft shop. It is an experience of Sri Lankan art and culture.Being the largest Craft Producer in Sri Lanka it is with this vision that we have succeeded Lakpahana is the marketing arm of the Sri Lanka Craftsmen and Artisans Association. We are the national entity of the World Crafts Council and the Unesco Seal of Excellence.We provide employment to over 500 artisans through our 15 craft centers throughout the island. We are ably supported by a team of leading designers Over our 40 years we have given artists across Sri Lanka a platform to express their true artistic talents and to spur their creativity whilst preserving dying traditions.We want to provide you with access to unique, hard-to-find items at great values. We want you to feel that attachment to the product and to the hands that created it. Our selection comprises over 15,000 products includingexquisite silver jewellery, metal work in silver, brass and copper, woodcarvings,batiks, masks, lacquer ware, pottery, hand woven rush and reed products, Hand embroidered linen, coconut products and many more.Come be inspired.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good place however expensive”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was the former government owned handcraft place. Good service however now it is very expensive compared to other handicraft places. So shop around before you go there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SamD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better quality”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just happened to find this by accident. Their quality is above some of the other crafts shops I visited in Colombo. And, they have items not seen at Barefoot or Odels.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sunred10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thanks lakpahana”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It is worth a visit, to see the array of local hand-made products. Many young ladies wait anxiously to serve us and attend to our every need. Books, kalu-dodol, cadju - all these are also available with a few innovative new items, ie. cadu jelly beans is one of these. Brass, silver, annodized brass, you name it - they've got...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank umangad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehiwela
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Handicrafts, Gems and Jewellery”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is worth a visit, to see the array of local hand-made products.

Many young ladies wait anxiously to serve us and attend to our every need.

Books, kalu-dodol, cadju - all these are also available with a few innovative new items, ie. cadu jelly beans is one of these.

Brass, silver, annodized brass, you name it - they've got it.

if you are in Sri Lanka it is definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisCrossDehiwela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Ideal for Sri Lankan Souvenirs”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Highly recommended for Sri Lankan souvenirs at reasonable prices. A wide range of gift items to select from and well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Treshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakpahana also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Lakpahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing