We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitehouse Residencies
Ranked #33 of 154 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice but very hard to find.

Remember, tell drivter to drive you to ""Abdul Cafoor Mawatha'' and Hotel is one minut walk away there. Hotel is one of the bests, best and very nice and clean. New building and host 'Hasanka" is very cool guy. It is also very safe place and you will be nice there.

We would go there again if I have to go to Colombo.


But Colombo is sucs, bad terrible. Terrible place, people are bad, streets are dirty and like Africa. Anarchy is over ther.

We would never go in Colombo in my life, ever again. DO NOT GO THERE, beleve me.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedja-Maka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 130 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is clean, had a nice kingsize bed, minibar, good bathroom, dvd-and satelite-facilities and free wifi.Breakfast is good, and the time of breakfast I could decide by myself. It's a house at a good shopping location in Colombo. Shops are on walking distance. With the guard in front of the house, I felt totally safe here (woman alone). Staff Kassanka is very honest and friendly, and helped me in a professional, polite manner. Fair price. I really recommend this place!

Room Tip: When you want to ask something, just call Kassanka with the phone. Even there's no real receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed there one night during our trip in Sri Lanka. This place is centrally located with shopping centre very close. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a good location for 1-2 day stay in the capital of Sri-Lanka.
We were very pleased to see full tooth care set in the bathroom (forgot ours). Rooms are clean.
We stayed in suit and there were 2 balconies - one from the bathroom and second from the living room (yes you have living room and bedroom). There was a mini bar with reasonable priced drinks.
In total will rate it as a strong 3 star European hotel.
But couple of minuses that decreased my mark to VERY GOOD from Excellent
1) For private sector apartment style hotel 100 USD per night seems to be a little bit expensive.
2) We had some conserns regarding security - there was no real safe box in the room (or we did not find it and there were only wardrobe with a key), the balcony doors were so weak with a lock like in the bathroom at home (and there was stairs to the roof).
3) Breakfast is local cousine. But I am sure that in case of the request it could be European. Also quite poor for the price they charge.
4) Problem for most of the hotels in Sri Lanka, some strange smell in the room.
************************************************************************************************************
But despite of all above I would recommend this hotel for 1-2 night stays for your trip over the country.

Room Tip: Better pay a little bit more and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konstantin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Suite - very much like a 4/5 star suite, with a lounge, bedroom and bathroom, and a great balcony giving views of Colombo all around.

It offers a nice, modern, clean break from the hot, choked hustle and bustle of Colombo below. The bespoke hot breakfast is also very good.

$100 per night is pretty expensive for Sri Lanka, but you are guaranteed a good, comfortable night sleep, which is rare in Colombo!

Although the location is good (200 r tuk tuk ride from Fort), it is not easy to find (down a side alley) - make sure you have a map as none of the taxi drivers, police or members of the public had heard of it, making it very difficult to locate to begin with!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2OLEGEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in the suite, which was as comfortable as a five-star hotel and much more spacious.
The owner was so welcoming and cared for all our needs including an early breakfast and taxi.
Breakfast was generous, hot, Sri Lankan curries, fresh fruit, rotis, juice and yoghurt.
The room was fresh with crisp white linen , comfortable bed, great bathroom, toiletries. Suggest you ask how to operate spA bath if unsure.
Sitting room was a great place to chill on lounge and watch DVDs from big collection.
We could walk to Barefoot, Paradise Rd cafe, Liberty Plaza and Green Cabin easily from here.
Highly recommend this well-priced accommodation to anyone who likes quality and value for money

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Real value for a place this size, location and breakfast. Exceptional service, you are made to feel at home instantly. Its a rather new place in the city, close to restaurants, shopping malls, the museum and a 5 minute drive to the fort train station. Its a family run boutique style residence which has a very clean, tidy and stylish sense about it. One of the places you feel you wish you could have one day more!

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse Suite for a few extra dollars. Has a jacuzzi tub and huge private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

this residency has a fantastic penthouse.
The service is pretty friendly and helpful.
the price is a little bit high, however gives a good value for money.
Good idea for the first days in threatening Colombo.

Room Tip: try to connect the place directly |(Hassanka)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahar o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casons B&B
Casons B&B
#31 of 154 in Colombo
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivy Lane Colombo
Ivy Lane Colombo
#15 of 154 in Colombo
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 154 in Colombo
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort@15
Comfort@15
#27 of 154 in Colombo
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moss Colombo
Moss Colombo
#3 of 154 in Colombo
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colombo City Hostel
Colombo City Hostel
#3 of 153 in Colombo
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehouse Residencies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehouse Residencies

Address: 265/2 R.A.De Mel Mawatha, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $50 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehouse Residencies 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Whitehouse Residencies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing