We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cuisine”

Nuga Gama at Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 576 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.cinnamonhotels.com/GrandNugagama.htmIt has authentic Sri Lankan cuisine and its soo good!!! Best meal we had in Sri Lanka.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Local cuisine”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice outdoor ambience with local musicians playing. Plent of decent Arrack! and great local seafood and other cuisine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KanwarTavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    140
    41
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing dining atmosphere”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Such a good idea, we didn't feel like we were still in colombo at all. The atmosphere was incredible with the whole restaurant open air. You eat at traditional wooden tables under the trees and stars! Everything candle and lantern lit. Traditional Sri Lankan musicians. Local food all cooked in clay pots, a lady cooking fresh hoppers. Was like no other restaurant experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Back to my roots”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I had a Saturday lunch at this place. You would not believe that such a place exists within the compound of a 5 star hotel. We had to walk down a path to this so-totally-out-of-this-world place in the centre of Colombo. The ambience was created to give you a rural feel. The food was a buffet lunch with authentic Sr Lankan food and anything you wished to have was served from all kinds of vegetables to the meats and fish. To enhance the experience we ate with our fingers. Washing of hands was from a pot of water, where the waiter dressed in typical sarong would assist by pouring water for you. The food was excellent and just too good to be true. I loved this pale and would definitely come back over and over again. I have to admit its spicy, but I love the spicy food! You wont know what you have missed unless you have a meal here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Superb local food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Such an amazing concept. The feeling of actually dining in a village is fantastic. No words are enough to praise the quality of food. Every Srilankan food lovers delight this menu can be. Great spicy food varieties available for the buffet. The price is also quite reasonable. The service was excellent specialty Mr. Dammika who explained to us about the concept. Looking forward to come back soon...

Helpful?
Thank Shakeel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place for some quality Srilankan food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

this is the place for everyone,foreign or local to try out Srilankan food, serves a daily dinner buffet and its open for lunch during weekends. authentic tasty dishes served on clay pots. place is quite relaxing and the staff makes the place even better suggesting all sorts of healthy freshly made drinks. limited seating so gets crowded, its best if you can make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tharindu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuga Gama at Cinnamon Grand Colombo also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Nuga Gama at Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing