We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“READ this before booking anywhere else”
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2010

okay Hilton has a well established name and it does in many ways live up to this. Its service is good with impeccable manners. Fantastic array of restaurants - I have tried nearly them all out apart from Spoons(high end restaurant) and the Sri Lankan Barbecue. From recollection they have Japanese (very authentic and popular with japanese local expats), Italian (by the poolside), Chinese(high class), American type bar, and an International Buffet which was astounding amount of choice and all well prepared - the piece de resistant was a hansel and gretel type sweet area where you eat as much as you can deserts from freshly prepared pancakes/waffles to icecreams amazing amount of cakes and puddings. I think there are other restaurants but I cannot remember. Cocktails were good too!

Okay the rooms are looking a little dated but are well maintained and still reasonable and you can get very good rates to stay here so overall its a good value for money. If you dont want to spend too much. Swimming pool you take a small quaint bridge to get to it so its maybe not as convienent however seemed quieter and less locals come to Hilton.
Not sure about spa though it must have one.

Its far far better than Cinnamon Grand and I would pick Hilton every time over CG. The lack of service at Cinnamon Grand means it can and will spoil your stay. Hilton is impeccable in its adherance to good service.

I think for business this is one of the best.
Its not as holidayish or as romantic as some of the smaller boutique hotels. But they can be very expensive. The Galle face new wing (regency) is a better location but again it can be pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

My partner and myself stayed at the Hilton Colombo for 5 nights in January of this year. I had paid for the room in advance in October 2009. When checking in I was asked to provide a credit card which - I assumed - was for incidentals. Sometime later on our holiday my credit card was declined. Following enquiries with my bank it was revealed that I had been charged again for the accomodation at hotel. I contacted the Hotel during the rest of my time in Sri Lanka on numerous occasions in an attempt to have the money returned all to no avail. It is now in the hands of my bank as an unauthorised transaction. What was really disturbing was that the amount was not revealed on the account when he left the hotel. So be careful with your credit card. Apart from that the hotel was an enjoyable place to stay. It is well located and has a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

And my synopsis is....

* PRE-ARRIVAL: Book the sea-view rooms, as the view is pretty nice. Also, include the shuttle (see below).

* GETTING THERE: There's no complimentary airport shuttle to this Hilton. You have to pay for it when you book, otherwise you'll be taking a car-service for the 35 kilometer (approx) drive to the hotel. It's not a pain, but just a little confusing is you're used to the Hilton having the hotel shuttles. Cost for the driving service was around $30.

* DINING: Great onsite dining, and pretty inexpensive for all the food you'll be served. I ate at the Curry Leaf restaraunt and left very happy --- and full. The total price for my meal was around $30 (again with the $30!), and that included a huge Lion beer and some delicious ginger tea. EXCELLENT value for the money at this place. I also ate at "Spices" the following day (their lunch buffet) and had a pretty good meal for around $20.

* HANGERS-ON: If you go walking around the hotel, be prepared to meet some "friends". Yes, you're a walking ATM to a lot of the people, but remember that they don't have much to begin with and in their eyes you're big $$$.

* TEA TEA TEA: Some really good tea shops can be found in and around the hotel.The "T-Bar" near the lobby serves an excellent assortment of Ceylonic specialities.

* INTERNET: You're paying for it, unless your HHonors level includes the service gratis. Rates are 300rs=1hr, 500rs=2hr, 900rs=4hr, 1800rs=1day. Sidenote: I got these rates from the rate-card that's next to my laptop in the room. Once you're connected, the speed is actually pretty impressive.

* TOWELS: Not quality at all. They may have been useful about ten years ago, but it's time for the hotel's stock to be replaced. Need a washcloth? You're out of luck unless you bring your own or ask the hotel. They don't come "stocked" in the rooms.

* SECURITY: Very good. Guards at the gate, cameras, etc. Additionally, the rooms are equiped with keypad safes.

* TOURS: The tour desk near the lobby can get you a good trip to Kandy and back; sites include the elephant orphanage, a spice forest, an awesome botanical garden near Kandy, lunch, and the Temple of the Tooth.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpb_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Hilton has a reputation, which genuinely has been retained and maintained in Colombo. The rooms are cozy, and the one where I stayed had a great view of the city and the lake.

There is a good choice of restaurants, the food is nice. But ordering through, a la carte in the evening will cost time, as the restaurant where I went for dinner, had a buffet spread.

The housekeeping is noteworthy, the amenities are adequate. Overall a good experience staying in Colombo.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellingTarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

cant fault this hotel. wonderful staff, great little pool for kids (the haunt of many expat kids for afternoons) the most fantastic sri lankan restaurant 'curry leaf' which must be tried. really great for the beginning or end of a holiday to sri lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

A well run hotel, fantastic staff, super restaurants but slightly odd place for the pool and gym.
The hotel sits right near the President’s residence. Security checkpoints are numerous but it makes walking around quite safe. I used the Hilton as a base to visit my Aunts nearby and to checkout a few local shopping places. I took the breakfast option but not the dinner as well. Happy I did as the dinner options were more and it’s always good to have a good breakfast before embarking on any tours.
The location of the pool, gym and a couple of other things were across the road accessible via a pedestrian bridge. Would have preferred this to be closer but I wasn’t there to laze around the swimming pool.
The dinner buffets at the Spices & Curry Leaf Restaurants were amazing and cheap. The place also had a very tasty cake shop, a Karaoke Lounge (didn’t stay long as smoking was allowed) and a Pub (didn’t visit as it just played Premier League games which I find as exciting as watching paint dry). They did say they also had night club but it was closed for some repairs.
For stress free, air-condition travel, use their taxis but the much cheaper travel for short distances are the 3 wheel taxis.
Great hotel and would come back again (especially for their great cocktails in the evening).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzTravellerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We reached the hotel in the early morning hours on December 29, 2009, the place looked like it were a hotel in fairyland. It was decorated so beautifully, the x'mas tree, the wall decorations, the lighting, it was amazing. Each desk / counter in the lobby was decorated to look like a BIG gift, with golden gift wrapping.
The rooms were very good sized, with an amazing view of the lake surrounding the hotel & the Indian Ocean serving as the backdrop. The bed was comfortable with amazing pillows. The tea / coffee tray was well stocked, so was the minibar. The TV was very dated & small for the size of the room, also the choice of channels was very limited. The in-room dining experience was great. Good food & great value for money. The bathrooms were rather dated, the hardware / sanitary fittings need immediate changing.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank BharatKaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
2,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
519 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#9 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $169 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the title of Sri Lanka’s Leading Hotel and Sri Lanka’s Leading Business Hotel at the World Travel Awards, this Colombo hotel is centrally located in Colombo’s business district. With a range of accommodation, from guest rooms and executive rooms to suites, this hotel in Colombo offers stunning views over the Indian Ocean. For relaxation and business alike, Guests will enjoy the endless luxurious accommodations we have to offer. • Only hotel with a connecting bridge to The World Trade Centre • Largest pillar-less ballroom in the city • Signature chefs from Italy, Japan, India, China, Australia and Sri Lanka • Located in the heart of Colombo • Equipped with a gym, pool, karaoke bar and signature restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing