We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better under new management”
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Much better under new management”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I wrote a review a couple of years ago about how awful the service was....well, now the service has improved greatly. We go there for brunch on Sundays and are pleased with how fast the service , quality and ready smiles can be. I have not been in their rooms of late so can not say if they have improved at all but last time they wee a it dated. The location is fabulous - just a walk away from the sea.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights from your recent visit to the Hilton Colombo. We always appreciate hearing back from our guests.

I am pleased that you felt comfortable and well taken care of while you were with us.

Thank you once again for the ongiong support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours faithfully
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    761
    317
    104
    42
See reviews for
276
476
190
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very grandiose and impressive lobby and a collection of in-house restaurants. There is free wifi but only in the lobby and restaurant areas. In your room you have to pay per hour up to max of 48hrs. Really really annoying and backward for business visitors in 2014. It is not particularly cheap either and if you use the wireless rather than the cable on the desk then it keeps dropping out. It wasn't just me - I heard another customer complaining at the front desk about his room wireless access doing the same. Most incredibly is the provision of a single standard three pin electrical socket in the room. This is next to the desk and is being used by the desk lamp. So unless you unplug the lamp there is nowhere to plug in your laptop, phone charger etc. The socket for the TV is out of reach behind a large cabinet and the lamps in the room use a different socket type. So I was unable to use my laptop anywhere other than the desk and I had to work in the dark (the rooms are not greatly lit anyway) as I had to unplug the lamp. Still can't really believe it! For my last couple of days I moved to the Galle Face Hotel and it was much more attractive. Free wifi everywhere, very atmospheric and charming, excellent service and food and much more social than the Hilton corporate model.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank DrNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you very much for reviwing your recent Hilton Colombo experience.

We appreciate your feedback on our internet connectivity which are being addressed and reviewed.

We hope that you do visit us again and we look forward to extending our Sri Lankan hospitality to you should you return to Colombo.

Thank you once again for the support.

Yours faithfully

Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute couple of days after staying further south In Kalutara. As a diamond member, was upgraded and had access to executive lounge however the room was very dated - like something out of the 1980s. I understand there is a refurbishment programme ongoing and the sooner this is completed the better as it does really impact on the stay. That being said, the staff were very friendly and the service levels high. Tried a number of restaurants in the hotel too and despite busy, the food and service was excellent. The fitness area and pool were great too. Despite the outdated room, a good Hilton hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dudley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments which are well taken.

We are pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed most of our services and glad that you enjoyed the cuisine.

Yes, we are embarking on a renovation/refurbishment very soon and we look forward to providing a revitalized property in the near future to all our guests.

With our very best wishes

Yours faithfully
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

went back to the hilton colombo after 4 odd years.
like always staff was very attentive and knew their jobs.
breakfast spread is also very nice and service is great.
so is room service.
only downside is that the hotel is now showing its age.
rooms and amenities are now old.
this has always been a great property, owners & management definitely need to upgrade it.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4wdboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments of the Hilton Colombo.

Your comments are well taken and you may be pleased to learn that the Hilton Colombo is planned to undergo an extensive renovation/refurbishment very soon with minimum inconvenience to our guests.

We do look forward to providing a revitalised product in the near future.

Thank you once again for the ongoing support.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I satyed in HILTON COLOMBO. It's was nice and very beautiful for me. During my staying all hotel staff was so kind and friendly. Very beautiful music on the lounge bar. Good thai dancing girls. I liked this hotel. Next time for sure will stay again. P.S: only one thing I would like to tell that I think you have to change you TVs on the room. It's too old.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dinara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and pleased that you have utilized and enjoyed the services and facilties of our hotel during your stay with us.

Thank you for your ongoing support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Hilton Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great experience from time of arrival to check out. Exceptional service by all staff involved at every level. It was home away from home. I recommend this hotel for business as well as pleasure. It is also centrally located and has beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. I also recommend that you try out a burger and a pint at the sports bar. Cheers

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of the Hilton Colombo.

We are pleased that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and you enjoyed the services and facilities.

We do appreciate your encouraging sentiments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visits

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

When you say Hilton, I do expect some standarts. I for sure didn't get them... Rooms are old, small, each piece of furniture different style, bathroom quite small, windows dirty. If it wouldn't be for cosy Echelon pub downstairs I would leave sooner I guess.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for comments. We note that your recent stay with us was not as comfortable as it should have been due to the various circumstances experienced by you.

The Hilton Colombo plans to undergo an extensive renovation/refurbishment in the near future and we look forward to providing all our guests a revitalized product.

Thank you once again for your support.

Yours sincerely
Manesh Fernando
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
2,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
1,646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#6 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing