We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at hilton in colombo sri lanka”
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“stay at hilton in colombo sri lanka”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

overall impressions are very good. The staff are particularly helpful and courteous. The quality of breakfast and the leisure facilities are equally good. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beginning to show their age and it is important that the hotel undergoes refurbishment since it clearly needs this to justify the prices charged for a 5 star brand name hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ashvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our team members, it was our pleasure to have you with us. We are pleased to inform you that we will soon be carrying out extensive upgrading works to the hotel in a few months. We hope that the prospect of a revitalised Hilton Colombo and brand new experience encourages you to return for another stay. We look forward to being of service to you soon.

Yours sincerely,
Shane Ingram
Director Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    789
    322
    107
    44
See reviews for
290
482
194
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is really old, lobby looks nice and outside garden is nice to look over breakfast, but the rooms are terrible- for a hotel that claims to be 5 star and charges like one, its way below average. They don't even have flat screen TV's in the rooms and the furniture, beds and appliances within the rooms are run down and broken- I got an electric shock from the hairdryer, I also was receiving toiletries that had the seals broken and looked to have been refilled to save money, I also found hair in the bath and shower walls. The thing that makes the hotel bearable is the staff are generally great and the restaurants' at the hotel are also not bad. For future business trips to Sri Lanka I will be staying at the Cinnamon, and really looking forward to the Shangri-La opening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo_GM, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Alex Y,

Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel.

We are indeed preparing for the extensive upgrading works of our rooms and facilities in just a few months. Since we opened in 1984, we have been proud to deliver the five-star Hilton hospitality experience with a Sri Lankan touch to all our guests and we intend to continue with this tradition. We also look forward to presenting a brand new Hilton Colombo experience and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again after our renovations are complete.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Shane Ingram
Director Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Only stayed here a night as it was convenient and not that expensive as we were flying out early on departing SL. The Lobby is a standard business hotel with various shops and a few restaurants. The rooms have had little invested in them , food was forgettable. However if I was choosing somewhere to stay in Colombo to see the city for a few days I wouldnt stay here. You are somewhat removed from the city in a business district. We were transferring back from Galle so due to travel times it definitely makes sense to have the trip done prior to an early departure from Colombo so in that sense it did everything we needed of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for posting your review, I am sorry to read that your brief stay with us was a disappointing experience. I am pleased to inform you that we are preparing for the upcoming renovations of our rooms and facilities, and I can assure you, my team and I are excited at the prospect of presenting a revitalised Hilton Colombo to you and all our guests.

While business travellers would appreciate the hotel being directly connected to the Colombo World Trade Centre, families and holiday makers alike enjoy the short walk to the Dutch Hospital shopping precinct, as well as Galle Face Green to take in the scenic views of the Indian Ocean.

Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will stay with us again to experience a refreshed Hilton Colombo!

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was my first stay at the Hilton Colombo. This hotel became my temporary residence for 9 days. Firstly opened to the public 25 years ago, there is very little sign of renovation on its interior or exterior. The property boasts a prime location, situated on the Galle Road in the ocean front. Many rooms have a 180 degree ocean view or a harbour view. However, this won’t be the case after 2015 because a Shangri La Hotel is being built on the beach front which will obscure at least half of its view.

Despite its deco, it is a very comfortable hotel. Rooms are of reasonable size and well maintained, both the bed and bedding comply my needs. The most outstanding feature of the hotel is the high level of customer service. The executive lounge staff are friendly and welcoming. In particular, Dev is a young exuberant man whose service was outstanding. The food range served during the evening cocktail hours was rather limited, so was the breakfast at the main restaurant.

There is a large well equipped gym and outdoor swimming pool. On the ground level, there is a very nice garden, with a big pond, fishes, ducks, a turtle and geese. Hilton Colombo is going to be closed in December 2013 for a year of total renovation. I will miss this old gem and its friendly staff.

Room Tip: executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdPinoTrollFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear BirdPinoTrollFin,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Colombo, it was our pleasure to have you with us. I am pleased that the level of service delivered by my team highlighted your positive experience with us. Indeed, it is rewarding for them to realise that what they do everyday made a great impact on your stay. Dev has received your kind feedback with much appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a brand new Hilton Colombo experience in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Well, it's just some standard business hotel with better than good services being offered. the design of the room and toilets are old fashioned but the upkeep of the building is still a great one. have to go to the lobby for free wifi and you can listen to some music too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezeither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ezeither,

It is a pleasure to know that my team delivered the outstanding service that made your stay pleasant and comfortable. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A good hotel. Situated in a good environment. Excellent service. Good value for money. A place to want to visit again either for business or for leisure. I enjoyed the hospitality. Good food, both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Olutayo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Olutayo A,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Colombo, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessenbach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

next time most properly I will choose a different Hotel during my stay in Colombo! The whole place became in the years and special the bath room for this price level should be real better as it is right now.Dinning room should be also better organize for this kind of Hotel in this price segment!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Helmut N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Helmut N,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay experience at Hilton Colombo. You will be glad to know that we are going to start the extensive upgrading works of our rooms and facilities in just a few months, and my team and I look forward to presenting a brand new Hilton Colombo experience to our guests. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again after our renovations are complete and we look forward to delivering a much better experience to you. Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#7 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing