We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Colombo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just spent 3 days here for a business meeting; I loved it. All ingredients for a true 5*, clean and well maintainded rooms, especially on the side overlooking the ocean.. service good, restaurants with diverse great food, I loved the fish-sea food buffet diner. Only bemol was the spa and gym on the other side of the street, and which would need some improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear R S,

The pleasure was ours to welcome you to Hilton Colombo. We are delighted that you were comfortable and felt well-looked after during your stay, and your feedback on our service, restaurant and guest room is much appreciated. You will be glad to know that we will soon be carrying out upgrading works to the hotel soon. My team and I look forward to presenting a revitalised Hilton Colombo in the near future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you are next in town.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    727
    306
    104
    41
See reviews for
264
457
185
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was an excellent experience to stay in hilton Colombo. If I ever happened to be in this region again I would prefer to stay at the same place , The location is excellent and approachable from within the city.The complimentry breakfast arrangement are lavish and delicious .A quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog .Aquick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog. A quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog A quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Masood A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Masood A,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Colombo, we are honoured to be your preferred hotel in Colombo. We really appreciate your positive feedback of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has an old world charm, mainly because its not been renovated for the last 20 years or so. Pretty ood choice of restaurants but the rooms do seem a bit run down - old tvs but the location is excellent and the food is pretty decent.

Room Tip: Try the Sri Lankan and Chinese restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhavalm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear dhavalm420,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Colombo, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback on our restaurants, which highlighted your experience. We are currently preparing for upgrading works to the hotel to be carried out in the near future and are looking forward to presenting a brand new Hilton Colombo experience to all our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The location is excellent. It's easily accessible from the main train and bus station (i.e. it's a short walk). There is a lot to discover in Fort and Pettah which is just outside.
The service was very good and everyone was very helpful. Tons of restaurants to chose from. The rooms were nice albeit out dated. I don't think they've been updated since the place was built but the furnishings are still in excellent condition. We had to laugh at the CRT TV. No high definition here. The bathrooms were retro!
The swimming pool was a bit far away from the hotel so you had to get fully dressed to go there. It's over a major road. But the pool itself was very nice. It was kind of funny to have the train driving past with all the people on the foot board trying to look over the wall to the pool!
Had a nice stay.
P.S. breaking the seal on the minibar to stick your own stuff in was not a problem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinitaBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear vinitaBO,

Thank you for letting us know of your delightful stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and felt well-taken care of by the team. Whilst it is good to know that you were comfortable in our room, you will be glad to know that we will soon be carrying out upgrading works to our rooms and facilities. We hope that you will visit us again in the future to experience a refreshed Hilton Colombo. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hilton colombo is a great place to stay either during a holiday or a business trip. It has a very nice view of the sea.
The staff was very hospitable. The food of the restaurant is fantastic and the restaurants interiors are so pleasing and mind soothing making you forget everything else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaki_whiz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear zaki_whiz03,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful and generous review, the pleasure was ours to deliver the unique Hilton Colombo experience to you. We are delighted that you felt comfortable and well-looked after during your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Colombo, while certainly a friendly city, is an impoverished one. The Hilton Colombo serves as a welcome, end-of-the-day respite from Colombo's challenges. For business and government-related visits to Colombo, there really is no better hotel, as this place is within walking distance to relevant institutions and offices (the Hilton is adjacent to Colombo's only "A-list" office building, and 200 meters from the Presidential Administration). Moreover, the hotel itself is akin to a mini-resort, with live entertainment, an excellent pool bar vibe, delicious food (including one of the best hotel breakfast buffets on the island, and a seafood buffet that is, by night, one of Colombo's finest restaurants), all set upon beautifully groomed, if not compact, grounds. Oh, and the fitness center, operated as a separate concession, is quite good, and is included in one's room rate.

The staff members, for their part, are keen to please. In fact, during my stay, one staff member went out of his way to ensure that the rate I was paying was the lowest available, while another arranged for my (very) late check-out at no charge. At check-out, one trainee manager was initially reluctant to allow me to settle my bill with either (i.) my firm's Visa debit card or; (ii.) my personal (Platinum!!) American Express. After about 2 minutes, however, she capitulated, and apologized profusely. Weeks later, I learned that the said trainee manager compensated me for the two-minute inconvenience by arranging for a doubling of my Hilton HHonors points. Now, that's good service!

I confidently recommend the Hilton Colombo. Indeed, I can tell you that, although "chain-branded" hotel properties don't, generally, endear themselves to me, the Hilton Colombo did exactly that.

All of my compliments notwithstanding, I do make the following admonition: Sri Lankans must be among the world's most friendly people, but touts/hustlers are everywhere in Colombo, and they target Westerners and East Asians. You will encounter them, and you will have to deal with them, as they are absolutely pervasive off the hotel property. However, even these guys quickly retreat after a firm "no." You'll just end-up saying it frequently!

Room Tip: Even if your rate does not include the breakfast buffet, you should sample it at least once. As to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you for your generous compliments of Hilton Colombo and especially my team members. While you did experience some shortfalls, I am glad that you were satisfied with how they handled the situation and your overall stay.

As a Hilton hotel, we understand the high expectations to deliver the best personalised service. We continue to work hard to refine and further improve on our service delivery through on-going process reviews and training programmes.

We appreciate your kind feedback and recommendation of the hotel. We hope that you will visit us again in the future and remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed here for one night only thankfully. We had to stay an additional night in Sri Lanka following a tour, in order to get to Male for a sea plane. Our rep said that she would email the hotel to make sure we got a nice room and were well looked after as it was our 30th wedding anniversary that day. Don't know whether she did or didn't but Staff at the reception were not particularly friendly or efficient and had our booking wrong. We eventually proved that we were on a B & B rather than room only which entitled us to a poor packed breakfast as we had an early morning flight, so we didn't get to experience the proper breakfast, which may well have been good. God help us if that was their idea of being 'looked after' Our room was dated with an old Phillips TV - not flatscreen, and mouldy bathroom tiles with a very slow draining bath.The view was horrible - overlooking the concrete side of the hotel and a slabbed area below , just in front of the busy road and construction site beyond that. We could not chill our complementary water as there was a seal on the minibar, which we did not wish to use. There was however ice available from room service which was quick and efficient - although we felt we had to tip for this service. I was assured that the ice was made from boiled water, but I developed an upset stomach after that , so not sure. The lobby was very grand and lovely,with nice atmosphere and live music and the meal and service in Spoons restaurant was good> the outside pond area is very pretty, but was disappointed that the access to the pool was via the lobby, outside area, across the bridge over the busy road with its 3 lanes of traffic, down the steps , across a carpark and through the fitness centre where you had to get changed- Little wonder that hardly anyone was using it - too much effort required! if we had been staying for longer I would have been gutted, and complained, but it wasn't worth it for 1 night, even though it was supposed to be special. Would not recommend the location at all - it was like being outside the M25!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pond, not the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louisenottingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Tr0estler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear louisenottingham_UK,

I am very sorry to learn of your recent disappointing experience at Hilton Colombo, particularly as it was during your 30th wedding anniversary. My team and I pride ourselves in delivering great stay experiences through not just our award-winning dining options and facilities, but through our renowned Sri Lankan hospitality. It is unfortunate that we did not live up to your expectations.

Your feedback is much appreciated and helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. It is especially helpful as we plan for the upgrading of our rooms and facilities in the near future. At the same time, we are taking the opportunity to sharpen our processes and further refine our service delivery.

I hope that should you return to Colombo in the future, you would grant us the opportunity to deliver a better stay experience to you. Thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#6 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing