We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colombo Hilton”
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Colombo Hilton”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Colombo is the commercial and financial capital of Sri Lanka after the administrative capital was moved to Sri Jayewardenepura-Kotte, a suburb east of the city. Weather wise, the best time to visit is during the North East monsoon season, which is November to April. Colombo international airport, Bandaranaike International, is at Katunayake, close to Negombo, on the coast north of Colombo. The journey to Colombo will take about an hour by taxi. Colombo offers many accommodation options for every budget. The Colombo Hilton Hotel is just 35km and 45 minutes drive from the Sri Lanka International Airport. The five-star Colombo Hilton Hotel occupies a prime seven-acre site overlooking the Indian Ocean, Beira Lake, and a short stroll away from Colombo’s commercial hub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisure T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear dinusha s,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Colombo.

We are indeed centrally located in Colombo with premium business and leisure facilities for the comfort and convenience of business travellers such as yourself.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    748
    311
    104
    42
See reviews for
270
470
189
784
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I've stayed here several times over 2011, and got allocated a different room each time. I noticed that the standard of the rooms vary quite a lot.

I remember vividly my first stay, I was allocated a room that looked old and very basic, with no view of speak of. Rather depressing, and wholly unworthy of being a Hilton room.

My second last stay I was allocated a beautiful corner room with two walls of windows, overlooking the ocean, which was beautiful. The room was also done up nicely, with modern furniture, LCD tv and a good well-lit modern bathroom.

The last stay I was allocated a room which was again rather old and basic, the tv was an small old tv sat in a black old cabinet with doors. Toilet was not very bright with only one white light. The room is clean and functional, just somewhat basic and old for Hilton (and Hilton prices).

Breakfast buffet is more or less standard - there is a selection of curry/Sri Lankan food, an Asian-oriented selection (porridge, fried noodles etc), muesli and yoghurts, an egg/sausage station, breads, fruit, smoked fish and cured meats. While not massive, the selection certainly is sufficient to cater to most palates comfortably, and the food quality is earnest and good.

We also ate at the Japanese and Chinese restaurant during our trips, the Japanese restaurant is good (the sukuyaki serving is huge, raw egg is very fresh), and the Chinese is very good.

Staff is polite and helpful, the room cleaning staff is cheerful and greets us as we walk out of the room. Makes for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuttyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear jh1242,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Colombo. I am pleased to know that our service and restaurants met with your satisfaction during your many stays with us.

I apologise for the inconsistencies you experienced with our guest rooms. Your feedback is very much appreciated because it gives us opportunities to improve on not just our service standards and offerings, but also our product. We are in the midst of finalising the master plan for the hotel's renovation and refurbishment so that all our guests will experience a new Hilton Colombo in the near future.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
308 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hilton Colombo follows the traditioin of Hilton's around the world. Good service, clean rooms. This one however needs a little face lift i the room, they are outdated lacking more modern technology such as wifi and LED or Plasma TVs. Staff is very courteous and there is beautifull lounge with a great view to a beautiful garden and lake. The outdoor swiming pool is very nice and this Hilton offeres several restaurants in the complex, to satisfy chinese, indian or western gourmets.

The Club lounge is small but nice with good offering for the happy hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear Lmadrid,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Colombo. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were pleased with our service, facilities, restaurants and Club Lounge.

We are currently working on a full master plan to renovate and upgrade the hotel in the near future. We hope to finalise this so that our guests can look forward to a new Hilton Colombo.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Hilton Colombo looks like one of the better hotels in Colombo. Its situated just next to the World Trade Center (where my office is - hence its super convenient).

Now about the room - its spacious, I was placed on the 7th floor - I think I got the city view? Can't quite see the Indian Ocean - a pity. The bed - firm and comfortable, the room air condition - suitably cold enough. And it's clean. The TV is a bit small and old - not a flatscreen unfortunately, but it does have plenty of channels! The basic amenities are all there - tea and coffee facilities, clean towels/showers/toilets. To some people the furnitures and decor might be a little old - but I think it adds a little old world charm to this whole place. :)

The lobby? Grand, for a place like Sri Lanka, I think it's quite impressive! I came in early December and the whole place looks like to be in the Christmas mood early! Staff are friendly and helpful - and they have the most number of restaurants I've ever seen in a hotel - they have a Japanese restaurant, Spices (where you have your breakfasts) - serves buffet at night too I believe, the Emperor's Wok (strangely hidden BEHIND Spices) for chinese cuisine, and Curry Leaf (which is hidden BEHIND a glass door at the Emperor's Wok) - and further out like a pedestrian overhead bridge is iL Ponte, an italian restaurant (I didn't make it that far!). Curry Leaf looks very interesting with nice live music, and some of the cuisines looks and smells incredible - they serve buffet only however sadly. Would have loved to tried ala carte. There's also fine dining at the Spoons - but most of these places have no standing menus outside showing what's being served but it looks to be like steaks and stuff. I also missed out Echelon Pub, a british-style sports pub/bar with light snacks - monday's quiz night too apparently. There's also an amazing cake and chocolate shop too..! Safe to say you probably won't have to chance it out there when you can dine inside the hotel itself with so many choices!

There are also other interesting things in the hotel - like Mobitel - you can get a simcard there I suppose. There's also a 'Travel Shop' that helps you to arrange tours - not bad and pretty damn convenient! The hotel is also about an hour away from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Indian Ocean - I got a city view which is mostly shrouded by trees and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Kenpoh,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Colombo. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our service, your room and wide range of restaurants.

We are working on a master plan to renovate and upgrade the hotel in the near future so that our guests can look forward to a new Hilton Colombo.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The staff in the hotel were great - I had serious business travel problems and they were extremely supportive. Uniformly, in my view, the staff were attentive and thoughtful. The hotel itself, though, needs a thorough upgrade. I don't know when this was last done but at a guess the late 80s. The swimming pool is across the street as noted by the other reviewers but there is a footbridge. Of course, to get to that you need to go through the lobby. Having said all that, the restaurants are pretty good and, I reiterate, my experience of the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Ceri W,

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the team took good care of you especially when handling your business travel issues.

As for the hotel itself, we are currently working on a full master plan to renovate and upgrade the hotel in the near future.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again at Hilton Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and you, travel planners, might find this review helpful to you:

1. The lobby is grand, a very nice lobby.

2. The room is spacious too! I am loving the space, the bed, and the window is big! Definitely a nice room with an ocean view!

3. Top notch service from the staff. I have always loved Hilton's Asian hospitality!

4. The hotel has a wide selection of restaurants. I ate most of the time at the hotel, name it, lunch or dinner. The lunch buffet at Spices Restaurant was nice. It has a very good selection of cuisines, eg. Asian, Indian, Sri Lankan, and Western! The seafood buffet at the Curry Leaves was also fantastic. A great Sri Lankan seafood experience! You definitely have a great selection of anything you want to eat at the hotel without bothering to go out.

5. There is a tour desk at the lobby for you to get a tour arrangement. City tour, day trip, or do-your-own kind of trip is also available, tailored to your needs. Pretty handy as it is inconvenient to move around in Colombo on your own with all the bargaining business before going on a tuk-tuk or whatever you call it.

6. The pool is rather worn out and far away from the room. You have to cross the bridge over to get to another side of the hotel. I found this pretty inconvenient, especially the connecting bridge isn't air-conditioned (the weather is really hot and humid).

All in all, a great stay. :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room at a higher level with an ocean view room. It is better than the road-side. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asimplejazzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your fine sentiments on the Hilton Colombo and pleased that you have enjoyed the services and facilities of our hotel.
We do look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely, Rudolf Troestler, General Manager, Hilton Colombo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Rooms were clean but need refurbishment as the furniture and toilets are old. Wireless was very slow but cable worked.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing