We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Colombo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$179
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$128
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$124
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
$51
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$99
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lafala Hotel(Colombo)
$40
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,250)
Filter reviews
2,250 results
Traveler rating
888
849
347
114
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
849
347
114
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry leafil pontesri lankathe executive loungeunder renovationworld tradedutch hospitalbit datedlobby areaan upgradebusiness tripindian oceanbreakfast spreadgalle facetuk tukgrazegym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,766 - 1,771 of 2,250 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was just the 1st week of Dec and it felt like Christmas was next day.. We were truly amazed with the way the hotel was decked up for Christmas...And with the Christmas carols playing in the background, it simply felt beautiful... The hotel was also hosting if I am not mistaken the 100th year of the Sri Lankan Navy; so there was top security all around and it was amazing to see all the top and highly decorated navy officials come in one by one to the hotel..... We had a lovely view from somewhere like 11th floor and the hotel amenties were great.. The room was superb and the hotel staff hospitality was truly amazing.... This is one hotel I would definitely stay if I ever visited Sri Lanka again.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Thank you very much for your very complementing feedback and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you on your future visits.

Sincerely, Rudolf Troestler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Old hotel. Everything needs refurbishing. Night shift manager horrible. You are better of at Galle Face hotel, even though this is also overrated. Not much luxury choice in Colombo

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronika_Cologne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The Hilton Colombo, Sri Lanka is a very nice hotel with incredibly helpful staff - they really want to please and take care of every one of your needed.

If you are looking for a “western style” hotel, in the center area of Colombo, I can recommend this without concern. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Asian hotels are known for great breakfast buffets but this place ranks right at the top.

I couldn’t get the wireless internet connection to work, even with the help of their IT staff, so I used the wired Ethernet connection, which there is a charge for.

Now, if you are looking for a place close to the airport, this is NOT your hotel. While the distance and the noted “45 minutes” travel time on the hotel’s website seems not an issue, but the ride, in the morning, afternoon, after work and even late at night averaged between, 70 – 85 minutes, each time we commuted back and forth, so plan accordingly and expect this commute timeframe.

They didn’t have my requested king, no smoking room available and was given a room with two twin beds, not a major issue, since it was just me, but a little disappointing, since I reserved and expected a king bed.

I can recommend this hotel if you are staying downtown, but not if you need to do anything around the airport. Traffic to/from airport is very congested.

While I didn't go into the bar, I could see they had one of the largest collections of single malt scotches I've ever seen. FYI

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCal_Worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and do appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that we will share your fine sentiments with our team.

Thank you once again for your support of the Hilton Colombo and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Colombo.

Sincerely, Rudolf Troestler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Hilton Colombo is one of the best hotels located right in the centre of the city. Nice ambience, the rooms on the top floors have been recently renovated and hence better than the ones in the lower floors. The service is good but Taj Samudra service is much better.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayushmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Only stayed at the Hilton in Colombo for 1 night and it is what you expect from a business Hotel, it is about a 5 minute walk from the beach but if you do not wish to walk you can always take a taxi which are readily available.

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however, the AC was very cold and in the end we had to switch if off as it didnt matter what setting we put it on it remained very cold, in the end we ask for extra blankets, which were brought to our room as soon as we asked for them.

Their Chinese Restaurant, the Emperor's Wok was fantastic and they served the best Chinese food I have ever tasted, the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leviathan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you very much for your fine comments and we are pleased that you have enjoyed the services and facilities of our hotel.

We do appreciate your ongoing support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you on the future visits.

Rudolf Troestler, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews