We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emperors Wok should be called Inferior Wok”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Zug
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Emperors Wok should be called Inferior Wok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our dinner at the Emperors Wok was a big dissapointment. Prices are top - quality of the food was a total flop. The dishes were not served together. The dishes were cold. The food was too salty. Ducks and chicken had more bones than meat. The pork was only fried fat. Mind this place. There are so many restaurants in Colombo were you can eat Chinese at a far better price.

Urs

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We regret to learn that your recent experience at the Emperor's Wok was not up to your expectations. Any feedback on your personal experiences will be of assistance to us to immediately rectify and take corrective measures.

Nevertheless, we do appreciate your support and in the hope that we could restore your confidence.

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    738
    309
    104
    42
See reviews for
268
467
188
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Great service and staff. Well kept hotel. Wonderful view of the sea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristKing1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your fine comments on the Hilton Colombo and we do appreciate your kind sentiments. Rest assured that your feedback will be communicated with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Colombo.

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel was great, pool a fair walk over the bridge, but worth it on arrival. salon in the hotel was fabulous for hair and nails and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
Food is fabulous in the restaurants, really no need to leave, but if you do the drivers are friendly and have much local knowledge, one of my better vacations, thanks to the hotel and staff

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We note that your recent stay has been an enjoyable one and trust you took back fond memories of the Hilton Colombo and Sri Lanka.

We appreciate your support of the Hilton Colombo and look forward to welcoming you to Colombo on your future visits.

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I went to Colombo for business from June 19 to June 24, 2011. Took my family along so we could do some exploring as well. The Colombo Hilton was a great place to stay.

We knew we were in for a treat as we were picked up at the airport by one of their cars. The driver was extremely courteous and navigated the chaotic traffic with ease, while showing us different things along the route to the hotel.
Once we got there, the staff was amazing. The took care of our luggage, brought us cold local drinks while we checked in, and were simply the nicest people.

We had requested communicating rooms on a high floor. And that's exactly what we got. Though the rooms were showing some signs of wear, they were immaculate. Very, very clean. The white linens always help too. No second guessing the bed covers.

The hotel grounds are some of the most beautiful I've seen, with ponds, pool, and tons of tropical vegetation, birds, fruits, etc. And everywhere you go, someone is around to answer questions.

Now, when it comes to restaurants, the Colombo Hilton shines its brightest. A variety of restaurants on site, including some of Sri Lanka's best, make eating at the hotel a no brainer. Yes, the food is extremely expensive, especially for a poor country. But it is well worth it, I promise.
Speaking of expensive, be warned: the Colombo Hilton is very pricey. I was shocked to see that a hotel in a poor Asian country could cost as much as that. With the two rooms that we booked, we were spending more per night than most people in Sri Lanka make in a month. Internet connection was very costly, and not all that great.

Overall, this was a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind support and delighted to note that you have enjoyed the services and facilities of the Hilton Colombo.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Colombo in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We checked in to the Hilton Colombo, only to be shocked and appalled by the rude front desk. We were asked to produce our expedia voucher, despite the gentlemen at the front desk having our details in front of him. When asked why he needed the voucher the guy simply shrugged his shoulder. Made us go to the business center and print out the details from hotels.com. After having printed out details, we realized we had given him details of a. Reservation for a later date. Then he made us go back to look for the correct date. All in all strange policies. The second bizarre thing here is the internet, if one logs on a iPad he cannot log on to their computer and need to buy a separate Internet connection. Again not very useful for business travellers. Overall location is great but front desk and service suck!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sri_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I have discussed your comments with my Front Office team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will deal with it as appropriate.

We do appreciate your comments and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you back in the hope that we could restore your confidence.

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a conference, I loved almost everything of this hotel, location, rooms, lobby, pool side, hotel staff was so generous and prompt. Amazing landscape, and the best part is the view you get from your room of a royal pool with a plush garden and sea, gives you a feel of luxury. I will like to visit this hotel again but this time for leisure trip with family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abhishekjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your support of the Hilton Colombo and note that you have enjoyed the services and faciltiies of our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits and again, appreciate your support

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

1) Nice location
2) Nice view
3) Good restraunts
4) Comfortable and clean room
5) Well trained staff
6) Good food
7) Rooms were clean
8) Nice bar and indoor sports options
9) Hotel cars are big and comfortable but exhorbitantly priced

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonColombo, Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your fine sentiments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Colombo on your future visits.

With all good wishes

Yours sincerely
Oriol Marquez
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing