We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal ocean view from sea facing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Phenomenal ocean view from sea facing rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

Phenomenal ocean views from the sea facing rooms. Renovated executive floor with upgraded amenities and new furnishing and fixtures including comfortable office chair with glass desk, rain shower, 32 inch LCD TVs and DVD players. Some benefits have been downgraded like the happy hour for Executive floor has now become only one drink at the bar. Another glaring defect was that during the author's five day stay, any sugar substitute like equal, sugar-free or calendra had run out and remaiend out of stock. Good value for money though with reduced pricing now in effect.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Very pricey internet
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zyx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    651
    287
    114
    60
See reviews for
468
422
97
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

The hotel is the best for Businessmen to stay there as it provides, along with the basic amenities, a feel your own home. The bands playing, the restaurants, pool..everything is gr8.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bhupi_531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We directly contacted the hotel for booking. We had stated that we are interested for a sea facing room only and the reservation desk informed they will reserve one for us. However when we arrived they stated all the sea facing rooms are full. Not thrilled with the response, we asked for our rooms and it was not ready.

The TAJ property is beautiful. You can spend most of the day roaming around the property. Rating 4 out of 5. however the service is not satisfactory to the level of a 5 star hotel.

Food is repetative and boring. There is a Dragon Chinese restaurant. Food I would rate 2 out of 5. Service 2out of 5 and please visit it when you have a lot of time to yourself coz the wait time after you order is very long. Moreover,in case a celebrity arrives just cancel your order and move out coz, all staff will entertain the personality. There is an Indian Restaurant Navratna- rating 4 out of 5.


Overall 3.5 out of 5

  • Liked — Property
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

My stay began with a wonderful view of the Colombo seaface.. Wake up in the morning to the hustle of a city which is surprisingly modern.. Breakfast was great and 1 of the better ones Ive had for sometime.. Hotel is very modern and spacious and gives a homely feel the Taj & the Sri Lankans are famous for.. Decently large pool and other facilities though there was so much to do that I didnt realy get time to try them

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing much
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

An imposing, beautiful entrance, and your mind is made up already: I am gonna love this vacation! It's done up in a grand Sri Lankan style, complete with ivory and gold for effect and breath takingly done-up, beautiful indoors.

If you like the feel of luxury, frills, fancy stuff, be assured you've arrived at the correct place.

I must admit I was worried that the food there may not suit my palate. You see, I am not much of a fan of coconut curries, pastes, milk in all m food. I like coastal food only once in a while. But I was pleasantly surprised that they did have sufficient choice- not extravagant variety, but sufficient. Both the Indian restaurant as well as the Chinese one were great! The buffet was splendid, too!

One tip though: please do insist on mineral water when visiting such countries, no matter where you choose to stay.

The room service is prompt, and takes care of minor variations in food if requested.

The view is good too, but I would suggest you leave the hotel for a walk in the beach- it will completely mesmerize you!

While in Sri Lanka, do not miss on the shopping bit. Odel is a shopper's paradise, at a fraction of the normal price!

One last piece of advice: leave ample margin if you a flight to cath/ an appointment. It's Sri Lanka: you may be held back for some unexpected reason for some time. Even though we didn't have to use this piece of advice ourselves, we felt better every time that we did have enough time on our hands.

  • Liked — The Presidential Suite is so memorable!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItzRitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

Well, I have been regularly going to Colombo and have stayed in various hotels, But I find this as one of the best.

Its well located just across the sea. the hotel is a fantastic building with both old and new style. Has good india restaurants. Very nice staff.

  • Liked — Location & Food
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mihirshah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anandwan,Maharashtra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

Another majestic palace owned by the Tatas! A beautiful feather in India's crown! Taj Samudra!

Great place.Neat and clean rooms like all Taj rooms, finest dining, and a convenient location makes this a great place to stay. Very cozy, very very Indian. The Navaratan Restaurant offers excellent Biriyani Dishes better than most other Indian restaurants.The chinese restaurant is good too.

Overall a convenient, cozy and beautiful place to experience while in Colombo!

  • Liked — Majestic!
  • Disliked — Always under the threat of LTTE
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sheetal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 50 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Property: Taj Samudra Colombo
Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing