We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so much wrapped in one package!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2009

An imposing, beautiful entrance, and your mind is made up already: I am gonna love this vacation! It's done up in a grand Sri Lankan style, complete with ivory and gold for effect and breath takingly done-up, beautiful indoors.

If you like the feel of luxury, frills, fancy stuff, be assured you've arrived at the correct place.

I must admit I was worried that the food there may not suit my palate. You see, I am not much of a fan of coconut curries, pastes, milk in all m food. I like coastal food only once in a while. But I was pleasantly surprised that they did have sufficient choice- not extravagant variety, but sufficient. Both the Indian restaurant as well as the Chinese one were great! The buffet was splendid, too!

One tip though: please do insist on mineral water when visiting such countries, no matter where you choose to stay.

The room service is prompt, and takes care of minor variations in food if requested.

The view is good too, but I would suggest you leave the hotel for a walk in the beach- it will completely mesmerize you!

While in Sri Lanka, do not miss on the shopping bit. Odel is a shopper's paradise, at a fraction of the normal price!

One last piece of advice: leave ample margin if you a flight to cath/ an appointment. It's Sri Lanka: you may be held back for some unexpected reason for some time. Even though we didn't have to use this piece of advice ourselves, we felt better every time that we did have enough time on our hands.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItzRitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,120 - 2,126 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

Well, I have been regularly going to Colombo and have stayed in various hotels, But I find this as one of the best.

Its well located just across the sea. the hotel is a fantastic building with both old and new style. Has good india restaurants. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mihirshah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Another majestic palace owned by the Tatas! A beautiful feather in India's crown! Taj Samudra!

Great place.Neat and clean rooms like all Taj rooms, finest dining, and a convenient location makes this a great place to stay. Very cozy, very very Indian. The Navaratan Restaurant offers excellent Biriyani Dishes better than most other Indian restaurants.The chinese restaurant is good too.

Overall a convenient, cozy and beautiful place to experience while in Colombo!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sheetal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Very nice hotel available at good rates. The view to the sea and the walk by the seaside are the best.

Indian food is an advantage.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shaili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

I recently went to Maldives via Sri Lanka and spent 2 nights at Taj Samudra, Colombo. My overall stay at Taj was pleasurable. It is a good hotel with all the facilities and style expected from a 5 star hotel. Specially, the staff was very courteous, helpful and responsive. Room was spacious and well maintained and overall hotel was well architected with plenty of greenry.

Food buffet had good mix of international and local varieties and taste was good. Though it was a bit expensive as compared to Indian 5 star hotels. For eg., dinner buffet on weekend was about 900 INR and one Indian dish from ala-carte was 500 INR. Drinks were reasonably priced.

The hotel is about 40 km from Colombo airport and is about an hour drive. It is in front of a beach, hence the name, so you can easily spend some time on the beach in evening. Otherwise, there is hardly anything to do nearby. There are no markets or places to hang out nearby. I took an hour's walk around the hotel and did not find anything nearby.

One issue I faced was pickup from airport. It was included in my package but there was no one on airport to pick me up. I had a tough time arranging transport from there as it was night time and many taxi drivers sensed my problem and started offering help in the form of harrasement. After reaching hotel, I was told that there was no reservation for me in their system, hence no pickup. Since I had a confirmed hotel voucher with me, Taj staff did an immediate reservation and at least my troubles ended there.

Another surprising thing was that though Taj had an foreign currency exchange counter, they did not accept or exchange Indian currency. This is more surprising given that Taj is an Indian chain. It is troublesome as no one on Sri Lanka airport changes Indian currency and it is hard to find Sri Lanka currency in India. I'd suggest anyone going there to carry US $ and change some of them to SLR at Colombo airport.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kansisoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Very shabby rooms. Needs significant revamping.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank LonewolfNimrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 54 in Colombo
2,088 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 54 in Colombo
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $185 - $1,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing