We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at the Taj, service was excellent. The pool is such a pleasant place to relax after a day out and about in Colombo. I had a great massage and so cheap. I am looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Taj Samudra, Colombo and thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014

What can I say? This place rocks! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a sea-facing view, with a spectacular view of the sunset, so most evenings I was out on the balcony! As with every Taj hotel, the service is always delivered promptly with a smile. It's conveniently located, walking distance to some shops, salons and other beach-facing bars, and a short taxi ride to pretty much anywhere in the city.

The food is out of this world! The desserts were delish! I would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: The higher, the better. Request a sea-facing room - the views are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pujasadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We appreciate your compliments on hospitality, rooms, location and facilities.
Look forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

stayed with a group in this hotel from 23/8 to 25/8. the stay was very good, the staff was very helpful in guiding about the place to visit in colombo. the breakfast & the buffet spread was excellent, the drawback, which i noticed was, as a vegetarian, the dishes of veg & non veg were placed alternately instead of having seperate counters, the service for the hot breads ( Naan & roti) were too late,

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sunjeevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to note that you had a nice stay with us!
We have also taken due note of your observations for improvement.
Hope to see you soon at Taj Samudra, Colombo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The hotel was beautiful, grand and made us absolutely feel at home. As we are from India, we got personalized food and service from the Chef exclusively which made our trip to Samudra memorable. Lovely Sri lankan and Indian food just when we were missing it back home. Looking forward to see the chef again sometime when we are back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nishhitmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the future to Taj Samudra, Colombo assuring you of our best attention at all times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We are so pleased with our stay... our rooms were super clean n we even left our valuables in our rooms on the dressing tables and the valuables were neatly placed when we got back... the service was just so awesome!! We would like to compliment Staff Kosala for his dedicated services in setting our rooms... just had excellent service. ... we would recommend this hotel to tourists who would like to experience a breathtaking view of the ocean right in front of the ocean facing rooms.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Chic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

I had an amazing stay at TAJ. Nice swimming pool, delicious food, comfortable room. And best staff I have ever met: incredibly nice, willing to make your stay as perfect as they can. I will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit K, General Manager at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review!
We appreciate your compliments on hospitality, rooms and facilities. Look forward to serving you with more of our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I am a member at TAJ group of Hotels and stayed in Samudra third time for 4 consecutive nights from 21st august to 25th august 2014. Entire stay at the Renovated Club Floor was good though the smell of newly painted walls was a bit painful. The Front office manager Mr.Asiri Silva was very helpful and committed to serve.
But after few Hours of my Check-out and upon reaching Airport that i realised that i have left my Shaving Kit in the Bathroom of my Room no.410. To my utter surprise ,when i Reported the matter to the Hotel staff on Phone ,they confirmed that No Item has been deposited by the housekeeping to operations. I was too sure that my maroon color kit was lying in the bathroom at the last minute of my packup and somehow forgot to do so.How can such a Reputed TAJ Group Hotel staff be so careless and casual in approach with no firm response.......

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vikram0971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#11 of 55 in Colombo
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $144 - $1,321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing