We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking a bit dated.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looking a bit dated.........”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the best hotels in the city, but when we arrived there it was getting refurbished in preparation for Common Wealth Head of Government meeting to be held in November 2013. Main lobby was closed and building work was going on.

Apart from that I found decorations and furnishings in the room a bit dated and tired. Hope these will be replaced soon. So cannot say a lot about the new look of the hotel.

Staff was very courteous and helpful and made our stay worthwhile. I will be staying there again especially with the new make over after November..............

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irfan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    661
    291
    115
    61
See reviews for
481
429
100
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived late and were well taken care of. The hotel is old but well located. Large lobby that is buzzing in the day. Nice city and a nice hotel. Choose the rooms with the front view.

Rooms were clean. The food was average at best.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat_Goetliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel would be fabulous, if only it were not being renovated currently. Noise every day of the week from morning until night. Jack hammers, drills, saws ... noise noise noise.
Room was nice, and service impeccable.
Wifi would not work. Fabulous 'WIFI man' eventually came to room and took 1.5 hours to fix, but worked well subsequently.
Breakfast great with good offerings of Western and Sri Lankan food.
Gym is exemplary. This is the standard set.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

2/3rds of this hotel is under renovation till Nov'13. The location and building is brilliant, but the rooms are now tacky. My children refused to use the tub, and I hid from my wife the fact that when the toilet above was used, water cascaded in torrents into our toilet. Hope it was water from the tub!

However, the place has the legendary Taj service and food. I am aware they are trying their best to keep an old property going. The staff is excited about the renovation. I am sure when it is, it will be the best colombo has to offer.

I will be marking the room poor on cleanliness only for the water dripping from above in room 207. Otherwise it was spotless.

Room Tip: Sea facing and with a balcony. Toilet in Rm207 has a drip from the loo above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devenverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
445 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had gone there for drinks and dinner. The location of Taj Samudra is very nice. The lobby was welcoming and comfortable. We had the buffet dinner and the prawns were fresh and yummy. Also there was a good spread for vegeterian people too. Deserts too were good but we just tasted them since we were pretty full. Had a nice time over there. The waiters too were friendly and polite.

Room Tip: We had requested to view a few rooms which were not occupied and there were pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Unfortunately when we arrived the main reception was being renovated so didn't give the best first impression as we were ushered around to the back entrance to check in. First impression were that the hotel was dated and needed a good renovation obviously underway in reception. We had a sea view room which was comfortable but needed a load of TLC to bring it up to scratch, everything just felt old, tired and grubby. Pool area was really nice and well maintained and gym had loads of equipment. If your in a rush or just hungry don't eat here food however basic took forever but was really good when it arrived. All the staff were really friendly and helpful as you would expect in Sri Lanka. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asapearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel that's currently being renovated - so likely to be even better in the future... Staff are just lovely, restaurant is great and rooms are spacious and immaculate. A step above most places I've stayed in whilst in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,985 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#13 of 51 in Colombo
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Property: Taj Samudra Colombo
Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing