We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent start point for a Sri Lankan holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Samudra Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent start point for a Sri Lankan holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Approximately 1 hour from the airport the Taj is a great starting point to a Sri Lankan holiday.
It's position opposite Galle Face Green and the Galle Face Hotel allow fantastic views and 3min walk for sunset cocktails.
A 5 star in Sri Lanka is the equivalent of a UK 4 star. The service cannot be faulted and the staff are available and friendly. The rooms are dated to what you would expect but clean, a good bed and sky TV.
The buffet selection for breakfast is vast and caters for all tastes. There are various restaurants to choose from for dinner, we had the buffet on arriving and although a hot intro to Sri Lankan curries, a great selection.
Definitely would recommend this hotel or anyone passage though Colombo on arriving in the country.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    646
    284
    111
    59
See reviews for
460
415
94
809
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for 05 days in this hotel. Great place to stay. Comfortable in all senses from check-in to check out. Food was excellent and service/location/hospitality etc..TAJ class. The property appears old and the rooms definitely needing a make over which is overshadowed by the wonderful mannered staff. What can i say when you are offerred anything that you ask for without any question. The staff made the day , when they celebrated the b'day of my friend in true style... unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

After having staying in more than 10 of Taj properties all over, one only expects nothing but the best.. but this image dies the moment you enter Taj Samudra !!

Just about everything in this hotel is so dilapidated, be it their reception area furniture, in-room furniture, coffee shop chairs etc.
Toilets are just so ugly looking and absolutely unartistic . sigh
Herbal pillow had odorous, ugly, oily smell and was anything but herbal.. .

The only constant factor about Taj that is consistent is their beautiful, smiling and very helpful staff.
After i realized that my travel agent (Jetwings Colombo and Jetescapes Mumbai ) had goofed it up by not giving me a Sea view rooms (after having charged me for one ) one of the Receptionist came forward willingly to hear my plight and upgraded me for 2 nights to a sea side rooms .

Food is quite good, specially the breakfast !!
But as i said, to live upto Taj's name and stature, Taj Samurdra needs to polish their shoes big time.

Not sure if i'd want to visit this one ever for longer stay !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflier_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here for 28 days at a stretch in Oct 2012, love the service, excellent Staff. It is difficult to stay in a hotel for so long, but the staff made me feel at home. Although the Hotel is under renovation, no inconvenience to the guests. Even the food and room service is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea facing room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sujayshetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed on Business trip for 2 days. I liked few things and disliked few. This is a nice sea side property but far away from the shopping area. Nothing much to do in the vicinity

- Amazing Location
- Very nice food
- Courteous staff

Downside :
- Need renovation
- bit bland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabhagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boorowa, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the Taj Samudra in a thunderstorm but big undercover drive kept us dry. Reception service was efficient and cool drink and hand towels even for driver/guide was nice. Rooms was upgraded after I asked if we could have a sea view room, room was good, clean, plenty of channels and nice big shower. the floor manager and room attendant couldn't do enough for us, even put fresh flowers in on day two and more fruit. Had use of Taj car for the afternoon when we went shopping which was great as again it rained all day. Thanks Taj. Hope we an come back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sykosontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one amongst the best places to stay when in Colombo.

The service, quality and management everything was just fabolous. I went there for a conference which our company had organized and overall it was a very memorable experience. The staff was very helpful during the conbference and stay of the entire group.

I am actually writing the review quite late (stayed in November 2010)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanilAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#13 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Property: Taj Samudra Colombo
Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing