We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Colombo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Samudra Colombo
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good option in Colombo”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the Taj Samudra after a gap of almost 7 years. I have been travelling a fair bit to Colombo and staying at the Cinnamon Grand but got tired of it and specially the ordinary service. As you enter the Taj Samudra, you are reminded of old world charm - of large hotels with massive properties. This one is bang opposite the sea and you have a great view if you get a sea facing room (which half the hotel should have). I was in an Executive room, which I understand are the refurbished ones. These are very decent by Colombo standards - where all the Hotel properties are a bit dated. The room has teh standard amenities which you expect from a similarly rated property. The Coffee shop (where Breakfast is also served) was very nice with a wide array of items for Breakfast. The property has a nice pool and the service levels are very good - far better than at the Cinnamon Grand. The difference between the two properties is that the Taj is quiet, the lobby never has too many people while the Cinnamon's lobby always looks crowded with a lot of noise. Different people will have different tastes but I found the quiet nice for a change. I used the Hotel car to transit from and to the airport. This is very reasonable and the cars are very spacious and new. The cars are also available for short term use and are readily available.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the Executive floor even if it costs slightly more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, Director of Sales at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Taj Samudra, Colombo

Anahat Arora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    661
    291
    115
    61
See reviews for
480
429
100
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights end September, 2011, and enjoyed it. As mentioned by others, the rooms are a little bit dated, but everything you need is there. The bed was comfortable and it was clean. Wonderful view of the sea and close to shops; we took a tuktuk. We had dinner int the Steak and Grill restaurant and the staff was very good and the food was great; compliments to the chef! Breakfast buffet was huge and very tasty; only remark we had was that the music during breakfast was a little "modern" at times and too loud.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, Director of Sales at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel

We have notes your comments on the music at Latitude during Breakfast and have conveyed the same to the relevant department

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Taj Samudra, Colombo

Anahat Arora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

a great view and nice lobby and also very good other facilities but not so good rooms. view of sea is good from rooms from third floor above. god food and good beverages but one thing to mention that they have very good Gym. also the reception is good and other facilities are best except the room where needs to improvement

Room Tip: above third floor sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekvivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, Director of Sales at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel

We have noted your feedback on the look and feel of the rooms and have conveyed the same to out corporate office

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Taj Samudra, Colombo

Anahat Arora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Obviously one of the better hotels in Colombo. Beach views, with kids flying kites etc. Spacious lobby, large room (a little old-fashioned, much dark wood). Room service excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahlenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, Director of Sales at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Taj Samudra, Colombo

Anahat Arora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

we went here on the weekend in august 2011 and it was a wonderful hotel to stay. the rooms were big and the swimming pool was amazing. it was close to the shopping areas and had good restraunts especially the indian one. loved the stay there

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawragakeetarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajSamudra, Director of Sales at Taj Samudra Colombo, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
We thank you for your positive sentiments on your overall experience at our hotel

We value your patronage and the entire team at the hotel looks forward to being of continued service to you and welcoming you back to the Taj Samudra, Colombo

Anahat Arora
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The Lobby is excellent, welldone, the restaurants are good, but the rooms and the service is very average. we checked out the next day and left to Taj Samudra

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shriramd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

It is difficult to understand how this hotel can be called Taj. for my second trip in Colombo I thought I would give it a go.
From the outside, the paint is peeling off the walls. There are some waterproof issues.
The lobby, albeit oldish in style is rather big and well kept.
But I could not accept to stay in the room they showed me. This hotel is in bad need of renovation. The front desk was prompt in telling me that they will have a major renovation soon. But this is not good enough to charge as much as other true 5 star hotels in town and have a 3 star product. I am angry because they still charged me one night when I decided to leave.
Not only will I not go back but I will also switch when going to India - Mumbai

Room Tip: sorry, but stay somewhere else if you expect a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
1,721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,983 reviews
1.8 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Samudra Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Samudra Colombo

Property: Taj Samudra Colombo
Address: 25 Galle Face Center Road, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Samudra Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Samudra Colombo is located in the heart of the Colombo city, overlooking the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. The most stylish Executive category rooms are by far the best in design and comfort in the city of Colombo. Taj Samudra offers the following choice of food & beverage outlets - Latitude - all day dining restaurant serving Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a a choice of la carte specialties Navratna - Specialty Indian Restaurant catering to North Indian flavors Golden Dragon - Authentic Chinese Cuisine with a specialty in Sichuan Cuisine, YUMI - Japanese resto bar with live entertainment from Thursday through Saturday,live sports and best of live entertainment over weekends, Lobby Lounge - Unwind over a snack, dessert or a quiet drink. In Room Dining - 24 hour room service Keeping in line with the changing times, Taj Samudra retains the colonial charm, heritage value, sense of space, privacy and luxuries for our esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Samudra Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Samudra Colombo Hotel Colombo
Taj Samudra Hotel Colombo
Colombo Taj Samudra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing